Take photo widget: No longer shows in preview/live mode but rather shows just as file upload.

  • Profile Image
    Kelly Lively
    Asked on February 16, 2018 at 05:07 PM

    Hello,

     

    I have a form built and it is embedded on my website.  It worked perfectly until I tried to changed the URL to match my site and then the "take a photo" widget has gotten entirely messed up.  When we change the URL back to the default Jotform url it works again. 

    The instructions we followed to change the URL are from the link you sent below

    Answered by Mike_G

    In order for you to change the form's URL and have it aligned with your own domain, you can follow the instructions in this guide — How-to-use-Custom-Domains-with-Jotform

    You may also find this one helpful — How-to-Create-a-Custom-URL-of-a-Form

    Please let me know how to overcome this...

    The website below is where the form is embedded.  It is a link on the home page where it says "photo evaluation form"

  • Profile Image
    Jed_C
    Answered on February 16, 2018 at 06:29 PM

    Which method did you try? If you want your URL to be http://form.accuwin.net/formIDXXXX, you will need to follow this guide https://www.jotform.com/help/144-How-to-use-Custom-Domains-with-Jotform. Your web admin should be able to add a DNS record that points to "custom.jotform2.com" domain.

    If this guide https://www.jotform.com/help/144-How-to-use-Custom-Domains-with-Jotform, you don't need to configure anything from your domain because you are just creating a sub-folder from Jotform's domain. You will notice in the guide that the main URL is still using the jotform.com domain.

    Looking forward for your response. 

  • Profile Image
    Jed_C
    Answered on February 16, 2018 at 06:33 PM

    By the way, I've noticed that the widget is no longer showing the image in preview mode but rather just an attachment image. I have forwarded this to our L2 team for further investigation.  

    We'll let you know via this thread once we update(s) from our L2 team. We apologize for this inconvenience.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 12:08 PM

    Are you referring to it not showing the image in preview mode when you open the form from our website and try to complete it? 

    If so this is what I am referring to.  We can get the URL to change to forms.accuwin.net... as it appears now.  The problem is once we change it over the photo widget does all kinds of things on different devices and none seem to be correct.  With the standard "jotform" URL the form functions perfectly on all devices...

  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 01:22 PM

    I was able to replicate this issue if the form is viewed on www.jotform.us/form/80369129347160 URL:

    1519064403Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.19


    But it is working fine when viewed on https://www.jotform.us/form/80369129347160.

    Could you please check and confirm?

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 01:43 PM
    Both of the links seem to be working totally normal for me on an Android
    device...
    I have not checked other devices
    Kelly Lively
    Professional Home Solutions
    www.professionalhomesolutionsdenver.com
    ...
  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 01:43 PM
    I just looked at the form in the two links you sent on my laptop in
    Internet Explorer and it is not right on either. The photo seems correct
    but the "window attribute" which is also a widget it missing about half of
    the options on both forms.
    Again, both links you sent appear correctly on my android phone though.
    I also just compared the link on our website to the links you sent on my
    lap top in Internet Explorer and they appear to be identical...
    *Kelly F. LivelyCell: 720-563-7816*
    *www.ProfessionalHomeSolutionsDenver.com
    *
    [image: src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gpGDPKtK2MA?rel=0" frameborder="0"
    allowfullscreen>]

    ...
  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 02:07 PM

    Does it appear like this:

    1519067143Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 8.05

    Since I had to test on Simulator because I'm on Mac.

    Please let us know.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 02:43 PM
    Yes. And that view is how I see it functioning correctly.
    Kelly Lively
    Professional Home Solutions
    www.professionalhomesolutionsdenver.com
    ...
  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 03:20 PM

    Thank you for confirming. 

    Your message will reach our backend team. I'm not sure if that is actually a Browser behavior, but this will be checked further.

    We'll keep you posted.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 03:43 PM
    This seems to be something that is going wrong with the widgets
    specifically is that correct?
    We have been able to change the name, just when we do change the name the
    widgets run into problems on all different devices...
    *Kelly F. LivelyCell: 720-563-7816*
    *www.ProfessionalHomeSolutionsDenver.com
    *
    [image: src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gpGDPKtK2MA?rel=0" frameborder="0"
    allowfullscreen>]

    ...
  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 04:43 PM
    Do you need/want me to leave the form on out website with the "changed" url
    so you all can see what it looks like and how the widgets are acting? Or
    can I put it back to the standard "jot form" url so it functions properly
    while you try to work out the issue? Either is ok as ultimately I really
    want/need it to work with the custom url bit if you don't need to see what
    it's doing I'll put it back to the standard url so we can use it in the
    meantime...
    Thanks for your help
    Kelly Lively
    Professional Home Solutions
    www.professionalhomesolutionsdenver.com
    ...
  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 07:38 PM

    Hi Kelly,

    It is up to you what link you want to use to your website. I prefer the working link at the moment.

    Not working links:

    http://forms.accuwin.net/form/80369129347160

    http://forms.accuwin.net/form/80384123908154

    1519087012512311.png

    Working links:

    www.jotform.com/form/80384123908154

    www.jotform.com/form/80369129347160

    151908702951c1d2.png

    Our developer is now investigating the issue. We will contact you again on this thread once we have any updates.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 19, 2018 at 10:43 PM
    So it is safe to say that it is something with the widget inside the form
    and that you guys are working to create a solution?
    I just want to make sure we will be able to keep the form we've built while
    customizing the URL? Thanks do much for your hard work...
    Kelly Lively
    Professional Home Solutions
    www.professionalhomesolutionsdenver.com
    ...
  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 20, 2018 at 02:42 AM

    Yes, that could be the case, but we will know more when we receive an update from the backend team.

    We'll keep you posted.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 20, 2018 at 02:44 AM

    Yes, that could be the case, but we will know more when we receive an update from the backend team.

    We'll keep you posted.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 20, 2018 at 02:47 AM

    Yes, that could be the case, but we will know more when we receive an update from the backend team.

    We'll keep you posted.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 20, 2018 at 02:47 AM

    Yes, that could be the case, but we will know more when we receive an update from the backend team.

    We'll keep you posted.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 22, 2018 at 11:43 AM
    I am following up to see if you have made any headway into the widgets
    continuing to work once we change the URL to a custom URL?
    Thanks so much for your help
    *Kelly F. LivelyCell: 720-563-7816*
    *www.ProfessionalHomeSolutionsDenver.com
    *
    [image: src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gpGDPKtK2MA?rel=0" frameborder="0"
    allowfullscreen>]

    ...
  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on February 22, 2018 at 12:01 PM

    Unfortunately, we do not have any updates on this issue. However, we will contact again on this thread once we have any updates.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 22, 2018 at 10:43 PM
    We have put the form on our website with the "Standard" jot form URL.
    Before the "take a photo widget" seemed to be working fine on all devices.
    Now the Take a photo widget on internet explorer is not displaying the
    photo in the attached pdf that comes in the email once the form is
    submitted.
    www.accuwin.net (under the photo evaluation link)
    Let me know if you can see what I'm talking about...
    *Kelly F. LivelyCell: 720-563-7816*
    *www.ProfessionalHomeSolutionsDenver.com
    *
    [image: src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gpGDPKtK2MA?rel=0" frameborder="0"
    allowfullscreen>]

    ...
  • Profile Image
    Nik_C
    Answered on February 23, 2018 at 02:37 AM

    I tested this on IE and on FireFox, and I was able to replicate the image not showing, only the link.

    1519371421Screen Shot 2018-02-23 at 8.35

    I will add this to our notes for this ticket.

    Thank you for additional information.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 24, 2018 at 10:43 AM
    I am wondering if we can get some detailed information about the issues we
    are experiencing? Currently there are two separate things happening with
    the form we are trying to utilize.
    1: When we customize the URL the widgets seem to get messed up and not
    function or look the same as when the URL is in the standard Jotform URL.
    2: The form that is on our website www.accuwin.net as a link under "photo
    evaluation form" on the home page is experiencing issues with the "take a
    photo" widget. The URL is set to the default Jotform URL in an attempt to
    have the form function in the meantime while we work through the issue of
    the custom URL. However, when the form is filled out on a computer (in
    Internet Explorer, Chrome or Firefox) and submitted the photos show up as a
    blank "thumb nail" on the pdf. See the attachment below with the NO PHOTOS
    label. The second attachment shows the pdf of the submitted form from an
    Android phone from the same link. The photos appear in the pdf from the
    same take a photo widget. The only thing about this one that is a little
    off is the direction of the photos. The photos that are in the link that
    appear the proper direction were attached via google photos. The two that
    are sideways were taken directly from the camera as a portrait type photo.
    Not sure why the pdf inputs them sideways?
    At this point the photos not showing on the form from a computer submission
    is my biggest issue. When I first built the form it worked from all
    devices perfectly (including the direction of the photo). I am paying to
    use these forms for my business and I am not able to run my business
    without it functioning properly. The Custom URL is also important but I
    can work with it in the standard form while that issue is worked out. This
    does not inhibit my business I just want to have that functionality
    eventually for branding purposes.
    Is there another type of support I can pay for to help expedite fixing this
    issue. Again, as I pay to have the forms and cannot use them to run my
    business it gets harder and harder each day. Please let me know what we
    can do to get this resolved...
    Thanks so much
    *Kelly F. LivelyCell: 720-563-7816*
    *www.ProfessionalHomeSolutionsDenver.com
    *
    [image: src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gpGDPKtK2MA?rel=0" frameborder="0"
    allowfullscreen>]

    ...
  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on February 24, 2018 at 12:13 PM

    Sorry for the inconvenience, Kelly.

    We still do not have any updates from the developer assigned to the thread. Also, we cannot provide you an ETA when the issue will be fixed. 

    I will leave a message to our developer and ask for any updates. I also can see that the priority of this thread is set to Important. I suggest we wait for an update and not edit your form while our developer is investigating the issue.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 24, 2018 at 12:43 PM
    Thank you John,
    We will hang tight while you guys address what's happening.
    Is the developer working on our exact form on the back end? In other words
    ...
  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on February 24, 2018 at 02:08 PM

    If you're referring to these forms:

    https://www.jotform.com/form/80369129347160

    https://www.jotform.com/form/80384123908154

    Yes, those are the forms our developer is checking. 

    By the way, you can clone your forms and try using the File Upload Care widget. Please keep in mind that do not edit the original forms with an issue.

    Please give it a try and if the issue still persists, let us know. 

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 24, 2018 at 05:43 PM
    Hi John,
    Thanks for your response. The first link you sent has more issues than
    just the photo widget. If you notice we have configurable list that I have
    named "window attribute".
    In the first link you sent over all of the items
    in the list are not present. The link below has that issue corrected. I
    am not sure what the issue was but this one seems to be correct. Take a
    look and see if you can see what I'm talking about
    https://form.jotform.com/80465539690163

    The second link you sent seems to be working fine. I don't see any issues
    inside that form. I do have a question though. What is the file upload
    widget I used at the bottom called? I can't seem to find it again...
    https://www.jotform.com/form/80384123908154
    Thanks again for all your help. Look forward to getting this resolved...
    *Kelly F. LivelyCell: 720-563-7816*
    *www.ProfessionalHomeSolutionsDenver.com
    *
    [image: src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gpGDPKtK2MA?rel=0" frameborder="0"
    allowfullscreen>]

    ...
  • Profile Image
    Kevin_G
    Answered on February 24, 2018 at 11:23 PM

    The issue with the first form will be resolved on a different thread since it's no longer related to the original matter on this thread: https://www.jotform.com/answers/1396119 

    For your second question, the file is a basic file upload field with multiple option allowed, find more about it on the following link: https://www.jotform.com/help/332-How-to-Create-File-Upload-Forms 

    I hope this helps. 

  • Profile Image
    klively7
    Answered on February 26, 2018 at 06:43 PM
    I have made some changes to the form and I have almost all functions
    working. I changes to the photo upload image widget instead of the take a
    photo widget. It is working for what I need for everything at the moment.
    There is just one last thing I can't figure out. See the screenshot
    attachment. The button that you click to "select image" does not show up

    ...
  • Profile Image
    John_Benson
    Answered on February 26, 2018 at 07:53 PM

    I have decided to address your issue in a new thread to better assist you and to avoid confusion. Please wait for my reply shortly on this link: https://www.jotform.com/answers/1397823

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    widgets
    Answered on April 04, 2018 at 06:52 AM

    Hi the issue has been fixed. This is due to the permission errors of the browser. Make sure to clean up your form cache if you don't get the updates. Please try it again and let us know if the problem persist. We apologize for any inconvenience.


    Regards,
    Widget Team