What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    How can I get only the URL of the uploaded image when using the Image Upload Preview widget on the email notification I receive?

    Asked by pamelapar on June 25, 2015 at 04:09 PM

    Ok, this solved the problem with the form generating an error, but using that image preview uploader widget introduces another problem. 

    I've been sending a text email automatically when the image is submitted, and it used to contain the URL of the image that was uploaded, so it could be easily downloaded and used immediately. 

    With this new widget -- despite trying various things -- I haven't been able to get it to generate an email with the URL of the uploaded image. 

    Thoughts? Suggestions? Thanks! 

    URL Image Upload Preview
  • Profile Image

    Answered by raul on June 25, 2015 at 04:16 PM

    Are you referring to this form: http://www.jotform.us/form/51617253835154?

    If you want to provide only the URL of the uploaded picture on the widget please try to remove the IMG: part of the tag in the email notification.

    So, it will look like this.

    This should provide the URL of the uploaded file on the widget.

    Let us know if this helps.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by pamelapar on June 25, 2015 at 04:52 PM

    Ok, i have actually tried that as you suggested (previously) and it doesn't work properly. This may be complicated by the fact that the emails go into a ticketing system that strips the HTML. 

    But here is what they used to look like in the ticketing system BEFORE I had to change to the image upload preview widget instead of the file upload one (due to issue explored on other ticket). 

     

    And here is what it looks like now (same email set-up):

     

    Here's how we have the email set up (it says "email headshot to htmlreq" as the title of the email):

  • Profile Image

    Answered by pamelapar on June 25, 2015 at 04:53 PM

    Actually, correction, it's not the exact same email set up in that I added the one with the IMG because the other one wasn't working properly so I tried to hedge my bets by including both. Didn't work. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by raul on June 25, 2015 at 06:22 PM

    My apologies, you're right. The tag I provided doesn't work.

    I've tried different things and unfortunately I was unable to find a workaround to get only the URL of the uploaded file in the image upload preview widget.

    I'm sorry, but it seems like you'll need to use a regular upload field to achieve this.

    What we can do is to submit a feature request on your behalf to ask our development team to add this option to the widget. Let us know if you agree on this and we'll submit the request for you.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on June 26, 2015 at 12:21 AM

    The regular Upload field should work on the E-mail. When you add the Upload field in the form, you will be able to see it as an available field in the Notifier.

    Check this similar thread also 

    http://www.jotform.com/answers/499054-Upload-Link-Does-Not-Show-In-Email-Notification

    Let us know if you need further assistance on this.

    Thanks.

     

     

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by pamelapar on June 26, 2015 at 09:59 AM

    Check out this thread to see why I'm not able to use the regular upload field: 

    http://www.jotform.com/answers/586890-I-m-getting-a-upload-error-file-cannot-be-submitted-for-some-reason-when-my-form-is-submitted

     

    After getting the Image Upload Preview widget to work, I went back and tried the regular file upload field, yet it still generated the error I described in the thread above. 

    Anyway, if you could submit the feature request -- or figure out how I can use the regular file upload without generating an error -- I would appreciate it. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sammy on June 26, 2015 at 12:56 PM

    Hi, 

    Kindly try uploading using the regular file upload, the ticket that was raised as a result of the error had been marked as resolved, I have also cleared your account form cache.

    Kindly revert back with your results.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by pamelapar on June 26, 2015 at 02:13 PM

    I have already tried this before opening a ticket. I replaced the current image preview upload with the regular file upload, and began getting the same error message when I tested it. 

    Would clearing the account from cache make a difference? Should I try it again? 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sammy on June 26, 2015 at 03:12 PM

    Kindly try this one more time, I have tested on my end with a clone of you form and the submissions is going through including the image I'd like to confirm if it is the same for you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by pamelapar on June 26, 2015 at 04:02 PM

    Ok, I tried it -- I added a regular upload field and made the image preview one not required. 

    The result: 

    Perhaps it's working for you because your clone is on the JotForm "pro" domain rather than the one I'm using? That is what occurred before. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by pamelapar on June 26, 2015 at 04:20 PM

    I think you filled out the version of the form with the image upload preview rather than the new one because I'd hidden that field (in case someone actually went to fill it out). Perhaps you can try again now with the file upload field unhidden. 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kiran on June 26, 2015 at 06:42 PM

    As I check your JotForm while submitting, it seems that there is an issue with Google Drive integration on your JotForm which may be causing the upload issue. I've also tried cloning your JotForm to my other free account and was able to submit it normally along with Google drive integration. 

    Could you try removing the Google Drive integration and see if identify if it is causing the issue. You may reintegrate the Google Drive again once you are able to submit the form normally. 

    We will wait for your response. Thanks!