Why are Hidden Fields Showing Up in Preview?

  • Profile Image
    ginnyc88
    Asked on September 13, 2019 at 11:56 AM

    Hello, can you tell me why all the hidden fields are showing up in the preview of this form:  https://form.jotform.com/92554180515153


    Note that this form is using data capture from this form:  https://form.jotform.com/92553608451156


  • Profile Image
    KrisLei
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 12:41 PM

    Hi,

    I checked your form and also cloned it to run a test on my end for the hidden fields but I'm unable to replicate the issue. 

    1568392763hidden fields.gif

    Please try to clear your browser's cache and form cache and try it again. 

    Let us know if the issue still persists.

  • Profile Image
    ginnyc88
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 01:07 PM

    I cleared my cache and it's still happening.  If you populate the form by populating this form - https://form.jotform.com/92553608451156 - that's when the hidden fields appear.



  • Profile Image
    KrisLei
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 02:12 PM

    Hi,

    I cloned the two forms and I was able to replicate the issue but I noticed that the hidden fields that have show/hide conditions are showing on preview mode. Kindly try to disable all the  Hide/Show conditions because it overrides the properties of the hidden fields. 

     1568398218hidden fields4.gif

    Let us know if you if the issue still persists.

  • Profile Image
    ginnyc88
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 03:20 PM

    That did the trick, thank you very much!

    However, that seems to have created a new problem:  The "Annual Data Bridge Savings" is somehow being calculated incorrectly, and I cannot figure out why.  I've triple checked all the logic parameters.  

    If you do just like you did in the demo and type in 10 into "Total Number of Worksite Employees Served" on the first form and just select Dental in "What Insurance Products Do You Offer....", then you should get a total of $2959 in the "Annual Data Bridge Savings"  field in the second form.  The total is coming out to be much, much higher.

    Can you figure out what my be wrong with my calculations?

  • Profile Image
    KrisLei
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 04:07 PM

    Hello,

    I checked the first form (PrismHR Insurance Alliance ROI Calculator), and it seems that there are errors on all the conditions for a "Missing Field". Would you be able to identify the missing field? I think that causes the problem with the calculations.

    1568405156missing field.JPG


    We will wait for your response.

  • Profile Image
    ginnyc88
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 04:16 PM

    I disabled all those the conditions with the "missing field" error.  Those were left over from when these two forms were still all one.  I cleared my cache and tested, and the Data Bridge number is still calculating all wrong.  Could it be anything else?

  • Profile Image
    jonathan
    Answered on September 13, 2019 at 04:47 PM

    To avoid confusion, we will resolve the next issue on a separate thread here 

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/1963906-Data-being-calculated-incorrectly-on-calculation-form#0

    Thank you.