What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    When I preview the form the capture is there, but when I embed the code

    Asked by Joanover on March 04, 2014 at 03:52 AM

    When I preview the form the capture is there, but when I embed the code into my web site the form comes up without the capture



    This is a re-post of a comment on Which form embed code should I use?

    preview web site site
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on March 04, 2014 at 04:22 AM

    Hi,

    We can provide a more appropriate suggestion if you can share to us the URL of your website where we can see the form.

    You can also try first re-embedding the form using iframe code embed if you haven't done so yet. Check if this resolve the issue.

     

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Joanover on March 04, 2014 at 10:30 PM
    Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately my URL wouldn't be any use to
    you at ptesent as I am still building the website. As I am using iWeb I
    used the special iWeb embed button because I read the instructions to
    use the special buttons for particular software used. It actually shows
    the words 'type the characters you see here' but doesn't show the box
    with them in, or the one for typing in. Should I try iframe even though
    I am using iWeb?
    Joan
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on March 05, 2014 at 01:09 AM

    Hi Joan,

    Yes, you can try the iframe embed code first and check if it does resolved the problem.

    Guide: Getting-the-Form-iFrame-Code

    Please let us know how it goes afterwards. Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Joanover on March 05, 2014 at 06:30 AM
    Thanks for the suggestion, but it didn't work either. I got part of the
    captcha but not displayed properly, and no box the type the answer in.
    Joan
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by pinoytech on March 05, 2014 at 08:04 AM

    @Joanover

    I got part of the captcha but not displayed properly, and no box the type the answer in.

    Do you mean bottom part of your form is being cut off? If so, try increasing height of your form's iFrame code to fix the issue.

    Please do update us for any progress.

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Joanover on March 05, 2014 at 04:20 PM
    No, the 'submit' which is below is still there
    Joan
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on March 05, 2014 at 05:47 PM

    Hi Joan,

    Are you using HTML Snippets? Can you check if there are settings for width and height? If this widget can be resize, please try to do so until you get the desired output.

    You can also refer to this guide: http://www.jotform.com/help/12-Adding-Form-to-an-iWeb-Page

    It is easier for us to diagnose this issue if we can view the form from where it is embedded on our browser. Visualizing it is sometimes difficult. Please provide a test page when you can. :)

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Joanover on March 06, 2014 at 04:10 AM
    It is now loading the captcha but not the 'submit' box. I have not been
    able to alter the height in the code. /How/ do you do so?
    Joan
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on March 06, 2014 at 06:08 AM

    Hello Joanover,

    Like my colleague have already mentioned that it will be easier for us to help you if we are able to see the web page where you have embedded your form. Checking your form with its direct URL will always show complete form and we will not be able to investigate your issue.

    Have you published your website yet? If not then please send a screenshot of the webpage for us to understand your issue. The following guide should help you upload image in your forum post:  http://www.jotform.com/answers/277033

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Joanover on March 06, 2014 at 04:00 PM
    I had been told the height of the iForm could be changed. All I was
    asking is HOW to do it, as I believe that will fix my problem.
    Joan
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_T on March 06, 2014 at 04:34 PM

    Try the following:

    1. Get your form iFrame code.

    2. Delete a script part (highlighted in yellow) that is following your iFrame.

    Example:

    <iframe id="JotFormIFrame" onload="window.parent.scrollTo(0,0)" allowtransparency="true" src="//form.jotformpro.com/form/40645748049967" frameborder="0" style="width:100%; height:465px; border:none;" scrolling="no"></iframe>

    <script type="text/javascript">window.handleIFrameMessage = function(e) {var args = e.data.split(":");var iframe = document.getElementById("JotFormIFrame");if (!iframe)return;switch (args[0]) {case "scrollIntoView":iframe.scrollIntoView();break;case "setHeight":iframe.style.height = args[1] + "px";break;}};if (window.addEventListener) {window.addEventListener("message", handleIFrameMessage, false);} else if (window.attachEvent) {window.attachEvent("onmessage", handleIFrameMessage);}</script>

    3. Play with a height parameter on your iFrame code.

    <iframe id="JotFormIFrame" onload="window.parent.scrollTo(0,0)" allowtransparency="true" src="//form.jotformpro.com/form/40645748049967" frameborder="0" style="width:100%; height:465px; border:none;" scrolling="no"></iframe>

    4. Use updated code on your web page.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Joanover on March 06, 2014 at 08:30 PM
    Thank you for reply, however there was no way I could get INTO the
    iFrame to edit it, so as I have no more time to fiddle, I have scrapped
    that form and gone for one without a captcha.
    Joan
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by Cesar on March 06, 2014 at 09:17 PM

    Thank you for the additional input, if you do decide to go any further do let us know where you left off. So that we may further assist you. 

    Thank you.