What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Configurable List Widget(JotForm V4): not updating, shows the correct configuration on edit mode, but not on preview.

    Asked by hannahevans on February 06, 2017 at 09:36 AM

    I have recreated one of the questions as a trial:

     

    This is how it looks on the Form Builder - which is how it should work:

     

    But this is how it looks in the preview - which is wrong.  When I close the form it reverts back to how it looks in the preview:

     

     

    Can you please advise urgently?

     

    Thank you so much!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 06, 2017 at 09:38 AM

    have just sat and left the form open without touching anything and when I presume it is automatically saving the form - it suddenly reverts to how it is in the preview - i.e. not what was in the form builder before it tries to save the form.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 06, 2017 at 09:42 AM
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on February 06, 2017 at 10:26 AM

    Hello,

    I've also checked your form and I did not see any difference between the preview version of the form and the form in builder.

    We are glad that your issue has been solved.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 06, 2017 at 10:29 AM

    My issue has not been solved!

    No difference will show when you check because it keeps undoing my work!

    It should look like this:

     But keeps reverting to this:

    Can you please advise as a matter of priority - I have spent hours trying to work out what has happened and trying to recreate the form.

    Thanks in advance.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 06, 2017 at 12:02 PM

    Just wondering if there was any follow up on this?  Thank you in advance.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on February 06, 2017 at 12:29 PM

    I checked that field in edit mode:

    And it shows the same in live mode:

    If the fields keeps reverting, could you please check the revision history to see if the desired version is saved there? https://www.jotform.com/help/294-How-to-view-form-revision-history 

    If it's not, do the following:

    1) Clear your forms cache: https://www.jotform.com/help/229-How-to-Clear-Your-Form-Cache 

    2) Clone your form: https://www.jotform.com/help/42-How-to-Clone-an-Existing-Form-from-a-URL 

    3) In the cloned version, setup the fields you want to show in the configurable list widget, and saved it.

    Let us know if you need more help.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 06, 2017 at 12:55 PM

    Hello,

    Thank you for your response.  I had alredy tried to go back to revision history - but it didn't solve the issue.

    I have now gone back and cleared the cache and cloned the form https://eu.jotform.com/build/70365413058352

    The issue is still happening in the widget - in that it just reverts to something else.

     

    The "Take TWO (2) Samples 取五(2)个样品:" should have the following in the Fields configuration of the Configurable List:

    Batch Number  批号 : text

    Material Colour  材料颜色 : dropdown: Please Select, Medical Bule (MB), Pastel Green (PG), Pastel Blue (PB), Pastel Yelow (PY), Grey (GY), Teal (TL), White (WH), Other (TBC)

    Height of Burning?  烧高度?: text

    Specification  规范: static: <165mm

     

    FR Pass or Fail?  FR过或失败?: dropdown: Please Select, Pass, Fail

     

     

    When I view it in Preview or it Automatically saves the form, it changes it to:

    Batch Number  批号 : text

    Material Colour  材料颜色 : dropdown: Please Select, Medical Blue (MB), Pastel Green (PG), Pastel Blue (PB), Pastel Yellow (PY), Grey (GY), Teal (TL), White (WH), Other (TBC)

    Height of Burning  燃烧高度 : text

    Specification  规范: static :  

    Look forward to any advice on what I should do?

    Thanks in advance!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on February 06, 2017 at 02:24 PM

    I have even tried deleting and adding a new widget in my cloned version, but it does not update:

     

    I have forwarded this to our back-end team. You will be notified via this thread when this gets fixed.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 07, 2017 at 01:21 PM

    Thanks very much - I appreciate it!  Look forward to hearing from the team as soon as possible. :)

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 09, 2017 at 11:57 AM

    Hello,

    I was just wondering - is there any news on this, as I really need to get this resolved ASAP.

    Thank you in advance!

    Kind regards,

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on February 09, 2017 at 01:06 PM

    I see this has been assigned to a developer already. Please note that they resolve issues in order of arrival. So, there is no estimated time-frame for a resolution. Unfortunately, there isn't any updates yet.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 14, 2017 at 11:33 AM

    Hello,

    Just to update you, I have figured out what the problem is.  Whenever I use the symbols for 'less than' and 'more than' as < or > the widgets don't like it.  If I remove these symbols and replace them with the words 'less than' etc. everything works.

    Alternatively, if I add a ' character before the < or > it works - just like you would do on an Excel Sheet to make that cell ignore a +/- symbol etc - an example of how this would look on the form is: '<165mm

    I stumbled across this solution because the same problem happened when inserting a basic 'Text' field and I could see that it was the <or> causing the issues.

    Do you know if this problem of using the <or> on their own is something that is likely to remain?

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on February 14, 2017 at 12:39 PM

    Thanks a lot for the update! It appears the widget does not take or read those characters. I have let our developer know about it. Hopefully we can get updated soon.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by hannahevans on February 16, 2017 at 01:27 PM

    Thanks - I will wait to hear back from you.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by TitusNdoka on April 25, 2017 at 12:21 AM

    Hello,

    Sorry for the delayed response. 

    Please use the HTML entity equivalent for '<' which is '&lt;'