What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    If we set uploads to go to DropBox, do files get stored to JotForm servers sa well?

    Asked by chriskates on February 19, 2015 at 06:45 PM

    Hello 

     

    I made a form to embed a dropbox upload option to my website.  It says I have used up the maximum amount of space.  But I don't understand why I need space from you guys if the files are just getting upload to my dropbox.  Are the uploads somehow taking up space on your servers?

     

    Thank you,

    Chris

    dropbox storage space uploads maximum maximum amount
  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ben on February 19, 2015 at 07:05 PM

    Hi Chris,

    Yes, that is correct, if you set your form to upload files to DropBox it will first have to upload the files to our servers, then copy them to any integrations that you might have - in your case DropBox.

    To resolve this there are two things that you can do:

    1. manually remove files from our servers by going into Submissions Panel and removing any submissions that have files attached.

    * Do note that once removed, we can not restore them for you, so if you would need the data or the files (or both), then you would need to make a backup of the same to your own PC / or alternative location before removing them.

    2. Using Auto Delete Submissions app.

    This app simply runs last after a submission is made and removes all traces of it from your account.

    * Do note that this will mean that you can not make a copy of them later on since they would be removed instantly (right after everything is passed along to all integrations).