Sending a Comment/Suggestion - returns to sender Complaint and Comment/Suggestion

  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Asked on December 31, 2017 at 02:22 PM

    I don't understand what I'm doing wrong.

      When sending a Comment / Suggestion, the sender receives both "We received your complaint AND we received your Comment / Suggestion... why?

    I deleted the Comment / Suggestion return to sender configuration and reconfigured it, and this problem repeats.  I also deleted the Complaint - and again the problem repeats.

      What am I missing?

    The screen shot shows 2 emails returned to the sender completing the Comment / Suggestion receiving the Complain that he never sent!

  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on December 31, 2017 at 04:13 PM

    I cloned your form to test it further and I was not able to replicate the issue. Here's a screenshot of my inbox:

    15147547402425zsz.png

    I also checked your Emails settings and it is configured properly. Is the issue still persists? If yes, please provide more details so we can try to replicate the issue and investigate it further.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Answered on December 31, 2017 at 04:35 PM

    Thanks for checking. I wasn't sure my question was posted as I didn't see it in the forum.

    The reason why you may not have been able to duplicate the issue is that I've been trying everything I could to solve it by starting over Subject by Subject.

    I have completed 4 email configurations. 

    1. I receive when I get a complaint
    1a. A email is sent to the sender of the complaint.

    2. I receive an email when I get a complement
    2b. The sender receive a thank you for the complement


    I sent ONE (1) email - a Complement.

    This is what I receive in my Inbox: (see My inbox.jpg)

    1514756005My in box.JPG


    This is what is sent to the sender:

    1514756060Sender In box.JPG

    Notice that both are sent at the same time.  And all I did was sent a Complement

    I'll hold off doing more until I hear back

    Thank you

  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on December 31, 2017 at 06:01 PM

    In my cloned form, I was still not able to replicate the issue. Here's a screenshot of my test:

    151476077832352.png

    The email title is set to {subject}. It means that what you choose in the Subject drop-down field will show in the email title. 

    151476125453531sz.png

    I have cleared your form cache on our server. Could you please try it again? Also, please try using a different email address when testing.

    Let us know if the issue still persists.

  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Answered on December 31, 2017 at 06:12 PM

    I think I understand now - the wizard is not very intuitive on this.  I'll let you know.

    But I can't use another email address...its only my wife and I - we only have one each

  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Answered on December 31, 2017 at 06:39 PM

    No - still having a problem.

    I reset all the email submissions to {subject} and I send ONE (1) Complement and it duplicates

    1514763073Complement.JPG

    1514763136Complement1.JPG

    1514763193Complaint.JPG

    1514763250Complaint1.JPG

    Creative Wire Wear receive (1) email.... (Correct)

    1514763513CWW In box.JPG


    but I as the customer, receive duplicate

    1514763558Customer.JPG


  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on December 31, 2017 at 08:58 PM

    To my understanding, if the user selected any of the options in the Subject field then it should be copied to the Email Subject:

    - Complement

    - Complaint

    - Comment / Suggestion

    - Product Inquiry

    - Testimonial

    If I choose "Testimonial" then the email I will receive should be "Testimonial" email subject. Is that correct? If yes, let us know

    1514771741454xx.png


    If not, could you please tell me what Email Subject you want to receive? We will try to use the Send Email Based on User's answer: https://www.jotform.com/help/167-How-to-Send-Email-Based-on-User-s-Answer


  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Answered on January 01, 2018 at 10:48 AM

    That's correct and I think I know what the problem is.

    When I first signed up with JotForm, (back in 2003) the return emails were individually configured to the Contact Subject TITLE..

    A Complement is sent

    Originally, JotForm functionality - was that I had to select the subject "Complement" as a Notice that I received a Complement

    Then I had to select a Return setting for that "Complement" Subject.

    Currently JotForm has streamlined this functionality somewhat making it easier. Rather than specifically identifying the subject title "Complement" JotForm uses the {subject} tag.

    This was not clear to me, because I couldn't understand how JotForm knew what subject was selected, since the tag only said "{subject}"

      During my testing, I did 2 things. I configured the returns with only {subject} and I also configured it with "A {subject} was sent." 

    And for the return, I used... {subject}  and another with

    "Thank you for the {subject}"

    When I received "duplicates" that's what clued me in to how the current functionality was being implemented. 

    That being said, I think the problem rests with the cashe - I've sent so many emails the server is confused. 

    Thoughts? 


  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on January 01, 2018 at 11:24 AM

    If I understood the problem completely, the issue is that the subject is the same in both Notifiers right?

    Maybe it would be better to do what my colleague suggested and use https://www.jotform.com/help/167-How-to-Send-Email-Based-on-User-s-Answer, in that way you can create Notifiers that will go for each selection.

    Could that work for you?


  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Answered on January 01, 2018 at 11:40 AM

    Actually, I did try to follow your directions as outlined on your site.

    For example, I selected Conditions, then selected Change email recipient.  Your site brought me to a blank page...so right off, that didn't work

  • Profile Image
    Ardian_L
    Answered on January 01, 2018 at 11:54 AM

    I checked your account and in that form you haven't set up any email like specified in the instructions in the link. First, if you want to send emails with different content, you should create multiple notifiers.

    And then in conditions you will set the emails you have created before based on the answer.

    Please let us know if you have any other question.

  • Profile Image
    RickGregory
    Answered on January 01, 2018 at 12:22 PM

    I think the light bulb has finally turned on. You need to set these conditions in two places.

      This was not totally clear to me based on the label menu at the left under Settings/ EMails.

    If I understand this right.

    Emails creates the content of the email - the subject and the body.

    Then under Conditions, you configure where that email subject(s) are to be sent based on the IF statements.

    I tested this using 1-Subject in the Contact US page, and this worked...

    Sorry to have been difficult...but I appreciate your patience. I think I got it!