What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Dynamic dropdown widget: 502 bad gateway error.

    Asked by premedia on November 02, 2014 at 09:13 PM

    we've recently had an issue in our forms where a condition is applied to fields. Now the field is showing an error 502 bad gateway.

    no-one has edited the form in any way. 

    Can you shed light on why this has happened please

    Page URL:
    http://form.jotformpro.com/form/42300666790959

    Screenshot
    bad gateway error
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on November 03, 2014 at 01:58 AM

    Hello premedia,

    I'm sorry for the trouble caused to you.

    I did check your form and I am able to replicate the issue you are having. The "Dynamic Dropdown" widget displays "502 Bad Gateway" error message. Did you make any changes recently in the content of the dynamic dropdown widget? Was it working fine earlier?

    The cause of this issue is the because of the length of the "Values" you have added in the dynamic dropdown widget. You seems you have more then 3000 character in the "Values" of dynamic dropdown options. Please be noted that the upper limit of content length is 2000 character. Please check the screenshot below:

    Please remove some of the options and that should solve your problem.

    Hope this helps.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by premedia on November 03, 2014 at 07:22 PM

    Hello Ashwin,

     

    yes this form has been working for a few months with no problem. No there hasnt been any changes to this dynamic dropdown list. Thats why I couldn't understand why its now an issue.

     

    I will try removing characters so we're below the limit and see if that fixes it 

     

    thanks

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support Manager

    Answered by Jeanette on November 03, 2014 at 10:07 PM

    This issue has been already escalated. In the meantime the only solution is what Ashwin actually recommended to you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ipenderg on November 07, 2014 at 04:12 PM

    I have the same problem on my form. I instead copied the content of the dynamic drop down and paste it into a new dynamic drop down. Seem to be working fine (at least for now).  
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on November 07, 2014 at 04:56 PM

    @ ipenderg 

    I created a separate thread about your post here http://www.jotform.com/answers/456039 so that we can properly attend to your concern.

    Thanks.