What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Is there ANY other widget that does what Driving Distance does?

    Asked by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 11:31 AM

    I have a major love hate relationship with the Driving Distance calculator. When it is running - works great.

    BUT it's up time is terrible.

    (Add that to JotForm's downtime time as the holidays sweep in...ugh. I have had to repeat calculations over and over due to server lags.)

    Is there ANYTHING else out there as an option? I even added a line to my order form that says if it's down accounting will calculate your fee and get back to you. Not good.

    Custom coders... anything?

    Help

    Page URL:
    https://form.jotform.com/63075980288164

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on December 06, 2016 at 12:56 PM

    Hello Jerole,

    Unfortunately there is not other widget available similar to "Driving Distance" widget.

    You should not have any trouble with the widget and it should work as expected. There is no downtime with form or any of the widgets. Can you please let us know what issue are you having with your form?

    Have you embedded your form in your webpage? Please share the webpage URL and we will take a look.

    We will wait for your response.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 01:14 PM

    The form is on Jot Form's server. It will be there when launched. This is the second form I have used it on. Both were accessed directly from the form on your server. Both have the same issue of up one minute and down the next. Even clients have mentioned it

    The use time is very short but critical.

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kiran on December 06, 2016 at 02:29 PM

    I have tested the Driving distance calculator and see that the widget is working correctly at my end.

    I have checked your form and see that the Google API is not added in the widget. Could you try adding the Google API code to the widget and see if that works?

    Let us know if you need any further assistance. We will be happy to assist.  

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 03:05 PM

    I did not use one before, probably a good idea though. I did not even see it.

    However - there are nearly 100 APIs in the Google library. How do I choose?

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 03:24 PM

    Okay, now I know I need more help. I tried going through Google's instructions, got a key, now the message "Opps something went wrong" is in the the address box

     

    I am supposed to deploy this today and can't right now.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kiran on December 06, 2016 at 04:36 PM

    I have tried adding my account API key in your form and see that it is working fine. 

    Were you using the correct API key? Please make sure that you are following the instructions by clicking on Get your key here link.

    Once the API key is enabled from the Google webpage, please make sure that you are copying the key carefully nad use it in the widget.

    Please check once again and let us know if you need any further assistance. We will be happy to assist. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 04:42 PM

    I have tried 3 different Google keys, even a key generated by JotForm. All failed and locked the input box.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 04:56 PM

    I am new to using an API, never had the need, never knew what it was. So I do not know if I am doing something right or wrong. I created a project using the Maps API highlighted, put in an authorization for fields required, and created credentials. I tried 3 and deleted one when it did not work. I tried 2 more times. nada.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 05:38 PM

    I tried a different method through Google, the widget took the key, allows you to enter an address but does not do the calculations.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 06, 2016 at 06:00 PM

    Okay, I rounded up 500 monkeys, put them in a room with 500 laptops, and one of them actually fixed it.

    Ironically following Google's instructions had nothing to do with it. Sam (the lazy monkey) just kept hitting radio buttons.

    Thanks for the encouragement. Not sure what I'm going to do with all these monkeys now.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on December 06, 2016 at 10:17 PM

    If I understood you correctly you were able to resolve your issue. 

    I was able to get Google Maps API Key, by following this steps.

    https://developers.google.com/maps/documentation/javascript/get-api-key 

    Feel free to contact us if you have any other questions. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jerole on December 07, 2016 at 08:38 AM

    I was able to get a key several ways, but there was one button that needed to be clicked in a drop down that I missed, then I chose the wrong one and finally the right one. Lots of trial and error.

    Thanks all.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kiran on December 07, 2016 at 08:56 AM

    Glad to see that the issue is now resolved for you. Please do not hesitate to get back to us if you need any further assistance. We will be happy to help.

    Thank you for using JotForm!