What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    [Auto Complete Widget] How to limit the answer to the options on the list only

    Asked by TerryGALA on November 27, 2014 at 02:00 PM

    I am using the Auto Complete Widget quite extensively in a form. How do I insure that the entry is a valid one, from the list of options only.

    It is possible when using the Auto Complete option to enter one or more letters, see all possible options that match, and then to forget to pick one.

     

    When this happens, the one or more letters that were entered become the final entry.

     

    I want to make sure that the final entry is a valid one from the list provided.

     

    Auto Complete Widget Limit Entry
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_T on November 27, 2014 at 03:49 PM

    Thank you for contacting us.

    You are right, the Auto Complete widget does accept custom answers. There is no option to limit the entry on that widget, so I have escalated a feature request to our Development Team.

    Unfortunately, I can not provide any ETA, but we will get back to you once we have any updates.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by TerryGALA on January 16, 2015 at 09:12 AM

    Any progress here???

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sean on January 16, 2015 at 10:11 AM

    Hello TerryGALA,

    Thank you for getting back to us re this issue. I did some checks on your request and I regret to say that the ticket is still open which means that there are still no updates on the feature you requested.

    Using the Drop Down Menu

    However, since you would like to limit user error and avoid customers from inputting information that is not a part of your options, I could suggest using a drop down menu instead of the auto complete field. You have absolute control over what the user selects and you can make it a required field to ensure that a selection is being made before submission. Can this work for you? I will await your response.




    Cheers!
    Sean

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by TerryGALA on February 17, 2015 at 02:36 PM

    For my particular application, the autocomplete widget is a god send.  Can't really go back to a drop down.  But it sure would be nice if the widget would only accept input from the list.  There is a tendency on the part of our data input people to forget to tap on the selected item from the autocomplete list.

     

    Terry

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sean on February 17, 2015 at 03:42 PM

    Thank you for the update. A feature request ticket was opened so our development team will be looking into it. As soon as there is an update is available re your request you will be updated via this thread. We will be in touch.


    Cheers!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by TerryGALA on April 06, 2015 at 01:39 PM

    I cannot begin to tell you how useful this simple little feature would be.  I should think that anybody using the Auto Complete Widget would like to have this ability as they do with drop down lists.

     

    Any hope?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on April 06, 2015 at 02:12 PM

    Feature request is still opened. As soon as there is an update we will inform you via this thread. We can not give you exact time frame when this feature will be implemented. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by TerryGALA on April 29, 2015 at 08:03 PM

    Any hope here?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on April 29, 2015 at 10:15 PM

    @TerryGALA 

    Unfortunately, there is no updates about this yet. I hate to say this but this feature request is set to low priority. Our team considers the number of users requesting a certain feature before they get on the top priority list. However, don't' get me wrong, this will eventually get into the top list.

    Despite of that, here are some of my recommendations that you might want to consider.

    Use Multiple Selection Widget, this is pretty similar to autocomplete which supports multiple selection and does not accept answers that are not on the list. Demo: http://form.jotformpro.com/form/43452693159967? (Check the additional options field)

    This widget is also good with search filter http://widgets.jotform.com/widget/dual_listbox

    Hope any of these still helps. Thank you so much!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by TerryGALA on March 12, 2016 at 08:35 AM

    Just thought I would check in to see if you might still be thinking about this particular feature.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Jan on March 12, 2016 at 09:55 AM

    Sorry to inform you but we still don't have any updates for this feature request. For the mean time you can try the widgets provided by Elton above like: Multiple Selection Widget or Dual Listbox Widget.

    Thank you.