What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    File Uploader: image preview, display, multiple files and widgets

    Asked by wemakeprints on October 14, 2014 at 05:33 PM

    Something like http://www.dropzonejs.com/ would be awesome. There's not a single form builder out there that does multi-file uploads, with a progress bar, and displays image previews, and works well on mobile devices... You'd think someone would have done that by now...

    plans Form Builder uploads single form progress bar multi file image preview responsive file uploader
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on October 14, 2014 at 07:23 PM

    Hi,

    If I may I suggest, you can use the Drag and Drop Upload widget. You can find it here, http://widgets.jotform.com/widget/drag_and_drop_upload.

    This will let you upload multiple files and it will also display a preview. It doesn't have a live progress bar but shows that the file is in the process of uploading.

    You can follow the screenshot below for a guide.

    1. Use the search bar for the "Drag and Drop" widget. Customize the widget with what file types to allow and the maximum file size. 

    2. This will display like this on the form.

     

    3. From the live form, you can drag and drop multiple files, images will be displayed for preview and a confirmation below shows if the file is successfully uploaded.

     

    Let us know if this helps.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by wemakeprints on October 14, 2014 at 08:37 PM

    neat, but is there a way to let users select files, not drag and drop? Also does not appear mobile responsive.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on October 15, 2014 at 03:54 AM

    Hello wemakeprints,

    Well there are other widget options available as well where user can select file which they want to upload.

    Ink File Picker

    Image Upload Preview

    Single Image Preview

    Do check them and see if that helps you.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by wemakeprints on October 15, 2014 at 03:57 AM
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on October 15, 2014 at 08:19 AM

    Hi wemakeprints,

    I've check the thread link you posted. We will inform you using that link when we receive an update regarding the issue.

    If you have other concerns, feel free to open a new thread on the forum, we'll be glad to help.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sudhir  on January 05, 2015 at 01:36 AM

    if someone upload image so where i can see the image 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on January 05, 2015 at 02:58 AM

    Hello Sudhir,

    There are multiple ways to see the uploaded files:

    1. You can go to your form's submission page and files uploaded will be displayed along with the submission record. The following guide should help you on how to check your form's submission:  http://www.jotform.com/help/269-How-to-view-Submissions 

    2. The uploaded files will also be displayed in the submission emails you receive after the form is submitted.

    3. If you have integrated your form with dropbox, google drive, FTP etc., a copy of the file uploaded will also be uploaded to the integrated folder.

    Hope this answers your query.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by slugdeath on May 18, 2015 at 04:01 PM

    I'm noticing that when I upload a file using the standard file uploader, it shows up in my dropbox fine. But when I use the image uploader preview (or the drag and drop file uploader), the files (images) don't show up. They are part of the pdf that shows up, but they aren't separate image files. Any suggestions?

    (I'm using the Chome OS on my Chromebook, if that matters)

  • Profile Image

    Answered by sharondavis on December 07, 2015 at 07:08 PM

    Can you set the file name of the uploaded files using data from the record? eg FirstnameSurnamePhoto.jpg?

    Or even the folder name that the file is saved into? 

    I want to import the images into a database and need consistent filenames so that it can be done automatically. 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on December 07, 2015 at 09:00 PM

    @ sharondavis

    We will resolve your concern separately here http://www.jotform.com/answers/719970

     

    Thanks.