What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Forms are running extremely slow and are jittery

    Asked by ICFforms on December 12, 2014 at 02:33 PM

    Hello,

    All of our forms appear to be running a bit slower than normal and seem to be very jittery.  I thought that this might only be because we have these embedded in our website.  When I test the forms through jotform and preview it, I am getting the same issues.  In most cases I have to close my browser and re-launch jotform.

     

    I have cleared our form cache and cleared my browsers history.  My other colleagues are seeing the same thing.

     

    Thank you,

    Emily - ICF

    and JotForm cache preview hello
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by david on December 12, 2014 at 03:56 PM

    Hi,

    Our major hosting provider, Cloudflare, was indeed reporting network congestion in a few areas today.  Namely their South African servers and their location Los Angeles. 

    https://www.cloudflarestatus.com/

    They have since implemented a fix and the slowdown should settle.

    Let us know if you continue to have problems with slow loading or jittery forms and we will be happy to have another look.  Though when I checked several of your forms they do appear to be working smoothly.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ICFforms on December 15, 2014 at 09:25 AM

    Hello,

    I logged in today to do some work in our submissions and several of the forms are running extremely slow still.  This is happening when you go in to edit a submission and I have received a complaint from an applicant who says that it is taking a while to work through the form.

     

    I am seeing it mostly from these forms:

     

    https://secure.jotformpro.com/form/42184893045964

    https://secure.jotformpro.com/form/30715229903957

     

    However, the submissions are taking a very long time to populate on most of our other forms. Once they do populate, if you go in and edit the submission, it doesn't appear to be running slow like the two forms above.

     

    Thank you,

    Emily - ICF

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on December 15, 2014 at 11:50 AM

    Hello Emily,

    I'm sorry for the trouble caused to you.

    I did test your form and I am able to replicate the issue you are having. The issue seems to be caused because of the "Auto Fill" settings you have enabled in your form. Please check the screenshot below:

     

    Since you have 434 fields and auto fill setting tries to save the field data every 4 second, that is the reason why your form is very slow. I would suggest you to disable the "Auto Fill" settings and that should solve your problem. If disabling the auto fill is not a possibility, then you should increase the "Auto Save" to at least "30 seconds" which will improve the performance a bit but the problem will persists. You will only be delaying it. Please check the screenshot below:

     

    Hope this helps.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ICFforms on December 15, 2014 at 11:56 AM

    Hello,

    That makes sense.  I believe that this has been enabled for a while now, is there any reason why this would be happening just in the past couple of days?

     

    I have changed it to 30 seconds.  Where this is a large form and there is no other way for applicants to work on their form and save it to continue at a later time, we need to have this enabled.

     

    Thank you,

    Emily - ICF

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by david on December 15, 2014 at 01:06 PM

    Having this feature enabled, in conjunction with the slowdown out hosting provider experienced, may have been enough to show a significant slowdown.  If setting your auto-save to a higher interval does not allow for your forms to work smoothly, let us know and we will be happy to see what else we can do.