What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Tool request: Preview Form Input

    Asked by ronaldhutasuhut on December 27, 2013 at 09:06 PM

    Merry Christmas!

    I would like to request a tool that let user who filled my form to preview data that they will send to me.

    The data I mean is preety much like what I set up on the Email Alerts.

    I don't know much about scripting but I think it's like using "echo" function on the .php file to show users what they typed in a form. 

    If there already a way to do this, please let know how to let user preview their input.

     

    Thank you very much!

    Ronald

    preview form preview tool email email alerts
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on December 28, 2013 at 02:31 AM

    Hi Ronald,

    Happy holidays!

    We have a workaround for that, check this tutorial: http://www.jotform.com/help/98-Confirmation-Page-Tricks

    Let us know if you need further assistance or if you come across any issues with this guide. Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ronaldhutasuhut on December 31, 2013 at 06:20 AM

    Hello Cris, Thanks for the tutorial. Unfortunately, it's not something I can use for my purpose.

    The problem is user preview their input After the data sent. What I would to have is a button to preview user's data before they submit anything to me; I would receive too much notification if the user keep typing wrong input on the form. I think it happens because the form action with its exciting url (as shown on the source page) or its Class. The first submit button leads to Thank You page and Send the data in the same time. 

    I have tried something with Jotform. When I create a new html button that linked to my own handler php for the preview purpose, it still follow command from Jotform; the preview button showed the preview but I don't think it's from my handler, I guess it's a preview 'action' from jotform handler. Also, the preview button submitted the data: http://form.jotform.co/form/33638540617861

    I've just created an example for what I need (this was made outside Jotform and with my own handler php, would Jotform do something to make the system like this?: https://googledrive.com/host/0ByP6Hlj8gzvicnA4b0J6MEdiVzQ/myForm.html

     

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ardy0689 on December 31, 2013 at 12:00 PM

    Thanks for giving us further information. Yes, you are correct on that. It needs the data to be submitted before the Confirmation Page Trick takes effect. You may try to create a custom Javascript to fetch all form values and call a new tab or popup window to another form you have made

    Please see demo form here. Let us know if this approach suits your requirements. Thank you

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ronaldhutasuhut on January 02, 2014 at 08:19 AM

    Yes, that's more like it, thanks! How do I insert js into my form?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Founder

    Answered by aytekin on January 02, 2014 at 09:18 AM

    If you look at the URL of the "demo form" and the source code of the page you will see that he copied the full form source code to his site. So, if you copy the code to your web site you can change it as you wish. You can add javascript there. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ronaldhutasuhut on January 02, 2014 at 10:24 PM

    Oh I see! many thanks. According to the last tips (if I get it correctly), I should be able to work with it if I just make a form with Jotform, copy the page source and modify the code? Is that allowed based on the Jotform terms

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ardy0689 on January 03, 2014 at 08:33 AM

    @ronaldhutasuhut yes it is fine for you to copy the page source and it will not violate our Terms. In fact,  we offer our users to embed the form using the form source code either by copying the generated embed source code or by downloading the files. Then you can host them on your own server and modify the code and add your own scripts.

    If you are curious about the custom script I made here it is on this Pastie bin link http://pastiebin.com/52c6bbb621920 in which you can add on the source code. Please do let us know if you need further assistance. Thank you