What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Upload field is not working on Android phone

    Asked by B1ggu5 on October 09, 2014 at 06:25 PM

    Hi,

    In my form i have placed 3 file upload elements. They work fine from a desktop pc and an iOs mobile device. Bu i get an error on android phones saying that the file has no extension  (.jpg, .png etc) even though the selected images have.

    How can i stop this happening?

     

    Thank you for your help

     

    Richard

    Page URL:
    www.3sq.gallery

    upload images Mobile Android jpg pc
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on October 10, 2014 at 12:35 AM

    Hello Richard,

    I'm sorry for the trouble caused to you.

    It seems you have two similar form in your account "Mobile Site Order Form" and "Desktop Site Order Form". Please let us know with which form you are having this issue with?

    I did check both of your forma and did not find any issue with that. They should be accepting the file extensions which you have manually allowed. Have you embedded this form in your web page? Please share the web page URL and we will take a look. I did try to check the website "www.3sq.gallery" but could not located the embedded form.

    We will wait for your response.

    Please be noted that we advice to use your form's iFrame embed code for mobile device. If you have not used your form's iFrame embed code in your web page, please re-embed it again using iFrame embed code. The following guide should help you:  http://www.jotform.com/help/148-Getting-the-Form-iFrame-Code 

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 10, 2014 at 09:29 AM

    Thank you so much for the speedy response.

    The correct page URL is http://www.3sq.gallery/phone/order-form.html

    I am current using Adobe Muse and inserting the html code directly in the page. I will attempt to use the iFrame code this evening. so fingers crossed!

    Cheers  

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on October 10, 2014 at 09:34 AM

    Please contact us again anytime for the results or if there are further issue.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 11, 2014 at 07:46 AM

    Just tried the iframe embed code, but i still get the error - File has no extension file type (e.g. .txt, .png, .jpeg)

    Can i have this changed so the uploaded file do not need an extension.

    Cheers

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Shadae on October 11, 2014 at 09:58 AM

    Hi B1ggu5,

    I do apologize that you are still experiencing this issue after re-embedding your form.

    You can disable the "Validate Image" from the upload field. Once that is done however, persons will be able to upload any type of files, not only images.

    To remove the file extension:

    1. Click on the field in your form builder

    2. Click on the gear icon

    3. Select "Show Properties"

    4. Select "Disable" in the Validate Image option.

    I hope this helps! Please inform us if you need further assistance.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 11, 2014 at 04:22 PM

    I have made the suggested change but to no avail.

    What am i doing wrong. As i said this is only an issue on my Android phone. It work fine on an iPhone.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on October 11, 2014 at 06:09 PM

    Hi,

    I was able to reproduce the issue.

    When I made a test on Android phone browser using simulator, the Upload field is not interactive.

     

    But I think it fails only to certain version Android. Particularly it does not work with the newer version.

    I made a test on lower Samsung S3 device, and I get the upload field to react

    You can also try using other Android phone just to see if it will work or not.

    I will elevate this to our higher team support so that they can properly investigate also. 

    We will notify you for any status update when available.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on October 11, 2014 at 06:11 PM

    I apologize that my previous response have garbled text. I have corrected them.

    Please tell us if you did not get the message properly.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 13, 2014 at 03:50 AM

    I was expected to launch this website on the 11th October. And this is the only issue preventing me doing so.

    Your help in this issue is much appreciated but could we have a speedy resolution or work round for this please.

    Thanks

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on October 13, 2014 at 06:36 AM

    Hi,

    I have already submitted a bug ticket about the issue. 

    We will just have to wait for update from the higher team support.

    But have you also tried it on other Android device browser? From my previous investigation, I have mentioned that I was able to see it work when I used an older version of Android device. 

    I can confirm that the issue is not consistent across all version of Android. It seems to fail only on latest version.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 13, 2014 at 07:18 AM

    I haven't tried on any other Android device as this will be almost irrelevant. I trust you when you say it works, but I need this to work on all versions of the OS and not just the older ones.

    I am sure you can appreciate that this will limit my potential customer base quite significantly and I am unwilling to launch this site with a known issue of this magnitude.

    Is there anyway we could figure out a work around such a file upload not check for any file extensions? So my site can be launched and running and then focus on resolving this issue in the correct manner.

    Thanks

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on October 13, 2014 at 10:18 AM

    Hello B1ggu5,

    I did test your form on an android device (Nexus 5) and the file upload field seems to work fine. Can you please tell me with which file extension you are having this issue?

    Is there anyway we could figure out a work around such a file upload not check for any file extensions?

    Unfortunately, it is not possible to upload any file with any extension. In other words, file cannot be uploaded that has an empty MIME type. Please let us know with which file extension you are having this issue and we will take a look.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 14, 2014 at 05:22 PM

    The main file extension will be .jpg and variants on the this.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Shadae on October 14, 2014 at 06:37 PM

    Hi B1ggu5,

    Thank you for that information.  This issue has been passed on to our development team. Any updates regarding this issue with be posted to this thread.

    Can you please confirm if the current file that you are doing the test with is a jpg file? Have you tested the upload using any other file extension?

    We await your response.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by NeilVicente on October 15, 2014 at 03:03 AM

    @B1ggu5

    You can allow your form to accept any file extension by entering an asterisk in the Allowed File Types option

    As for your issue, I have tried to recreate the problem you have described but to no avail.

    1. Do you get the error after clicking the submit button?

    2. Is the image from your phone's gallery? Can you please check your file's details and confirm that the files have a file type (i.e., JPEG, PNG)?

    There was a patch recently applied by our colleague - the effect of which is to prevent upload of files without extensions. This was implemented to prevent a server issue with files without extensions.

    It is highly likely that the file you are trying to upload does not have an extension. If otherwise, would you mind sending me the file so I can test and find out what's causing the issue.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by NeilVicente on October 15, 2014 at 03:07 AM

    Btw, you can send the files to neil@jotform.com.

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by B1ggu5 on October 15, 2014 at 04:59 PM

    Hi Neil,

    Thank you for your help, sadly putting * in the extension field doesn't change the outcome.

    I have sent you and email with a screen shot of the error message and one of the images that i am trying to send.

    The mobile device that is causing the problem is running Android Version 4.4.3

    Cheers

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on October 15, 2014 at 06:02 PM

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time updating us on this.

    The bug ticket I submitted is still open and also assigned already to our developer.

    They will notify us on this thread for any status update when available.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by NeilVicente on October 16, 2014 at 05:14 AM

    @B1ggu5

    Thank you for your help, sadly putting * in the extension field doesn't change the outcome.

    The asterisk is for allowing any type of file extension. To me it really seems that your files do not have an extension. Did you check the file type or extension from the image details, as I have suggested?

    For reference, here's how the file name should look:

     

    I have sent you and email with a screen shot of the error message and one of the images that i am trying to send.

    I was not able to receive your email at neil@jotform.com. Can you please resend the email to neil@neilacero.com

    And one more thing, may I ask where exactly did the images come from? Were they taken straight from the device's camera?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by NeilVicente on October 16, 2014 at 08:10 AM

    Update:

    I was finally able to recreate the issue. It seems that it occurs when you select a file through an app, such as Google Drive, Dropbox, etc. - the file does not return a file name when selected this way.

    When the file is selected via Gallery, it works just as intended.

     

    My tests also tell us that the problem is inherent to Chrome and the native Android browser. On Firefox, it works perfectly fine whichever way the file was selected.

    Notice how the file name was changed by Firefox.

    With that said, unfortunately, the issue can only be resolved by Google. We shall be submitting a bug report to the Google Forums for this. 

    For now, the best workaround for this problem is to ask your users to select the files from their phone's gallery, or to use Firefox instead.