Ticket Purchases Widget : allow simultaneous purchase on last available ticket

  • Profile Image
    AntoineCitizenkid
    Asked on July 17, 2019 at 06:26 AM

    Hello,

    I'm considering using Jotform for one of our use case at our company. We're using the Ticket Purchases Widget because we have limited stocks. Works fine except for one edge case: when there's only one ticket left, and multiple users try to grab it and submit the form simultaneously.

    I tested once with two simultaneous submissions. What happens is one of the two users gets the last ticket, while the other gets nothing. By nothing I mean it's as if the user didn't selected this ticket (although it's a required field). This is expected behavior for us up to this point.

    HOWEVER it shows the "Thank you" page to the user as if everything was OK (from the user point of view), and it sends the autoresponder email (with missing answer) as if everything was OK (from the user point of view). But it's not OK, as it effectively means for us it's a kind of invalid submission (missing answer of required field !).

    So I have 3 questions:

    1) Can you confirm that I didn't just "get lucky", and there's actually some kind of locking mechanism under the hood (or similar) to handle simultaneous submissions ? Our stocks are strictly limited, we cannot go over the available quota. I'm worried by https://www.jotform.com/answers/1003693-Ticket-Purchases-widget-does-not-keep-an-accurate-count-at-some-times

    2) Is there a way to automatically notify the user that he couldn't get the last ticket and needs to make another submission at the "thank you" page ? I tried to use a "IF <field> IS EMPTY" (see screenshot) to make a custom end message warning the user about the issue, but it doesn't work for our form because sometimes (based of the first radio button selected at the beginning of the form) the <field> is hidden or it's section skipped entirely, and the condition triggers (<field> is also empty in this case but it's fine).

    3) Is there a way to not send the autoresponder email, or a custom email notifying the user that he couldn't get the last ticket and needs to make another submission ?

    If we need to I'll detect those edge cases on the Google Sheet integration and send an email to the user using AppScript, but I'd like to avoid it if possible (costly in dev time + the user experience wouldn't be great).

    Thanks,

    Antoine.


  • Profile Image
    Richie_P
    Answered on July 17, 2019 at 08:48 AM

    I have tested the ticket purchase widget on my sample form and when I simultaneously purchased the single ticket the other form returned an error that the tickets run out.

    However, testing a cloned version of your form I was able to replicate the issue. It seems the Ticket purchase widget  is not working correctly in your form.

    I have escalated this issue to our back-end team for further investigation.

    They will contact you via this thread once updates are available.




  • Profile Image
    AntoineCitizenkid
    Answered on July 24, 2019 at 10:11 AM

    Hello,

    Thanks for the reply. In the meantime my boss just validated my proposal to use Jotform for this use case at my company (bronze plan to start).

    Our strict deadline for this project is mid-september. Is there any chance for this bug to fixed by the back-end team before our deadline ?

    Thanks,

    Antoine.

  • Profile Image
    Richie_P
    Answered on July 24, 2019 at 11:10 AM

    Unfortunately we cannot give an ETA when this issue will be fixed. However, the ticket has been assigned already to our developers and once updates are available you will be notified via this thread.

    The issue seems to be isolated to the form you have created. If possible, kindly try cloning your form and test if the issue still remains.

    Here is a guide on cloning the form:https://www.jotform.com/help/27-How-to-Clone-an-Existing-Form-from-Your-Account