What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    How can I allow my users to review their data before submission?

    Asked by mjdeti2 on April 27, 2011 at 08:01 PM

    I have created a purchase form using jotform.  I w ould like to have the users fill in their information, hit submit and then be directed to a confirmation page with all the data before finally submitting the data.  Is this possible?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by NeilVicente on April 28, 2011 at 03:51 PM

    Hi,

    Unfortunately this is no way that this can be made possible with Jotform. I figured there might be some kind of workaround utilizing the custom url option of the Thank You page, edit links and HTTP POST data but it would definitely require custom PHP programming.

    Your idea sounds good though, so I have added this to our feature requests list. Thank you for your suggestion.

    Regards,
    Neil

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ARAG on June 27, 2011 at 03:08 PM

    Yes, cool feature. Was just looking for this! I'll wait.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by despto on September 26, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    Yes, please! I use JotForm for an online grant application process, and our applicants are VERY much asking for a way to review the entire, multi-page form before they send it off. They are applying for substantial amounts of money & want to be certain they haven't forgotten something because it can affect how they are judged by the grant review committee.

    I would love one of two things:

    1) Be able to save as you go, so users can stop mid-application and go back to another page to doublecheck something, or else a log-in/log-out way to be able to stop mid-application and return to it at another time.

    OR, at the very least,

    2) A summary of the entire form as it will appear to us when submitted that they are able to review before hitting submit, so they can check for errors, etc.

     

    Thanks!! Love this service!

    Sarah

  • Profile Image

    Answered by brx250 on September 28, 2011 at 04:49 PM

     

    Hi There,

    As Neil has mentioned, this has been already added to out feature request list. Hopefully, our developers will be able to look into this in the near future as we do have a long line of requests to go through. Rest assured, we are working round the clock to deliver new updates and functionality to Jotform.

    Thank you for using Jotform!

    ________________________________________________________
     

    Albert | JotForm Support

  • Profile Image

    Answered by brx250 on September 28, 2011 at 05:23 PM

    I've looked into it further and I located a guide that might be useful.

    Here is what to do:

    1. Copy this code to your clipboard
    2. Load the form into the form builder, click the Preview button and note the string of digits at the end of the form's URL and close the preview window
    3. While on the Setup & Embed tab, click the Thank You button, select Thank You message and click "Next"
    4. When the "Thank You message" window pops up, click the Edit HTML Source button to load the HTML Source EditorImmediately before the closing DIV, paste the code you copied in Step 1 and change the form ID it contains (where it states "formID=12345678901") to what you would have noted in Step 2. In other words, substitute your form's ID for 12345678901. You will also need to change http://www.example.com to the address of an actual "Thank You" page on your web site
    5. Click Update to close the HTML Source Editor and then click Finish to close the Thank You Page Wizard
    6. Save the form and then click Email Alerts and if the default notification still exists and its Compose Emailsection still has its original content, copy that content to your clipboard (click anywhere inside the Questions and Answers table, hit [Ctrl+A] to select all of it and then [Ctrl+C] to copy it), close the notification window and proceed directly to Step 8. Otherwise, go to step 7.
    7. Create a new notification, go to the Compose Email section (Setup & Embed > Email Alerts > Add New Email > Next > Next), copy the the content to your clipboard and close the notification window. (There's no need to save the notification. The purpose was just to copy the contents generated by the email wizard)
    8. Re-open the Thank You message, click to the right of the sentence that states: "Your submission has been received." to move the insertion point (the prompt) to that position and then paste what was copied to the clipboard, click "Finish" and save the form
    9. The process is essentially finished however you can now replace the default "Thank You! Your submission has been received." with something like Thanks {Name}. Please review your entries and if you see any errors, click the 'Edit Entries' button. Otherwise, just complete the submission.
    That's about it. To see the confirmation process in action, complete and submit this form. You may clone it if you wish.
    Tags to display uploaded images are explained by Serkan (one of our developers) in this forum thread. (Incidentally, such tags don't work with multi-upload buttons.)
    An explanation of how the headers from the postal address were removed from the confirmation page of the sample form can be found here.

     

    Try This out and see if it fits.

    _______________________________________________________
     

    Albert | JotForm Support

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cristiant on October 25, 2011 at 06:55 PM

    Cool, but when you edit the form and submit it, it's emailing me twice?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_T on October 25, 2011 at 06:58 PM

    This is how it works at this time. We hope to implement more advanced edit feature in the future.

    Thank you for using our services.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by gnomon on May 20, 2012 at 05:13 PM

    Just +1-ing this request!  :)

  • Profile Image

    Answered by aninfinitemind on May 20, 2012 at 10:40 PM

    I also think this is a great idea!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by idarktech on May 21, 2012 at 02:48 AM

    Thanks for the heads up!

    Sorry as we do not have any updates about this. But, we'll keep you posted if there's any improvement news about this request.

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by alicchen on February 14, 2013 at 07:14 PM

    Any other updates on whether this has been implemented in amore user-friendly way yet?

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Wtfuck on February 14, 2013 at 07:29 PM

    Hey !

    Did you check this ? Here

  • Profile Image

    Answered by alicchen on February 14, 2013 at 07:54 PM

    While that works, it's not a very clean solution. You end up getting multiple e-mail confirmations when someone edits and resubmits the form. I was hoping for something that would be implimented directly into the JotForm Builder.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jeanettebmz on February 14, 2013 at 09:41 PM

    @alicchen

    Actually , this is a very old thread.

    We currently have a new feature that allows the users to edit submissions at a later date

    On long forms, you can even allow your users to  Save and Continue later 

    Both methods will not send you multiple email confirmations

    Please check those guides out and let us know in a new thread if this is what you were looking for

    Cheers!