Dynamic dropdown widget: 502 bad gateway error.

  • Profile Image
    premedia
    Asked on November 02, 2014 at 09:13 PM

    we've recently had an issue in our forms where a condition is applied to fields. Now the field is showing an error 502 bad gateway.

    no-one has edited the form in any way. 

    Can you shed light on why this has happened please

  • Profile Image
    ashwin_d
    Answered on November 03, 2014 at 01:58 AM

    Hello premedia,

    I'm sorry for the trouble caused to you.

    I did check your form and I am able to replicate the issue you are having. The "Dynamic Dropdown" widget displays "502 Bad Gateway" error message. Did you make any changes recently in the content of the dynamic dropdown widget? Was it working fine earlier?

    The cause of this issue is the because of the length of the "Values" you have added in the dynamic dropdown widget. You seems you have more then 3000 character in the "Values" of dynamic dropdown options. Please be noted that the upper limit of content length is 2000 character. Please check the screenshot below:

    Please remove some of the options and that should solve your problem.

    Hope this helps.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    premedia
    Answered on November 03, 2014 at 07:22 PM

    Hello Ashwin,

     

    yes this form has been working for a few months with no problem. No there hasnt been any changes to this dynamic dropdown list. Thats why I couldn't understand why its now an issue.

     

    I will try removing characters so we're below the limit and see if that fixes it 

     

    thanks

  • Profile Image
    Jeanette
    Answered on November 03, 2014 at 10:07 PM

    This issue has been already escalated. In the meantime the only solution is what Ashwin actually recommended to you.

  • Profile Image
    ipenderg
    Answered on November 07, 2014 at 04:12 PM

    I have the same problem on my form. I instead copied the content of the dynamic drop down and paste it into a new dynamic drop down. Seem to be working fine (at least for now).  
  • Profile Image
    jonathan
    Answered on November 07, 2014 at 04:56 PM

    @ ipenderg 

    I created a separate thread about your post here http://www.jotform.com/answers/456039 so that we can properly attend to your concern.

    Thanks.