What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    FORM COLLAPSE: Will not work on large forms

    Asked by macpooh on January 23, 2013 at 05:33 PM

    If someone views our site (storyized.com/order.htm) on Firefox right now, they should see that the forms will not expand unless you reload the page which a customer will not and should not need to do.  Please don't tell me that there is a javascript conflict because there is no javascript on the page.  Also, I am not going to use an iframe as it defeats the purpose of using your forms.  If we cannot use the forms the way they are currently coded, we will discontinue the service and develop our own collasping forms.  It appears that JotForm has resolved this issue in Chrome and Opera although I have not thoroughly tested the forms in these two browsers.  I can say without reservation that the problem still exist with Firefox.  Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

    Marty

    Page URL:
    http://storyized.com/order.htm

  • Profile Image

    Answered by DebtHub on January 23, 2013 at 05:52 PM

    Hi

    I am also a client of Jotform and share your frustration.I just wanted to inform you that I have just tested your site on Chrome and found that I had to refresh the page (as you stated) in order for the bars to expand.

    I then closed your site and revisited and it worked fine.

    In conclusion,your form is only working properly once the browser have cached the visit to your site.

    Regards

    Steve

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_T on January 23, 2013 at 06:01 PM

    We deeply apologize for the inconveniences. As far as I can see the problem has been already escalated to our Developers per your previous forum thread. They are still looking into this.

    Please note that reported problem is not a common one at all.

    As a temporary workaround, can you try our form Source Code embedding option?

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by macpooh on January 23, 2013 at 06:45 PM

    Thanks Steve for pulling up the site in Chrome and reporting your findings, I appreciate it.  I don't believe the problem is entirely resolved once the page has been cached though, at least in FF.  On my MAC, that page has been cached in FF and I will still periodically find the forms unresponsive.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by idarktech on January 23, 2013 at 08:35 PM

    @macpooh

    Have you tried Mike's suggestion? Please try to re-embed your form using source code and let us know how it turns out.

    By the way, this has been forwarded to our development team already. We'll let you know once it's fixed.

    Thanks and apologies for this inconvenience.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by macpooh on January 23, 2013 at 11:20 PM
    As I have explained before, the only reason we are using JotForm because it is cost effective. If we are going to incur the cost of a SSL cert, we will just develop our own form and discontinue your service. Besides, if the script doesn't work on your server, why would it work on ours?
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on January 24, 2013 at 12:47 AM

    @macpooh,

    We deeply apologize for this matter. Actually, this is the first time I encounter this worst issue with regards to our Form Collapse tool. Base from the previous thread that you have started and what our manager have mention, that is maybe because of the long form you have but as mention again, this is already forwarded to our developers and I am sure they will look into this. For sure that we will let you know if there are updates.

    Thank you for your understanding and patience.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_T on January 24, 2013 at 06:40 PM

    I would like to inform you that we do provide secure 'source code' embedding option. You do not need the SSL certificate on your site to use that option. Form data will be 100% protected during submission to our servers via SSL connection.

    Source code is not much different from our default Javascript embed code. The downside of this method is no-autoupdate, if you change something on the form, you will need to update the source code on your web page.

    Note: you do not have to host all the form files on your server, just check "Secure form" option, and embed highlighted source code to your web page.

    According to my tests, that embedding option is not affected by mentioned bug.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by macpooh on January 24, 2013 at 11:25 PM

    Thanks for the suggestion but the source code option presents a design that is visually unacceptable and the time that it would take for me to recode it just isn't worth it.  We would be better serviced to start over with our own form script that passes the form inputs to a php cart so customers can review their form inputs before submitting their order for payment.  This is a feature that JotForm does not offer and for our customized products, with so many options/variables, it's a major weakness in the service.  So if I have to mess around with your code, I should just do my own that will provide us with all the features we need. 

    We still have a small amount of time for JotForm to identify and resolve the issue before the site reaches the marketing stage.  If you can fix the bug in a reasonable amount of time, we will remain a client.  Otherwise, we'll do our own thing.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by idarktech on January 25, 2013 at 02:28 AM

    @macpooh,

    Thanks for the suggestion but the source code option presents a design that is visually unacceptable and the time that it would take for me to recode it just isn't worth it. 

    If you are having troubles with styles, we can help you fixed it. Try making a test page with source code embedded for us to check the styles and provide you the CSS codes needed.

    We would be better serviced to start over with our own form script that passes the form inputs to a php cart so customers can review their form inputs before submitting their order for payment.  This is a feature that JotForm does not offer and for our customized products, with so many options/variables, it's a major weakness in the service.  So if I have to mess around with your code, I should just do my own that will provide us with all the features we need. 

     Thanks for your feedback. That helps us to keep improving JotForm. Yes, we do not have such direct option yet but we have plans on improving our payment tools in the future. If you know your programming language well, you can use JotForm to display its data on thank you page using basic PHP and have it passed to your other forms or carts. Check this guide: How to Post Submission Data to Thank You Page

    We still have a small amount of time for JotForm to identify and resolve the issue before the site reaches the marketing stage.  If you can fix the bug in a reasonable amount of time, we will remain a client.  Otherwise, we'll do our own thing.

    We understand your frustration and your eagerness to have this resolved. The best way we can offer for now is to use your form's source code as mentioned by Mike.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by macpooh on January 25, 2013 at 10:47 AM
    I have created a php thank you page but that information is being displayed after the fact. If the customer has made an error, they will now have to contact us and we will have to make the necessary adjustments manually. It would save EVERYONE concerned TIME and effort if they were able to review and edit prior to purchase. Please don't misunderstand, I appreciate your suggestions and your offer to help adjust the css. However, it is not a matter of not being able to do it myself - it's a matter of TIME. I am using your service because it seemed to be a good product that would have saved time (and money). Now that I have seen the problems and weaknesses and have had to spend so much time addressing them, I may have made the wrong choice given our particular needs. If your developers had nothing else to do, they would have fixed the bug by now but I'm sure they have many others things to do - just like all of us. Just taking the time to
    go back and forth in these email is chewing up valuable time. I'm hopefully that the bug will be corrected soon and the payment options will be upgraded in the near future.
  • Profile Image

    Answered by moonzkie on January 25, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    Hi,

    We are again deeply sorry for the inconvenience. At the moment, there is no updated information yet from our dev team. They will update this post the soonest time that new update on progress are available. 

    I also sent a note to get an update on this ticket.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Founder

    Answered by aytekin on January 28, 2013 at 08:41 AM

    I have spent some time and couldn't find the reason. I think something in the CSS is causing the problem. 

    You need a rush solution. We can open a bug ticket but it will take some time for one of our developers to look into this issue. It will take more than a week. So, my suggestion is to not use Form Collapse feature at all. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by macpooh on January 28, 2013 at 09:51 AM

    I was told that this problem had been escalated to the developers more than two weeks ago. Is that the case or was that a bunch of B.S.? One of the primary reasons we were using JotForm was for the collapsing feature, otherwise, it's just a simple form. So if there is no viable collapsing feature, JotForm is useless to us. And, if I have been lied to about the bug being addressed by developers, we will be seeking a whole lot more than a refund. I could have been using this valuable time (2 weeks) for coding our own forms and cart.  We can wait another week or so if something is actually being done to fix the bug.  Please let me know ASAP.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonChris on January 28, 2013 at 11:40 AM

    @macpooh,

    We are very sorry to keep you waiting and we completely understand your eagerness to have this fixed. As per mentioned by Mr. Aytekin, it may take a week or so before this can be sorted out. Rest assured you'll be informed once it's completely fixed.

    We would like to extend our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

    Thank you for your patience.