Double Submissions on donations

  • Profile Image
    ugmwebform
    Asked on September 25, 2010 at 09:03 PM

    We recently started receiving duplicated submissions on our donation page. The second submission always comes in 3-4 minutes after the first and is being processed through Authorize.net.  How can we stop this? Our donors are being charged twice!

    Link to jotform: https://www.jotform.com/form/1862520699k

    Linked from: http://www.ugmsalem.org/donate/

     

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    aytekin
    Answered on September 27, 2010 at 10:26 AM

    Have you contacted any of the donors and asked them why they did such a thing?

    I suspect they are receiving some kind of error and thinking their donation did not go through. So, they try again.

  • Profile Image
    ugmwebform
    Answered on September 27, 2010 at 03:51 PM

    We did hear back from one donor - he did receive an error message, so we assume that is what other people encountered. Is this error most likely on the side of Jotform or Authorize.net?

  • Profile Image
    aytekin
    Answered on September 28, 2010 at 09:47 AM

    I wonder what is the error message they received. Can you make a test payment to see it? You can then refund it from Authorize.net site.

    Please forward the error message to us or post it here. Thanks.

  • Profile Image
    ugmwebform
    Answered on October 01, 2010 at 01:16 PM

    I got a screen capture of the error. The donation form redirects to a custom URL for the Thank You page. The URL is typed correctly and when copied from jotform and pasted in a new window, the page comes up fine. The error message only appears when jotform redirects the browser to the thank you page URL after a submission.

     

     

    Thank You Page Error

  • Profile Image
    aytekin
    Answered on October 04, 2010 at 07:54 AM

    It is probably because you enabled the "Send Post Data" feature. Your web server probably does not like doing an HTTP POST on an html page.

     

    I disabled the send post data back. You can revert it back to your own Thank You URL now.