What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Custom SMTP sending method failing again

    Asked by StudioBe on December 04, 2016 at 03:54 PM

    I have now had multiple submissions emails fails from multiple forms that are running on custom SMPT senders. Can someone please tell me when this will be fixed? This has been intermittent for almost 1 full year now. Please fix ASAP as this is part of what we are paying for!

    Last time this happened, your CTO had to get involved to fix the problem! I am very unhappy with how JF has handled this issue and how frequent it happens. If custom SMTP sender addresses is not something you can offer, please do not advertise it! I DO NOT want to hear that your "back end team" is working to fix it! Just get it done!

     

    Here are the two forms I've had failures on within the last 24 hrs:

    https://form.jotform.com/42026200943948

    https://form.jotform.com/33636880527967

     

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike on December 04, 2016 at 04:26 PM

    The issue has been escalated to our Next Level Support to proceed with the further investigation on this matter.

    We will get back to you once we have any more information.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by StudioBe on December 04, 2016 at 05:39 PM

    Mike This is the answer I get every single time. Meanwhile, my form failed again about 2 mins ago. I CAN NOT keep going back in and correcting the issue every single time JT fails. Please fix!!!!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on December 04, 2016 at 06:46 PM

    We apologize for any inconvenience caused. I understand your frustration as well.

    As Mike already mentioned we have escalated this thread to the higher team support already. I am sorry if we could not suggest to you any other way to fix the SMTP issue at this level since it is most likely to be on the back-end system.

    The most we can suggest for now to prevent you missing out an email notice is to not use the SMTP method and use for now the normal settings (i.e. use default email noreply@jotform.com as sender email)

    The dev assigned to this ticket will surely will provide update notice here as soon as available.

    Thank you for your understanding.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by StudioBe on December 12, 2016 at 03:34 PM

    Thank you again for the same old response Jonathan. Unfortunately, many email servers see the noreply address as junk so that IS NOT an option!!

    I had the same form fail again on Saturday. It is mostly this form that fails. None of my other forms using custom SMTP senders have failed in months. Can someone please look into the times in which this is taking place? Is it because we are sending out 100s of these in a short amount of time??

    I understand that you are looking into it but I need there to be some actual solutions offered. Fix the problem so it doesn't keep happening. Custom SMTP sender addresses is part of the service you offer and I need it to work. Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kevin_G on December 12, 2016 at 06:21 PM

    @StudioBe,

    Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenient.

    I have checked the threads you have opened and I can see you have indeed reported a problem with emails on multiple threads, some of the tickets have been reported to our second level and they are marked as resolved so far. 

    I can see in the current ticket that has been escalated here my colleague reported that you are constantly getting this problem, the ticket has been marked as "very important", at the moment this needs to be checked by our back-end team since we are limited to check only the email logs for your account, but checking this in a deeper way will help to find and resolve the problem. 

    I will submit a comment and ask for updates regarding this to the assigned developer, we  will update you via this thread as soon as possible. 

    Thank you. 

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by StudioBe on March 26, 2017 at 03:35 PM

    Jotform,

    This is still an issue. This form: https://form.jotformpro.com/42026200943948 is still failing to send via custom smtp sender. I am getting fail notifications sent to me daily and the form is defaulting to the "noreply@jotform.com" sender. Which unfortunately ends up in clients junk folders.

     

    PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE PERMANENTLY!!!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on March 26, 2017 at 05:30 PM

    I checked your form https://www.jotformpro.com/form/42026200943948 and I noted that the form autoresponder emails were both base on condition rules. There was also no default Notifier or Autoresponder email setup on the form.

     

    It is possible for submission email not to be sent if the conditional email rules will not match or incorrect.

    What I suggest you do is to add also a default Notification Email on the form to make sure that at least an email notice will be sent to you.

    If possible also add a default Autoresponder email that will be sent only to the email address that the user will provide in the form (Recipient Email)

    Let us know if there is issue we do not know about as to why you did not include default Notifier and Autoresponder on your form. We will look into it further once we have a better understanding of this setup.

    I will also make a follow up to the developer assigned on the bug ticket report if there is update available.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by StudioBe on March 26, 2017 at 05:48 PM
  • Profile Image

    Answered by StudioBe on March 26, 2017 at 05:49 PM

    Jonathan, this has nothing to do with anything. It's Jotform that defaults the email sender to the noreply@jotform.com address. This happens when a submission email (autoresponder or otherwise) is setup to use a custom smtp address to send and instead it fails due to a Jotform server issue. I've been dealing with this for over a year! I've been told that a tier 2 support team member will handle it more times than I can count. Even had your CTO get involved last year. This is a Jotform issue with the custom SMTP sender feature and it needs to be addressed asap!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on March 26, 2017 at 07:09 PM

    I made a follow up on this ticket already. For now, we can only wait for the response from our developer to know what they have to say about this issue.

    ---

    Just to clarify on my previous suggestion, I meant that you should try adding a default Notification Email on the form (while still using custom SMTP email as the Sender Email) that does not use conditions. 

    The same also by adding Autoresponder Email that have no condition rules attached to it. You can also set the Sender email to that of your custom SMTP email.

    The email alert should always be sent without any condition rules in consideration.