What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Form changes do not show in Preview

    Asked by BrentwoodHalfMarathon on December 11, 2016 at 02:02 PM

    Looking to change from Wufoo to Jotform. Some excellent features that solve several problems we currently have.

    I am having problems with Preview not showing changes to the form. I have used three different browsers and cleared the cache.

    Fields that I have deleted or changed do don't show in the Preview until hours or even days later. There is not problem with the embedded form in our web site. This shows the latest level.

    This is a major issue when trying to develop and test the form.

    The form specifically being developed is the 2018 Half Marathon.

    Any ideas please.

    Thanks

    Richard

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on December 11, 2016 at 05:24 PM

    What are the fields that are not showing?

    I am checking your form, and first, I have noticed that most of the fields are conditionally hidden, meaning, that they will show up until a specific selection or input is made in another field:

    I have cloned your form and disable the conditions, and all fields that are shown in the edit mode, ar shown in the live version:

    https://www.jotform.co/form/63456281544863? 

    Please try cloning your form if needed: https://www.jotform.com/help/27-How-to-clone-an-existing-form-from-your-account 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by BrentwoodHalfMarathon on December 12, 2016 at 04:06 AM

    The preview is working OK now. This is nothing to do with any conditions, it is simply taking 'Preview' at least several hours to catch up with Form changes. By the time you look at the issue it has cleared!

    There are several similar feeds on the same subject and in every case you do not find the problem - for the same reason.

    I don't think you can be serious in suggesting that Preview does not work if you apply conditions. The form works instantly via the embedded link to the web site with all the conditions applied.

    Unless you can find out a real reason why this problem only applies to my form, I suggest you seriously look at your system capability.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on December 12, 2016 at 04:29 AM

    Hi BrentwoodHalfMarathon,

    Glad that the issue on the preview of your form works now. If you will encounter this issue again in the future or on any of your forms, do let us know. We'll be happy to assist you.

    Regards

  • Profile Image

    Answered by BrentwoodHalfMarathon on December 12, 2016 at 07:06 AM

    Bit disappointed with your reply. The problem is certainly not solved. I just made a simple change to the title of the field that is not affected by any condition. It did not appear on the Preview. Try it for your self. I have used two different computers, both running Windows 10 and three different browsers. Chrome, IE and Edge.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on December 12, 2016 at 07:28 AM

    Hi there,

    Apologies for the misunderstanding. I am currently checking the issue but so far unable to replicate the problem. I will get back as soon as I find the problem.

    For the meantime, may I ask which field did you specifically change?

    Regards.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on December 12, 2016 at 07:35 AM

    The latest field you changed was the Half Marathon Entry field based on your form's history.

     

    This field displays correctly in the Preview.

    Was it the field you had an issue with? I am also checking out the other fields.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by BrentwoodHalfMarathon on December 12, 2016 at 08:38 AM

    Yes. I added an extra Half to the title. Clicked 'Save' then 'Preview' The change did not show in 'Preview' This was just a test.

    I then reverted to the original title.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kevin_G on December 12, 2016 at 09:15 AM

    I have tested directly on your form and I can see changes are showing in the preview of your form, I have modified the label of the field you're mentioning and added a new field as well, here is what I can see: 

    Could you please test your form again? 

    This may be a temporary issue, but would be also good to check the web console to find if there is something at the moment of saving the changes. 

    To get the web console on your end, please follow these keyboard shortcuts: 

    Google Chrome:

    Mac: Command + Option + J

    Windows: Control + Shift + J

    Firefox:

    Windows: Ctrl+Shift+K

    Mac: Command+Option+K

    We'll wait for your response. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by BrentwoodHalfMarathon on December 12, 2016 at 10:38 AM

    Thanks. I checked the console. Infuriatingly it all now works fine. Changes to the form showed immediately. I have had this problem for a week or so now and have done nothing different this time.

    Will let you know if it drifts back into bad habits!

     

    Thanks

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on December 12, 2016 at 10:52 AM

    Good to hear that the issue seems to working fine on your end. It seems that the issue was temporary. Please do report back to us if you still encounter the issue so we can further investigate. 

     

    Regards.