What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Problem with image, styling, widget in form with IE8

    Asked by fimep_srl on September 04, 2014 at 12:50 PM

    Hi, I've had a great assistance for a previous job on form by Jonathan and I'm very happy, but today I made site on-line and I've had many issues on IE8. Can you check it? The site is http://www.fimep.it/form-preventivo/

    Thanks

    Fimep srl

     

     

     

    Page URL:
    www.fimep.it

    Screenshot
    check site assistance ddSlick dropdown IE8 IE9 slick widget browser issue
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on September 04, 2014 at 02:45 PM

    Hi,

    I tried checking the form on the mentioned website using the URL http://www.fimep.it/form-preventivo/ but it was Offline at the moment.

     

    So I checked the form http://www.jotformeu.com/form/41900734049351 directly.

    I was able to see the problem when I test the form using IE8.

    BUT not on any other modern browsers(Chrome and Firefox browsers) and up to date version like IE9.

    Here are the screens during my test.

    In IE9 browser everything works just fine.

    In IE8 browser it has a script incompatibility conflict that is preventing the Form Tabs widget and ddSlick Dropdown widget from working.

    (see screen below)

     

     

    I did not encounter any issue testing the form on Chrome and Firefox browser (so, screenshot is not needed for them anymore)

    --

    To fix the issue, I highly recommend that you should no longer use the very obsolete browser IE8. You should at least at minimum be using IE9 version.

    IE8 is a very obsolete browser which is no longer at par with today's modern internet. It will probably cause you with more issue than benefits. 

    Please try suggesting to your users to use a much updated browser instead if they encounter issue using the older browser version.

    Just the same, I will submit a report to our next level support to see if they can still accommodate a fix or update on the ddSlick Dropdown Widget  to work on older IE8 browser.

    We will notify you for any status update when available.

    Hope this help. Inform us if there is more we can help you with

    Thanks!

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on September 05, 2014 at 01:43 AM

    Thanks very much, I'll wait if there's an update of this problem on widget.

    Fimep

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on September 09, 2014 at 04:32 AM

    Hi, please can you verify again the form on IE8 and give me a solution? I've the customer that has many third party customers that use IE8 and there're problems of visualization. I need to resolve the widget image issue, if you can tell me if there's some css code or javascript line to add on form source code.

    It's very important

    Fimep srl

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on September 09, 2014 at 09:03 AM

    Hello,

    My colleague have already created a bug report and forwarded it to our back end team. Upon chekcing the ticket status, I found that it is already assigned to one of our developer and marked as important. We will get back to you as soon as this issue is fixed.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by TitusN on September 11, 2014 at 07:17 AM

    Hello, 

    We apologize for the inconvenience caused. 

    We've made an update to the ddSlick Widget for Internet Explorer 8 compatibility. 

    The widget should now load normally and display the images as expected: 

    There are some related bugs found with page breaks and some widgets  that we are also currently fixing - so you might still experience some difficulty with the widgets loading on IE8 -  (Your form works fine in other browsers )

    We will let you know when a fix is applied - 

    Thank you for your patience. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on September 11, 2014 at 10:12 AM

    Hi, thanks for your patience, but the customer to whom I made site on line has many customers third parties that use IE8 with Windows xp...(I hope as web developer IE8 will die soon:))

    However, I checked page and form it's like before.. it doesn't work ddslick widget.

    I have to reload source code?

    I appreciate when you will give me some related news.

    Thanks very much and thanks again :)

    Fimep srl

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on September 11, 2014 at 11:23 AM

    Hello Fimep srl,

    Thank you for the information. Your message has reached my colleagues.

    We will get back to you as soon as we have any update form them.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by widgets on September 11, 2014 at 11:56 AM

    @fimep_srl

    Works fine when I tested it using IE8. As TitusN mentioned there are some other issues that we are currently fixing specially forms with page break. Now the current workaround I can advice is when you press next and you saw no widget. You have to press the back button and then next again.

    Let us know if that worked. Thank you for your cooperation.

    Regards

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on September 14, 2014 at 02:00 AM

    Hi Jonathan, I appreciate your patience but the problem started when I had to create the right form to the customer. I normally work with IE9 or IE10, but the customer has Win Xp and IE8. I think that all problems were born when the customer has viewed the form on IE8. (He paid the work I made because he never expected that could be any issues on IE8, and he was sure that new site should have worked fine in every browser from IE8 version to up)

    I didn't expect that form just didn't work on IE8 or it had many issues.  Now the problem is that the new site is off-line and I had to restore temporarily previous old site, so you can't see form on-line. Just you can check form on yours IE8 browser test.

    I tried to explain to the customer to use a different browser, but his many customers third-parties  use Windows XP yet. So I think the best solution is to fix the bugs. Not for me, but if jotform doesn't support IE8 it's better that you put an info on home page. I read other forum threads and many people had a lot of problem with IE8. I know that IE8 is full of issues but today there're a lot of people that use PC with Win XP and I can't force them to change it.

    I hope that you'll find a solution.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on September 19, 2014 at 11:09 AM

    Hi, have you some news about fix?

    Thanks very much

    Fimep srl

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on September 19, 2014 at 12:43 PM

    Hello Fimep srl,

    Unfortunately, we have not received any update form our back end team yet. We will get back to you as soon as we have any update form them.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on September 22, 2014 at 09:57 AM

    Hi, sorry if I write again, but the time is becoming very important.

    I'm risking to lose the customer and money cause I've his site offline by 10 days. I understand the difficulty but it's better you explain that the module form I created is not compatible with IE8.

    I agree for the fact that IE8 and Win XP are out of updating but there're million of customers that use it. Maybe an alert on some widgets are necessary that are not compatible with others or in a particulary CMS as Wordpress.

    I've created another similar module hoping it will be fine for the customer.

    Thanks for your patience and bets regards

    Giovanni

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by widgets on September 22, 2014 at 10:19 AM

    hi @fimep_srl we can't give you a timeframe really on when the bug will be fixed. There was really a problem with widgets under page break as of now. We already know what was causing this but we can't really tell if when its going to be okay. The widgets team will do their best to solve this problem right away.

    For now I have a work around for you that you might want to do it on the form. You need to remove the page break and make it as single page only. So that every time the form loads it loads all your content as one. Like this(http://form.jotformpro.com/form/42644239677970?) for example. I cloned your form and make it as a single page.

    Please let me know so that we can further assist you.

    Regards

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on October 10, 2014 at 03:10 PM

    Hi Support, after many troubles for this form I decided with the customer to change the structure. Now the form works but I need that you test it on Windows xp and with IE8. Can you tell me if it display correct because I think that one image (mazzetta) doesn't display.

    This is the form, but you need to test alone without support site cause is offline

    http://www.jotform.com//?formID=42591330415347

     

    Thanks very much

     

    Fimep_srl

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_T on October 10, 2014 at 04:20 PM

    The form looks good. I can see the image in IE8 on the Windows XP when testing this through http://www.browserstack.com/.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by widgets on October 11, 2014 at 07:57 AM

    Hi, as of today we've made changes to the widget server. We improved how widgets interact with the form page break. This might solve your problems regarding your forms with widgets and page breaks resulting to hidden or missing widgets when navigate to each pages. Please let us know if these changes reflects into your form otherwise report back so that we can further assist you.

    Thanks,
    Widget Team

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on October 14, 2014 at 04:11 AM

    Hi, thanks for your help.... now I resolved with the last form I sent you. However I've the last issue. How I can resolve problem script on IE8 (widget preview form).

     

    Thanks for help

    Fimep_srl

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by TitusN on October 14, 2014 at 05:02 AM

    Hello, 

    Kindly provide a link to the page you have on the screenshot so that we can examine it. 

    All the links provided earlier do not seem to work - including your original form: 

    1. http://www.fimep.it/form-preventivo/

    2. http://www.jotform.com/41900734049351

    We look forward to your response. 

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on October 14, 2014 at 06:05 AM

    Hi, I have site on local hosting and I can't provide to make online until the bug is resolved. You can alternative tell me if exist the method to see all form data in a next page wirhout preview.

    I wait for an answer.

    fimep srl

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by TitusN on October 14, 2014 at 06:17 AM

    Hello, 

    All our standard tests on the widget respond positively in regards to the widget's interaction with page breaks  - please check - http://form.jotformpro.com/form/42862330645959?

    If the site is on local hosting - then you might have issues loading remote content - but I understand your position. 

    Which of the forms in your Jotform account are you testing on local hosting? 

    We will take a copy and run all IE compatibility tests to try and identify possible issues. 

    Thanks. 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by TitusN on October 14, 2014 at 06:20 AM

    Sorry - forgot to add a Screenshot: 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on October 22, 2014 at 02:54 AM

    HI, I WRITE AFTER MANY, MANY, MANY SUGGESTIONS, BUGS, PROBLEMS WITH THIS FORM....

    I CHANGED MANY TIMES THE STRUCTURE, I HAD PROBLEMS WITH IE8, TRIED TO RESOLVE WITH A LOT OF THREADS, BUT NOW THE LAST SURPRISE WAS A CHANGING ON THE FORM YESTERDAY IN THE EVENING WHERE IN CHAT A SUPPORT MEMBER SUGGEST ME TO USE THE WIDGET CONFIGURABLE LIST NOT USING CONDITIONAL WIDGET DDSLICK. THIS WIDGET DOESN'T WORK INSIDE WORDPRESS PAGE.  NO EMBED AND SOURCE CODE WORKS....!!!!!!!!PLEASE HELP ME... I'VE TO DELIVER WORK TODAY!!!!!

    SITE: WWW.FIMEP.IT

     

    FIMEP_SRL

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on October 22, 2014 at 04:10 AM

    Hello fimep_srl,

    I'm sorry for the trouble caused to you.

    Please share the wordpress web page URL where you have embedded your form and we will take a look. I did check your web site "http://www.fimep.it/" and it says that "SITE UNDER CONSTRUCTION ".

    We will wait for your response.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by widgets on October 22, 2014 at 04:19 AM

    @fimep_srl,

    Hello, sorry for the inconvenience. Be specific on what problem you are referring to. Because we don't know what was really the problem with your form. Since you told us that you changed the form structure. What are the new problems you encountered? can you list them? I only saw 2 types of widget on your form. Ddslick widget and the tabs widget.

    Also if you can give us a sample page of your site where your form is embedded that would be great. We can make a conclusion if there was a problem with the standalone form or the embedded form.

    Looking forward,
    Thanks

  • Profile Image

    Answered by fimep_srl on October 22, 2014 at 12:35 PM

    Hi support, after many troubles, this morning I resolved the issue. Sorry for the last message but I think that for the best useful of you great structure form it should be better that your developers test the widget before getting out. For example I had a lot of troubles with configurable list that is invisible with IE8 and into wordpress structure (when I embed form with source code).

    However now what I need is the last help :) on http://www.fimep.it/preventivo I had to add the preview before submit widget but it doesn't work with IE8. Please notice that inside the form there's a pastebin (see previous threads) code that is external from source code, so I have to insert form into wordpress "ONLY" with source code.

    I appreciate a fast help please.

     

    Fimep_srl