I am having consistant trouble with opening PDF file attachments on Jotforms

  • Profile Image
    Robert 
    Asked on January 25, 2018 at 02:00 PM

    When I click the PDF to open, I get a pop-up window that asks what program to use to open the file. But it won't allow Adobe to be chosen. I have found that if I close the pop-up window, close the new window that opened, then click on the attachment a second time, it will give me the correct pop-up window to open with Adobe. This is obviously a major time waster and probably fixable, but I cannot find any setting or configuration that will correct this nuisance. Anybody have a fix for this? Anybody else have this same situation?

    I am using Windows 10 and Firefox browser.

  • Profile Image
    jonathan
    Answered on January 25, 2018 at 03:24 PM

    This has to do with the default file association settings on your OS (Windows 10). You can select a default app to the .pdf file type in the systems settings.

    Try the numbered steps on the image below.


    It may look a bit different on your system, but the idea should still be the same. 

    Let us know if you are still not able to make it work.


  • Profile Image
    Robert 
    Answered on January 25, 2018 at 04:23 PM

    Jonathan,

    Thanks for the reply, but this is not the fix. I have Adobe associated with PDF files already. I can easily open a PDF attached to ANY other email, but when it comes from Jotform I have this issue. Other thoughts?

    Thanks in advance!

  • Profile Image
    jonathan
    Answered on January 25, 2018 at 05:25 PM

    Thank you for the clarification Robert.

    But can you share to us the URL/link of the PDF file you were trying to open in your Firefox browser? 

    And also the steps you did to reproduce the issue.

    So far I could not identify the steps on how to reproduce the problem at this time.

    We will wait for your updated response.

  • Profile Image
    Robert 
    Answered on January 25, 2018 at 05:59 PM

    I am attempting to open the attachment from when the employee has entered information into a Jotform and attached a PDF. The form is emailed to me upon completion.

    I cannot share a shot of it as it may contain confidential information.

    I can reproduce this with almost 100% constancy by simply clicking on the attachment - the first time I click it almost always shows the pop-up that I first put on my request for support. Once I close the pop-up, close the window and click again - it will then open the correct pop-up for a pdf so I can open it.

    I would appreciate a way to talk to someone about this as I do not have time to spend communicating in this manner.

    Thank you again for your assistance.

  • Profile Image
    jonathan
    Answered on January 25, 2018 at 07:29 PM

    Can you please try also downloading the file from the View Submission panel of the form instead. I cannot do further test using the same link that you used since I do not have accessed to the email link you mentioned.

    But the uploaded file link in the email should also be the same link that will in the form submission data in the View submission panel -- so you can use that as well.

    ---

    When I click the PDF to open, I get a pop-up window that asks what program to use to open the file. But it won't allow Adobe to be chosen.... 

    As I have mentioned previously, the problem is not within Jotform. Rather it has to do with your system (OS) or browser settings.

    I made test using the link instead from the view submission panel of the form. You can check the screenshots below of the steps I have taken. You can see that I was able to open the file link with different application (I do not have adobe installed) that exist on my computer. 

    1516926370zzz 2018-01-26 08.11.52.png

    1516926398zzz 2018-01-26 08.12.40.png

    1516926418zzz 2018-01-26 08.15.08.png


    1516926440zzz 2018-01-26 08.16.11.png





    What I am saying is, I could not replicate the issue you described that it wont allow Adobe app to be chosen from the pop up screen when I clicked on the link using my Firefox browser.

    ---

    I would appreciate a way to talk to someone about this as I do not have time to spend communicating in this manner.

    I am sorry but we do not have live support via phone at this time so we will not be able to assist you by call.

    Please continue using this support/email to update us on the issue.

    Thanks.