What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.
At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.
We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.
Google Spreadsheet not updatingAsked by lafhab2 on September 11, 2015 at 08:40 AM
I am becoming quite fed up with repeatedly broken google sheets integrations, ie uploads to google sheets stopping for no apparent reason. This is happening with multiple forms and sheets, and is not caused by editing the sheets (which I am aware can cause issues). Other posts confirm this is an ongoing issue, so Jotform must be aware of the re-occurence and frustration. This issue appears to be quite random and unpredictable, when it stops I am having no alternative but to cancel the integration and re-integrate to a new sheet, however this is frustrating because other sheets are connected so they then need updating also. We need to set up a 100% reliable method of logging submissions across multiple forms outside Jotform. One of the reasons for needing this is the wholly unreliable email notifications, they don't always come through. As a paying subscriber I am expecting more reliability and I want to spend less time going through submissions because integrations and emails don't work. Fancy form designers and exciting features are great but emphasis has to be put on RELIABILITY at the back end. Jotform please sort these issues out otherwise I have to start looking at alternatives, I'm sure we're not the only ones.
We are sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Do you see that the data is not importing to Google Spreadsheets or any of the data is missing from JotForm? If you can provide us with the form and share the spreadsheet if possible so that we can take a look and see where exactly going wrong with the integration. If necessary, we can also forward the issue to our backend team for resolution. If you notice the issue again with the integration, please let us know with the form ID so that we can test it further.
If you are having any issues related to email issues, we request you to go through the guide below that can help you in setting up email alerts to avoid issues like bouncing, etc.
The data is in Jotform but hasn't been exported to Google Sheets. An example is:
Also form http://form.jotformpro.com/form/43203979315962 recently stopped integrating and I had to cancel and re-integrate to a new sheet, it is currently working.
You will see that in Sheets the last entry was on 05/09/15, there have been 5 submissions since then, not uploaded to GSheets. The sheet hasn't been edited at all, so I don't know why it stopped working.
As for emails, I would say a couple of days a week notifications don't get through, and a few people completing them recently say they haven't received their autoresponder. Through posting such as 'emails not being sent/received' a search on your forums clearly indicates this is a common and frequent occurrence. And quite often these issues are intermittent, emails may not come for a day or so then start coming again, so it's hard to provide specifics for your backend team to investigate.
If you want an example of emails not being sent then form:
http://form.jotformeu.com/form/41603740032340 - submissions 104, 105 & 106 did not land in our inbox (or junk/trash), and all jotform domains are 'whitelisted.'
If we had just a handful of forms then it wouldn't be so bad, the bottom line is we have over 200 forms and we need to be reliably notified of all submissions because this is too many to manually search through. Beyond doubt emails cannot be relied upon, in the absence of reliable emails we need reliable integration, eg Google sheets. When either or both of these options prove unreliable then what value is this service? If this service was free then we couldn't really complain but it's not.
From our perspective, forget fancy features etc, Jotform needs to improve overall reliability.
Thanks for your reply.
First, I have split the other 2 issues (http://www.jotform.com/answers/661107 email issue and PDF issue http://www.jotform.com/answers/661106 ) on a separate thread so we can assist you sort out the Google Spreadsheet integration problem on this thread and to avoid jumping on different topics.
With regards to the Google Spreadsheet problem, the developer assigned to this is constantly updating and fixing all the issues reported. So far we have been very much stable and the spreadsheet is syncing almost instantly. There may be occasional delays (probably a couple of minutes) with syncing the queued data to google spreadsheet due to the number of requests we are receiving daily but rest assured it should come to its destination once queued are cleared up.
So I've performed a test using a clone of your form and it all went through just fine. The spreadsheet updates almost instantly. Unfortunately, I can't view your integrated spreadsheet because it is asking for a permission so I did my test on the cloned form.
Cloned form: http://form.jotformpro.com/form/52552548337965?
If your integration is new and the data isn't syncing properly, you may try to integrate it once more and see if it helps. So far this is the only possible solution we can provide you at the moment in order to feed up all the data to the spreadsheet and to refresh the integration.