Customized PDF layout is not saving in the form

  • Profile Image
    mikujiku
    Asked on December 07, 2016 at 02:41 PM

    Please replicate these changes:

    1. Open PDF customizing tool on this form: https://form.jotformeu.com/63382951158361

    2. Add 10-15 new text boxes.

    3. Add some text's to these new boxes.

    4. Change fonts bigger for some (like click + font for 10 times)

    5. Change some fonts bold

    6. Move styled text boxes to some other places.

    7. Save form.

    8. Reload page and check results.

     

    We have tried to do this with 3 different computers and all end up to same problem. It cannot be on our end really. We also tried to make these changes to cloned forms and ended up with same results.

    This PDF modification is really crucial for us.

     

    - Mike

     

  • Profile Image
    Welvin
    Answered on December 07, 2016 at 02:50 PM

    You seem to be working on your form. Please allow us to test the PDF and do your given steps. We need to see if the order and layout are not working so we can submit this to our developers. We can test our own form, but we have to consider the content in the PDF. The content matters sometimes. 

    Please let us know. 

  • Profile Image
    mikujiku
    Answered on December 07, 2016 at 03:17 PM

    Thank you for your answer. You are free to test our form (formID=63382951158361) whenever you want. I guess someone have already made some changes to PDF layout as text blocks have text "This is a text block!!" now.

    You can reset PDF layout as it's not working anyway right now. 

  • Profile Image
    Kevin_G
    Answered on December 07, 2016 at 06:31 PM

    I have tested now your PDF report and I can see what you're referring, I have added some testing text and it does not appear in the preview nor the downloaded PDF report. 

    Here're some screenshots about it: 

    I will submit this to our second level so our developers will investigate and resolve the issue, we will let you know as soon as we get updates regarding this thread. 

     

  • Profile Image
    mikujiku
    Answered on December 08, 2016 at 01:24 AM

    Thank you for answer. That is one thing we are referring. Please try to make some changes for 3-5 text boxes and click save. On our end, changes wont take a place and after reloading page these changes are gone.

    - Mike

  • Profile Image
    amy
    Answered on December 08, 2016 at 03:45 AM

    Hello Mike,

    I checked your PDF layout and replicated the issue like my colleague Kevin. A bug ticket's already been opened and when it assigned to a member of our back-end team, s/he'll be working on it.

    Unfortunately we cannot provide an estimated time frame for the issue, but rest assured we will let you know on this thread once we have an update.

    Thank you for your patience.

    Regards.

  • Profile Image
    mikujiku
    Answered on December 18, 2016 at 11:19 AM

    We have done some research and noticed that if we don't refresh page when doing changes, bug does not occur. Unfortunately we are not able to make any customizes to layout without reloading page if we want to add custom texts as then we cannot changes font's for custom texts (font change button does not work without reload).

    This system is very buggy and we would like to know if there is any alternative way to upload / build even some basic PDF layout. Or is there way to change fonts of custom texts without reloading page?

    It's bit hard to try plan a head how our company will do this if you cannot give any estimated time when we have fix for this.

     

    -Mike

  • Profile Image
    jonathan
    Answered on December 18, 2016 at 04:13 PM

    Mike,

    We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

    We could not provide you an ETA as to when this ticket will be closed/fixed since it was already on the hand of our developer. They will be the one to provide response here once they have updates on the status.

    This system is very buggy and we would like to know if there is any alternative way to upload / build even some basic PDF layout.

    The PDF Designer tool is very much in beta state and still a work in progress. It is a given that it will eventually show some quirks/issue.

    Unfortunately there is no existing alternative tool that work similar to the PDF Designer if you want to customize the form submission PDF report.

    The closest workaround I can think of to overcome the TEXT field not being added on the custom PDF report is to add instead the TEXT field in the form itself. This way in the PDF designer the text data/info will exist in the PDF report already during PDF design.

    You can hide the TEXT field in the Form Builder so that it will not show on the live form. But in the PDF report, the text data will always show.

    Hope this help in any way. Let us know if there is more we can assist you with.

    Thanks