What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.

  • Profile Image

    Is Universal security Inc a scam?

    Asked by Julius Shittu  on February 20, 2017 at 10:17 PM

    Universal security Inc is offering me an employment, and am about to finish up the application using Jotform, and also asking to pay a $97 background check fee which will be reimbursed

    I want to know if they are a legitimate company, I seem not to find their footprint on the internet and o traces on mention has been made about them anywhere.

    Page URL:

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ian on February 20, 2017 at 11:44 PM

    We can't assure if the company is genuine or not, but their email id which is registered with us is akim.mitch@yahoo.com (not a registered domain email id)

    You can email them directly and can investigate about them.

    Hope this helps.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ant  on April 07, 2017 at 01:12 AM

    It is a scam. I fell for it and now they have my personal information. I didn't fill out the w4 form they emailed me because it seemed too good to be true. So I began digging for information and on the actual universal security website there is a clear message warning people about this scam.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by liyam on April 07, 2017 at 01:28 AM

    Thank you for your comment, Ant.

    Indeed, if someone is applying for a job, paying for it would something that someone should be suspicious about. Following my colleague's observation, we'll make some further investigation on the matter.

    Warm regards.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Clem  on April 11, 2017 at 09:04 AM

    I almost fell for it, they were offering me 24.19 hour,p for an unarmed security job. Well that just did not make since to me! I emailed them back several times asking how can they pay that much money when the national average for unarmed security is 10 to 12 an hour and armed is 13 to 15 an hour. They never responded, just I better hurry up and pay the 97 dollars to hold my spot. Well I didn't and glad I found this blog, but others need to be warned, if sounds to good to be true, it's a scam! Thanks

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by candy on April 11, 2017 at 10:41 AM

    Dear Clem,

    Thank you very much for sharing your experience to inform people.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by Scott  on April 12, 2017 at 12:01 AM

    I got the same scam offer and found the warning on the real Universal Security Site

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ian on April 12, 2017 at 01:23 AM

    I dont see the form is active anymore.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by S Curry  on April 13, 2017 at 12:55 AM

    There's two different universal security company that are based out in Chicago. One is legit (link below), the other is asking you for payment upfront is clearly a fraud.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by Mark  on April 13, 2017 at 08:25 AM

    I recently fell for this....how STUPID OF ME lol.........I paid the 97 for the background check and they have my social security, I am pretty annoyed with myself...is there any cause of action I can take against these people....Thank you....

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Mark  on April 13, 2017 at 08:27 AM

    Also the other trick they use is that they are going to "get back to you" with the orientation date saying its full and they have to find a new location.....BS I fell for it.....if your reading this DO NOT APPLY !

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ALEX RODRIGUEZ on April 14, 2017 at 11:34 AM

    I really appreciate this opportunity your company is offering right now; I do but also I do have some questions that need to be answered before I  decide if it's a great chance to invest my time, my skills and money in this opportunity.

    My number one question is related to locations:


    Where in Tampa is your office located?

    Where in Tampa do yo have the unarmed open positions?

    my second question is:

    Why Do your company needs to Check my background when I have already done this trough the Department of Agriculture? 

    Third but no less important:

    Please advise me of the wage per hour that your company claims pay to unarmed security officer since I've seen the $24.15/hr.  and most of the Security Agencies do not even pay half of what you offer? including TSA and USCG.


    Please keep me inform of this simplest questions and I'm  willing to get ready to assist to the Orientation Meeting.


    The answers from Universal security inc 


    Asunto: RE: Your Application for Employment
    Hi Alex,

    Thank you for the email.  Unfortunately, our insurance requires that we provide a real-time background and criminal record check.  I am very sorry for the inconvenience but the we cannot use your previous information.   Please let me know if you have any other questions.

    We were very impressed with your application and hope you decide to join our team.




               this is telling SCAM ALL THE WAY UP AND DOWN 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by alexrod72 on April 14, 2017 at 11:38 AM



  • Profile Image

    Answered by Al Harig  on April 19, 2017 at 10:54 PM

    They are a scam....In PA, you dont need a security guard card to work for a security company that has a license.  They were insisting that I pay for this up front as part of a background investigation.  LOL  SCAMMERS all the way. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ben   on April 30, 2017 at 12:10 PM

    i recently applied for a job with Lufthansa airlines . I have gone through the application process and they are now asking me for 97$ for background check . They are not disclosing the location the orientation will take place . I have my doubts that this may be a scam . BAsed on responses on this site it appears my doubts are correct . The email address the email came from is Michael.schneider@lufthansaemployment.com

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sean  on May 04, 2017 at 12:20 PM

    Same thing happened to me and I fell for it like a chump. Taking advantage of the vulnerable like always. Any idea what steps I can take to safeguard myself against future identity theft.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by david on May 04, 2017 at 01:29 PM

    If you come across any forms you believe are a scam, please report them to us so we can remove them. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by David  on May 06, 2017 at 10:10 PM

    lufthansa job in Houston is a scan. Do not pay or fill out the application.i just called Lufthansa hr and they said they are not hiring anyone in Houston at this time and never heard of Michel Schneider working for then.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sharon  on May 10, 2017 at 03:13 PM

    Yes, I too fell for the Lufthansa scam, I just called Paypal to reverse the charges. If it sounds to good to be true, it usually is.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Jimmy  on May 15, 2017 at 06:25 AM

    i also received a responded email from Michael Schneider at Lufthansa. I was skeptical and despised to look online for Michael Schneider Lufthansa and came across this and glad I did! Paying up front $97 and from an email not even a phone call should raise flags. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Quiana   on May 16, 2017 at 10:27 AM

    please have this site removed! I fell for the Lufthansa  crap too, except it was for my son. he got a "job offer" and I stupidly paid the $96.10. His father realized it was a scam a few days later now I am waiting on my bank to finish a fraud investigation. smfh!!!

    site listed below:


  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by david on May 16, 2017 at 11:18 AM

    @Quiana We have already removed the offending forms and account from our system.  The form you referenced is from another company called Wufoo.  Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about forms created using another service.  You may want to contact Wufoo to have them take down that form.