Internet Explorer 7: Required Fields are Ignored Resulting to Empty Submissions

  • Profile Image
    Robert Nickmann
    Asked on February 15, 2013 at 12:23 PM

    Many of our customers use IE7 and submit empty or half empty forms. Changing all fields to "required" doesn´t work for IE7. Also exporting the source code of the form to an HTML file and paste some extra code in the header suggested by your suport staff liyam on December 31, 2011 at 

    doesn't work in IE7.

    This problem was raised in 2010, is not solved and still IS a problem. Why can't you fix it when it still bugs users? Why can't you add i.e. an additional checkbox in the attribute of the SUBMIT button letting me check/uncheck myself if the return key should be disabled - so i have a solution and you can still hang on to your philosophy of not "changing the browser behaviour".


  • Profile Image
    Answered on February 15, 2013 at 02:11 PM


    We are truly sorry for that matter. Our developers are working hard to fix everything but since everything comes with priorities, we can't assure anyone about changes rest assured that they are NOT resting to accomodate reports.

    As you know, IE7 is a little bit outdated. Most users are using the latest version of this browser and companies are also upgrading their system, it is the same as ours. But it doesn't mean that we do not look of the compatabilities, we always ensure that.

    How about embedding your form using the Iframe Method: How to get your Form's Iframe Code, please try that. If it still the same, please kindly tell us so we can forward this to our Level 2 Support/Developers for further advice and solutions.

    Thanks for your understanding.

  • Profile Image
    Robert Nickmann
    Answered on February 15, 2013 at 02:53 PM

    Dear Welivin,

    i just tried the suggested alternative and embedded the form with an iframe, but with the same result. Jotform still submits empty forms when pressing the RETURN key on IE7.

    Please be aware, that IE7 will be around for longer than you you might expect and this will cause you continous headaches since the upgrade cycle of business customers are much much slower. And that is where the money is. If you are only aiming a the "contact forms" business of consumer websites then fare well. This is a 0-9 USD/month business.

    But beeing able to submit empty orderforms disqualifies Jotforms entirely for eCommerce. Even data entry at the enterprise level is impossible, where you need data integrity. That is the area where your clients (and myself) would pay more than 49 USD/month. How do i know? We work for banks and insurances and those are the clients with Windows 2000 and IE7 as standard installations unwilling to upgrade. So there is your choice.

    Please let me know if there is chance to get a solution within the next 5 working days.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on February 15, 2013 at 03:21 PM

    Hi Robert,

    Apologize! Is there a way to add a additional codes or script in your web frontpage? Please try adding this codes just before the </title> tag of your website:

    <!-- if lt IE 7 -->

    <script src="//"></script>

    This codes will force the browser to behave like a standard browsers.

    Also, change your doctype declaration from <!DOCTYPE html> to:

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "">

    Furthermore, I have forwarded this to our Level 2 Support for further advice and solutions. We'll keep you posted as soon as we received updates.

    Thanks for your patience and understanding.

  • Profile Image
    Robert Nickmann
    Answered on February 15, 2013 at 04:04 PM


    thanks a lot, i gave it a try, but i get the same result. Jotform sends an empty form in IE7 when pressing the RETURN button.

    By the way: Jotforms is implemented on a 1-page-website done with Adobe Muse and an embedded form. Nothing fancy.

    If your 2nd level support wants to look under the hood:

    The form is not in use, so feel free to play with it.

    Kind regards, Robert

  • Profile Image
    Answered on February 15, 2013 at 04:29 PM

    Hi Robert,

    I am probably wrong with placing the IE Script. It should be place below the   tag of the webpage. Can you please edit it once more?

    Apologize! This will be the last one. 




  • Profile Image
    Answered on February 22, 2013 at 03:56 AM

    Hi Robert,

    Recently, we released bunch of compatibility fixes regarding IE 7 & IE 8. Can you please check again?

    Have a nice day.