What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    HTML does NOT display properly in PREVIEW mode as compared to EDIT mode.

    Asked by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    Please advise.

    Page URL:
    https://form.jotform.us/form/22644499440156

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 12:35 PM

    As a clarification, an HTML field in the form is not displaying properly.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EduardoMendez on September 28, 2012 at 12:37 PM

    @tquinn63

    Thank you for the clarification.  may inquire as to which HTML field?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Rodjit on September 28, 2012 at 12:39 PM

    Hi,

    Try to access your preview link with this URL: https://www.jotform.us/form/22644499440156

    Note: I've made a changes from https://form to https://www on your form URL.

    Also, may we have a screenshot of to which field is not working properly?

    Thanks

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 02:29 PM

    The problem exists with your PREVIEW function first.  It displays differently than the EDIT screen.  Here is the field...

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EduardoMendez on September 28, 2012 at 02:40 PM

    @tquinn63

    Can you please give us the name of the field or a description.  I fyou would like to include a screen capture image, you can click on the image icon on the top right.  Enter the URL of the image and click on Insert.

    We'll be glad to assist you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 03:55 PM

    It is the first HTML field after the header!!!!

    Now, something happened and ALL formatting is lost!!!  I had detailed spacing, colors, text sizes and justificaiton that is LOST!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 04:36 PM

    I have to keep working on this becasue the form is live and it has been comprimised through NO action of mine.

     

    Please advise!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Deygus on September 28, 2012 at 04:39 PM

    I apologize for the inconvenience and the frustration that this has caused you as we understand how difficult things can be sometimes especially when something doesn't seem to be working correctly which happens from time to time.

    Because of this I would like to reassure you that our Support Team is more than willing to go out of our way to assist you by doing our best to rectify the problem or help you with a custom workaround where possible.

    I have investigated the issue but currently it is unclear as to what you were trying to do with the Custom Html Field, could you please tell us what exactly you are trying to do to the text in your form so that we can help you better which will in turn help us find and correct the issue if there is one.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 04:59 PM

    I was making rudimentary formatting changes to the HTML field just under the header.  Suprisingly, the EDIT mode display and my changes were NOT being displayed in the PREVIEW mode.

    I made numerous attempts to test and change with no luck, so I reported here.

    Somehow, with NO ACTION by me, this HTML field lost ALL of its formatting subsequent to my reporting here.  I'm assuming maybe the support staff did something.

    Since this is a LIVE form I needed to immedaitely try to reproduce the formatting.  I've done so and it seems to be working fine now.  However, this is very disturbing becasue I don't understant how it happened and worse yet, it happended when I had not touched the form.

    Please advise.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on September 28, 2012 at 05:11 PM

    @tquinn63

    Hi, can you please share to us what changes are currently not being displayed correctly on the preview mode of your form?

    This is how your form html field currently displays on my end using the link you provided http://www.jotform.us/form/22644499440156

    (click on the image for bigger picture)

     

    Will await your updates. 

    Thanks.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 05:56 PM

    As I stated earlier, it is working FINE now!  I had to go back in and reformat the first HTML field positioned immedately after the header at the top of the form. 

     

    All of a sudden, that HTML field was NOT displaying consistently in EDIT mode and PREVIEW mode.

    After I reported it on the forum, somehow the whole HTML field was collapsed and lost ALL formatting.   I then had to reformat.

    THE PROBLEM:  I don't know how this happened (without me touching it) and I have no reason to be confident that it won't happen again.

     

    Please advise...

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jeanettebmz on September 28, 2012 at 06:14 PM

    We are truly sorry to hear that. However, having the HTML fields not displaying consistently could be caused by several reasons, incluiding a recent lag replication issue we had due to a database maintenance which affected some of our customers.

    This does not mean someone in the support staff might be touching a particular form/account.  Rest assured that our Support Team members are very professional and committed to their jobs, we have never had a report like that in the past. We do not allow this behavior to any of our Team members and it will be a cause of termination if we discovered someone broke this rule if this ever happen

    We are glad to see your form is now working with no problems. Please let us know if the issue continues so we can investigate and help you to the best of our abilities

  • Profile Image

    Answered by tquinn63 on September 28, 2012 at 07:07 PM

    I want to be clear that I was not accusing anyone of knowingly causing this problem.  I just wanted to state the fact that it happened when I was not working onhe form.  A database replicaiton issue sounds like the probable source of the problem.

    The timing was odd becasue it happened within 10 minutes of my initial report above.

    The intial symptom was that editng changes that looked good after editing, just were not being reflected in preview mode.  The exact time I had this probelm would have been within the 10 minutes prior to my first post above.

    It may be worth checkng this time with the know time period you were having replication issues....  just a thought.

    Thanks for your time and assisance.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jeanettebmz on September 28, 2012 at 07:16 PM

    You are much welcome!