Certificate error: HTTP error 500 when submitting form on Chrome (Mac)

  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Asked on June 06, 2020 at 03:59 PM

    One of my clients can not submit one of my  forms. He tried many times, since June 4th 2020, always getting the same error 500. 

    This seems to be a problem in the server side. The computer of the client seems to be updated

    MackBook Pro

     
    OS X El Capitan
    Google Chrome
    Versão 83.0.4103.97   64 bits
     
     
    Screenshot
  • Profile Image
    Vanessa_T
    Answered on June 06, 2020 at 08:47 PM

    I cloned your form and filled it out with Google Chrome on Macbook Pro and was able to submit successfully.

    159149064400470.jpg

    159149065500469.jpg

    Is your form embedded somewhere? If yes, please share the exact URL.

    It could be that the customer have some sort of firewall or antivirus that prevents them from submitting. It may also be from the browser or caused by the internet service provider.

    Can you please try to ask the customer if they can use another ISP, computer or browser?

    Please also have them send a screenshot of the console logs.

    How-to-get-a-console-report-from-most-common-browsers

  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 07, 2020 at 08:50 PM

    I talked with the client. It is a certificate issue. In Chrome (Mac) he is able to see and fill out the form, but once he pushed the submit button he gets the error 500 message and an exclamation point appears instead the the usual padlock icon saying the site is not trustful.


    On Safari  the form did not load and the certificate issue appears in the padlock icon (see  image, in portuguese). So he can not even fill out the form.


    I send to him a test jotform  form with almost nothing. He tried to submit it in chrome and he as sucessful. He tried on Safari and this simple form took much longer to load but he was able to submit in the end.


    I wonder if the issue is related with one of the many widget I used in my complex form?

    I also notice in the news that Safari soon won’t accept HTTPS certificates longer than 13 months (yours is longer than 13 months), but it seems that will strt only in september...


    1591577333Screenshot 2020-06-07 21.05.08

  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 07, 2020 at 09:27 PM

    I wonder if it is related with this problem in Sectigo certificates


    https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2020/06/02/the-mystery-of-the-expiring-sectigo-web-certificate/



  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 03:43 AM

    Hi Daniel - Thanks for the detailed explanation.

    Let me forward this to our developers to give us a better understanding of the certificate issues. They will be reaching out to you soon.

  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 04:29 AM

    Thanks for your patience.

    We received feedback from our developers that they cannot replicate the issue.

    Here's the result when they submitted to your form.

    1591604684cerrrs.png

    We would like to confirm, were you able to see the same error on your machine or only on your clients'? Also if possible, kindly provide us the network dump logs (HAR file) after the form was submitted.

    Guides:

    How-to-get-a-console-report-from-most-common-browsers 

    Generating-a-HAR-file-for-troubleshooting 

    Appreciate your cooperation.


  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 06:57 AM

    The issue occurs only in my client machine. 

  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 08:54 AM

    Thanks for the confirmation. Unfortunately, we cannot proceed with the investigation without the requested HAR file as the issue is happening on a specific device.

    If it's not possible for your client to gather the logs, you may instead ask him to use a different browser on filling out your form moving forward.

  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 06:37 PM

    I was able to get the data of my client and I tried to submit the form in my machine. I got a error 500 again. The only think I found strange  in his data/files is that he tried to upload a 7MB PDF file with a very long name (146 characters, with spaces, tilda a, capital letters):


    "AS CONTRIBUIÇÕES DO ENSINO DESENVOLVIMENTAL DE DAVYDOV PARA O ENSINO DE GEOMETRIA EUCLIDIANA NO CURSO DE LICENCIATURA EM MATEMÁTICA_Dissertacao.pdf"


    I tried with another large PDF  file (12MB) with the same very long name and I got a error. See HAR file 


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/npc6o4w7x7ypqxx/submit-jotform-com.har?dl=0

  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 09:12 PM

    Thanks for the additional information and for providing the requested HAR file. I have forwarded the logs to our developer to look into.

    Meanwhile, you mentioned that you're now able to replicate the issue on your machine, could you please confirm if you also used Mac and Chrome Browser or a different one?


  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 09:39 PM

    >Meanwhile, you mentioned that you're now able to replicate the issue on your machine, could you please >confirm if you also used Mac and Chrome Browser or a different one?


    Mac Os Catalina 10.15.5

    Chrome Version 83.0.4103.61 (Official Build) (64-bit)


  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 08, 2020 at 10:48 PM

    Thanks for confirming. I have added the information to the escalated ticket. We'll notify you here again once we have any news.

  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 09, 2020 at 08:49 AM

    Hi again - We've cloned your form, uploaded a PDF file that's named exactly with the long name you previously share but still wasn't able to replicate the issue.

    Would it be possible for you to create a short video clip while you're filling out your form? This is for us to shadow the exact step by step you did when you encounter the error.

    You can use Loom, Screencast, or any 3rd-party app that offers FREE screen video recording.

    We appreciate your cooperation and we'll be waiting for your reply.


  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 09, 2020 at 03:33 PM
  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 09, 2020 at 06:33 PM

    Thanks for providing the requested video. I have forwarded the same to the assigned for further investigation.

  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 10, 2020 at 03:39 AM

    Thank you for your patience.

    We have investigated and the problem occurs on the jotformz.com domain with special characters in the filename including .

    Here are the scenarios where we're able to submit successfully to the form.

    1. Used https://jotform.com/92446432599670 and used the same file name with special characters.

    2. Used https://jotformz.com/92446432599670 with a renamed file.

    Our developers are still looking into this. Meantime, could you please try the above scenarios if it works on your end as well?

    Looking forward to your response.

  • Profile Image
    daniel.smania
    Answered on June 10, 2020 at 08:14 AM

    >Our developers are still looking into this. Meantime, could you please try the above scenarios if it works on >your end as well?


    I tried the two scenarios. I got a error in the first one, and changing the name to another one without special character worked, with a successful submission.

  • Profile Image
    Sonnyfer
    Answered on June 10, 2020 at 10:12 PM

    Thanks for your cooperation. I have informed the assigned developer of your results. We'll reach out to you again once we have any news.