What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Is it possible to pay a fee for one-time overloading?

    Asked by nsb_fdmtravel on December 05, 2016 at 03:35 AM

    We are a travel agency that need a solid solution for event registration and management. Stability is paramount. We have used Jotform for the first time this fall and was happy about the very intuitive work flow.

     

    We did experience problems, however. One problem was overload. Too many form views on one day made us reach the day limit. And instead of just charging us an extra fee afterward for this overload, the counters on the registration form simply just stopped working – resulting in too many registrations for several of the events. It would great to have the option to pay a fee for this one time overload afterwards instead of having to upgrade. Do you plan on providing this as an option in the future?

     

    We used the plugin Ticket Purchases to keep track of the registrations. However, on a few occasions we experienced that the counter for no obvious reasons suddenly showed a wrong number of registrations for the events. So we had to manually adjust the counter and spend a lot of time monitoring the registrations. Can you recommend another plugin with similar functionality but more stability?

     

    Thank you in advance.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on December 05, 2016 at 04:01 AM

    Hello,

    Thank you for contacting JotForm Support.

    As I have checked your account you have a Free plan. So, your monthly form view limit is 1,000. If you want to have upper form view limit, you have to upgrade your account plan. Please find our pricing page link: https://www.jotform.com/pricing 

    Unfortunately, we do not have the option of paying a fee for one-time overload instead of upgrading the plan, yet. So that, I have forwarded your request to our developer team in order to consider this feature. If it is possible to pay a fee for one-time overloading, you are going to be informed via this thread.

    As your second question is related to another topic, I've split the thread in order to assist better by our support team. You can follow your thread at the following link: https://www.jotform.com/answers/1003693 

    Regards,

  • Profile Image

    Answered by nsb_fdmtravel on December 05, 2016 at 04:20 AM

    Ok, I'm happy that you might consider this in the future.

    It is not correct that we have the free plan. We pay for the bronze plan. Could it be that the restrictions we experienced is because we are registred with the wrong plan in your system? Can you please check again?

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on December 05, 2016 at 05:31 AM

    Hello again,

    Sorry for the confusion. I have checked your accounts again.

    Your account, that you have commented this thread, named as nsb_fdmtravel. This account is free and sub-user of the account named fdmtravel.

    fdmtravel named account has a Bronze plan. Maybe, you confused with this one.

    If you have any doubt, let us know.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by nsb_fdmtravel on December 05, 2016 at 05:46 AM

    Thank you for checking. But I'm sorry, it makes absolutely no sense to me. The company that I work for, FDM travel, have the bronze plan and can according to this plan asign bronze plan privileges to 3 sub-users - I'm one of them. So, logically, the forms the sub-users make should be restricted by the limit in the bronze plan, not the free plan. I mean, what are we paying for then? I'm confused..

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on December 05, 2016 at 06:25 AM

    Hello again,

    Only the main account(fdmtravel) is limited by the Bronze plan restrictions. You(nsb_fdmtravel) and the other sub-users of that account are limited by the Free plan restrictions.

    Please check the screenshot of the plan limits as the following:

    For your information.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by nsb_fdmtravel on December 05, 2016 at 08:33 AM

    I find this very confusing and I really think this is misleading marketing. What is the idea of including 3 sub-user accounts as a selling point for the Bronze plan, when each sub-user are in fact just asigned the free plan user rights???

    This misleading information has actually costed us very time consuming extra work, since the forms I created as a sub-user where limited by the free plan restrictions and thereby causing problems with the event registration. I think you really need to communicate this to your customers if you plan on keeping them.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on December 05, 2016 at 08:58 AM

    Hello again,

    Sorry for if there is a misunderstanding.

    For example, if you create a form in the main account (BRONZE PLAN) and if that form shares with sub-users, ONLY that form restricted by the limit of the main plan (BRONZE PLAN) as the following screenshot of your BRONZE account:

    However, if the sub-user has other forms, did not share, the sub-user account has free plan limits as the following screenshot of your sub-user account:

    (the screenshot is from the admin panel- the screen that I have seen and I can check your account)

     

    In your case, as I have checked you did not have any other forms in your account. Only fdmtravel account has shared forms with you. So that, as the forms belong to fdmtravel, the form restrictions are limited by that account (BRONZE).

    For more information, please check our related guide link: https://www.jotform.com/help/232-How-to-share-forms-with-a-sub-account-user

    As a summary, your sub-user account is free. However, your forms that your main user has shared with you has limits restricted by the main account limits.

    I hope this time the issue will be clear.

    Thanks :)

  • Profile Image

    Answered by nsb_fdmtravel on December 05, 2016 at 09:18 AM

    I still get your point. And it still isn't in any way logical from a user perspective (and since our company is not even close to reaching the Bronze plan limitations that we pay for, makes it even worse). Your marketing of the Bronze plan makes your customers think that the Bronze sub-users have Bronze privileges. And why on earth should they not? Totally misleading.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by owen on December 05, 2016 at 10:21 AM

    Hi,

    Your marketing of the Bronze plan makes your customers think that the Bronze sub-users have Bronze privileges.

    We are sorry if we have somehow created such an impression on JotForm. The main idea behind sub-accounts is to provide privileges for them to reach some certain data within the storage of master account. Based on those privileges sub-accounts may not only reach some data but also may create some other data collecting forms. 

    However, this does not mean they also have the same privileges at pricing matters. I know it may sound a little disturbing from the user perspective. But, please also consider this from JotForm's perspective. 

    And why on earth should they not?

    Because you are actually able to benefit the privileges of the Bronze plan through the master account. Why would you need the Bronze plan on your account as well? Sub-accounts are just a feature that JotForm provides to authorize some other users in an existing account. 

    Please contact us again if you need any further assistance.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by nsb_fdmtravel on December 06, 2016 at 02:46 AM

    Funny how other user also seems to have problems figuring out how your sub-user concept works - this is a brand new post on the same topic:

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/1004199-Sub-account-does-not-have-limits-of-master-paid-account-#3

    It is pretty normal that when you are given access to a system, all users share the same account limitations. Maybe you should disable this sub-user functionality and instead make an option to let different accounts connect, in order to let your users clearly understand, that any form they make is limited by their personal account restrictions. I'm sorry, but this user/sub-user solution is not logical nor intuitive at all. 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on December 06, 2016 at 04:14 AM

    Hello,

    I am going to forward your opinions about sub-user/user solution to the marketing manager of JotForm in order to consider. Maybe, we can create a user document about limitations of sub-users in order to inform the other users.

    Thank you very much.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on December 13, 2016 at 07:39 PM

    @nsb_fdmtravel

    First off, the thread you've referred has a little similarity with your concern. However, there's nothing to get confused of since that user creates the free account alone not through invite from the master account. This makes the sub-user having the free limits instead of the premium limits from the master account.

    Let me please clarify further the sub-accounts. Later, we'll create a basic guide about this explaining the sub-account and how it works. 

    FYI, there are two structures of sub-accounts with JotForm. 

    1. Sub-accounts owned and maintained by the master account. (Created through master accounts invite)

    This account are the ones that doesn't initially exist with JotForm not until the master account shared the form and JotForm asks the email address to signup for an account to get access on the shared forms.

    When a sub-account is created, it always has the free plan status. I believe this is where you get confused at. However, for assurance, everything created on this sub-account type are bound to the master account. In other words, all the limits on this sub-account are counted towards the master account's limit NOT with the sub-account's free limit.

    Example: In your sub-account, you created a form, they are saved on the master account not in your sub-account but you automatically gain access to it since you created the form.

    I believe this is what you have at the moment since all the forms you have are shared from the master account.

    2. Sub-accounts maintained by the user itself. (Existing JotForm accounts)

    With JotForm sub-account features, you can also share forms to existing JotForm users.

    This is still called sub-account but unlike the above sub-account type the user has the ability to create their own forms and saved it on their own account (without sharing it to the master account) just like a regular user. In this case, the forms created by this user will be counted towards its limit and not with the master account.

    We understand that this would appear confusing to some users but if you're familiar with how Google docs sharing works, this is pretty much the same way how sharing a form works with JotForm.

    Hope this provides some insights about the sub-account and its limits.

    If you still have further questions, feel free to let us know. We'd be happy to help.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by nsb_fdmtravel on December 14, 2016 at 02:59 AM

    Well, in the sense that the thread I referred to was a brand new example of a user having problems figuring out the logic in your user-subuser concept, it was actually a great illustration of the confusion you create for your users. And now saying that you have two versions of the user-subuser concept is just adding to the confusing.

    I have worked plenty with Google Docs, and I just don't see the resemblance. First of all, and most importantly, in Google Docs you are not led into believing that you are given access to a shared account - only a document. Not the case with Jotform and the marketing of the different plans. And secondly, there is no restrictions on amount of users given acces to a document. Not the case with Jotform. This is very defining caracteristics of Google Docs - and they share no similarity with Jotform. 

    My best advise for Jotform is to get some experienced UX people involved. 

    Thank you for your answers and the attempt to clarify.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by owen on December 14, 2016 at 03:26 AM

    Hi,

    I can assure you that your confusion and the suggestions you provide upon it will be taken into consideration when JotForm decides to re-configure the concept of sub-accounts. Thank you so much for your participation to make JotForm more useful. 

    Please contact us again if you need any further assistance.