Calculation: Penalty field value is not added on the Registration Fee field

  • Profile Image
    Asked on June 04, 2014 at 09:53 PM

    Pulling my hair out!  Hope you can help find where my problem lies.

    I had created a single form containg general, membership, and registration information.  We decided we might want to divide into separated forms.  I thought that would be easy, since the work had been done.

    All that needs to be done is to...

         registration - discount + penalty = total registration

    then have it displayed in 2 places.  Total registration is a form calculation widget; the others, text boxes.

    The problem - Iit seems the penalty value isn't being added into the Registration Fee on the Complete the Process page.  It's correct on the Registration Information page (Total Registration).  Everything looks the same to me.  I'm obviously missing something. 

    I've tried 2 different ways of getting the value into the Complete the Process page field:

    1.  using the same formula as on the registration page (above)
    2.  simply adding the total registration field into the widget


    working form:

    problem form:


  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 05:48 AM


    When I check your form, it seems working properly according to what you want it to be.

    The penalty is added on the complete process page - Registration Fee field. See example below.

    Let me know if I have missed something here. Thanks!

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 11:25 AM

    Did you use the "problem" form listed above (  The other one I included on original post does work exactly like I want.

    I see that it's working great for you, but I'm still seeing the incorrect value - penalty not included. When the payment is made, it shows incorrect amount and so does the submission on JotForm.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 01:48 PM

    Hi Milbra,

    In addition with my colleague, I have tested your form and didn't get any problem with penalty value.

    See the picture-

    Note that, I have tested your form which one you pointed as problem ( formID=41545578899981) and got no problems.

    So, I recommended you to kindly ,

    - log out

    - clear your browser cache

    - log in agian.

    Better if you clear your form cache too.Please see the instructions-

    Please inform us if the problem persists.

    Thanks !

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 02:29 PM

    I did all you suggested and it still doesn't work properly. I even tried the form on another computer and it still doesn't work.

    I don't remember if it happened with this form or another, but my browser kept locking up while completing the form. It displayed an error message (which unfortunately I didn't write down) and asked if I wanted to continue or stop the script. When I clicked stop, another message soon popped up with a different script error. Seemed to be an infinite loop. I had to stop browser using task manager.

    Hope this helps.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 03:39 PM

    It works on my side. Can you please share with us a screenshot where we can see the wrong value? Also, what browser do you use?

    How to add screenshots/images to questions in support forum?

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 04:00 PM

    I use Firefox, but I did try the form on IE today also with the same results.


    sandbox shot

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 06:23 PM


    Thanks for providing us the screenshot.

    While we can't reproduce the problem here even when using Firefox.

    Can you give a short walk-through on how you managed to reproduce the problem? What options did you choose and filled on the first and second page? So far the penalty field is adding on the registration fee which is fine according to how you want it to work? This might give us clue on what conditions that aren't working accordingly.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 07:29 PM

    Everything is correct except the Complete the Process Registration Fee which $100 short.

    Here's what I entered:

    Membership Type = Tech Support  ($50 Membership Fee)

    Current Date = June 16, 2014   (any time after June 14th illicits a penalty)
    ($200 Registration)  -  ($0 Discount)  +  ($100 Penalty)  =  ($300 Total Registration)


    Membership Fee = $50
    Registration Fee = $200
    Total Amount to be Paid = $250


    Repeat using a date before June 15th and it's correct... that's why I assumed it has to do with the penalty.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 05, 2014 at 09:07 PM

    Just to let you know, I abandoned the problematic form and created a working form to do what's needed.  I don't want you to spend your time on my account, but I'm sure you'd like to know what the problem is for future reference.

    Thanks for all the help.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 06, 2014 at 12:16 AM

    Hello milbra,

    Thank you for the information.

    I am glad to know that the calculation feature in your new form works as expected.

    I did check your form #41545578899981 but like my colleagues, I am also unable to replicate the issue you are having.

    I have cloned your form and will take a closer look. I will get back to you if I see any issue there.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 14, 2014 at 11:24 PM

    Are you currently experiencing problems with calculations?

    I have a couple of forms that seemed to be working properly yesterday, but not today.

    The earlier problem has reappeared, but this time it seems to be associated with Discount, not Penalty.

    1st tried:  Registration Fee (total) = Registration     worked
    2nd tried: Registration Fee (total) = Discount          didn't worked
    3rd tried:  Registration Fee (total) = Penalty            worked

    4th tried:  Registration Fee (total) = Registration + Penalty          worked
    lastly tried:  Registration Fee (total) = Registration + Discount     didn't worked

    Hope we can get these forms to work soon. We need to start using PayPal (with Jotform) before the end of the month when our current payment system expires.




    Current problematic forms:  

    Registration (early) only from reg v3 06-13-14

    Registration (late) only from reg v3 06-13-14

    Both (early) only from reg v3 06-13-14

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 15, 2014 at 02:11 PM

    Hi Milbro,

    Accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

    I have checked those 3 forms and also tested them. You used several conditions on those forms, about 'discount' field you used the following conditions in form ID=41638331480957 -

    I have looked into those three form's 'discount' fields, it's working fine but I could reproduce the same problem as you in ' Calculation widget'. It's Ok how you added the fields. See the following picture-


    Probably for unfortunate glitch it's not working correctly. After checking your 3 forms I got that you have same problem in 'Calculation widget', not in 'discount' field. Take a look-

    I'm forwarding your thread to our back-end developer, as soon as possible they'll look into it.

    Shortly you'll be notified when they'll resolved your problems.

    Thanks for the patience.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 16, 2014 at 10:01 AM

    Sorry I did delete it... thought it had been cloned by you all.  (

    I have restored it. After retesting, it works!  Which brings up an even more troubling question I first brought up on my June 14th. My forms worked one day, but not the next. Could something be happening to cause it to work one time, but not another... can't image what.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.


    Here are the problematic forms from June 14th (I added one more):

    Registration (early) only from reg v3 06-13-14

    Registration (late) only from reg v3 06-13-14

    Both (early) only from reg v3 06-13-14

    Both (late) only from reg v3 06-13-14

  • Profile Image
    Answered on June 16, 2014 at 01:03 PM

    Thank you for the update about the one form that our developer was asking about. I've checked the original form myself, but like you said it seems to now be working even on my end. Now as for your other forms that you mentioned for June 14th I can't replicate the issue on my end, but I do understand how you stated it works one day and not another. I've gone ahead and updated the thread about this as I believe our developer was waiting to hear back from you again so that he could look into it some more as well possibly.