What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Another deluge of customer complaints saying form doesn't work!?!

    Asked by JuliaRogers on October 10, 2015 at 05:16 PM

    Hello.  I took my first vacation in 7 years and I received a deluge of complaints from my customers saying the form doesn't work.  They all say it just won't send and the form timed out and deleted all their entries.  One client said it wouldn't send and she gave up and emailed me for service. I apologized for her inconvenience.  But, then I received two submissions of the same form later that day, hours after she said she gave up. A potential new client had said she filled it out 3 times and each time it failed. She hired another service.  I'm losing customers. I've received about 10 complaints in the past 5 days.

    I have had so many complaints over the years, that I even added a disclaimer apologizing in advance if the form doesn't work and that they can call me and I'll do it for them.  Not very professional.  Even my employee had difficulty helping a customer and it wouldn't work on his mobile device. So much for my vacation...sigh.

    Now, here is the caveat... it works for me!  I've been able to go in and fill out a new form and I just edited another.

    What can be the cause of my customer's chronic complaints?  I don't have an answer for them.  I tell them it could be their connection, their browsers, that technology isn't 100% reliable....blah blah blah.  Then they say their computer works fine on other forms and sites.

    I'm tired of pissing people off and making things harder for my customers. I'm always apologizing to them for the hassle.  I want to make it easy for them to hire us, not harder.  I've complained about this before....but the problem cannot be recreated by me, or jot, so I haven't had a fix to my problem yet.  I just don't get it.  Why does the form work for me (and you all at jot) but not for some of my customers?

    Please, and thank you. 

    Julie

    PS: Even though I have had some pretty serious problems with the product, I do like the prompt and courtesy replies I've received from customer support.

    Page URL:
    https://secure.jotform.us/form/41661137696158

    form doesn't work doesn't work another work
  • Profile Image

    Answered by JuliaRogers on October 10, 2015 at 05:22 PM

    PPS:   I just read this question in another thread from another jot customer "Is there a limit on how much can go into a form"

    Do I have too many conditions?  Too many hidden fields? What can I do to make this form work for everyone? Thx.  Julie

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on October 11, 2015 at 02:46 PM

    Hi Julie,

    I'm sorry to hear about the problem in the form. That is indeed a problem if I'm on your side. That defeats the process of automation in the form. Anyways, we'll do our best to help you resolve the problem.

    First thing, I would like to know if the form is embedded to your website? If so, please share us the link here so we can inspect it and try it again to see if there are some sort of an error that is causing the issue.

    There are cases that a conflict will occur especially if you are using the default JS embed method. This is causing the form to stop from working properly, the submit button would freeze up on submit. The solution would be to re-embed the form using our iframe method (http://www.jotform.com/help/148-Getting-the-Form-iFrame-Code).

    Second, I would like to know the common browser that is used by those customers that reported the issue. Our form works in an old version of browsers, but we recommend using the new ones. 

    Your form isn't that too long that would freeze up to your customer's end. Your conditional logic is minimal so I don't think these are the problem.

    You've mentioned that the form is filled using a mobile device. For this length of the form, I would suggest using a computer to do it. I'm not saying that the form won't work in mobile devices, but just for convenience. 

    Thank you and let us know.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by JuliaRogers on October 11, 2015 at 06:13 PM

    Glad you're here Welvin.  

    First: My form is not embedded on my web site https://www.yourpetsnanny.com/home.html.  The Reservation link re-directs to the form's URL.

    Second: My client's say they use Safari, Chrome, FireFox and IE. 

    Third: My employee tried it on his mobile device while in a client's home because she couldn't get it to work on her computer.

    I wish I had better info for you all.  There is no rhyme or reason to the failures...they are random, but often, too often.

    Looking forward to a fix :)

    Please and thank you,

    Julie

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sammy on October 12, 2015 at 04:50 AM

    Hello Julie,

    I did test a clone of the form on my browser and clicking on the tabs navigation caused the entire browser to freeze up. I don't know if this is part of the issue some of your user are facing.

    I corrected it by re-adding the tabs widget to the form and setting the navigate without validation to No.

    Kindly try this then ask one of the affected user to test it on their end.

    Kindly let us know of the outcome.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by JuliaRogers on October 12, 2015 at 02:27 PM

    hummm...why is there an option of Yes or No, when Yes doesn't work?  The whole purpose of me purchasing jot forms was to make it easier for my clients.  Once they fill it out, they can come back and edit the same form, and by clicking on the Dates of Service tab, they can skip though it easier.  But by checking the No option...they now have to scroll through the entire form.  Is this the only fix available? 

    Thx, Julie

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Carina on October 12, 2015 at 03:51 PM

    Hi Julie

    Unlike Sammy I tested the form but could easily navigate through the whole form without problems, but as you have several widgets maybe they are conflicting with each other.

    Specially the Terms and conditions widgets, they are not displaying correctly on Firefox:

    I would remove these 2 widgets and replace them by a checkbox field and I would manually add the link code, as checkbox option:

    I agree to <a target="_blank" href="https://www.yourpetsnanny.com/Policies.html" rel="nofollow" >Terms and Conditions</a>

    By the way when I clicked on "Terms and conditions" link I received a broken link screen:

    As we cannot replicate the situation this a shot in the dark, but I hope it helps.

    Let us know if we can assist you further.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by JuliaRogers on October 13, 2015 at 06:52 PM

    Carina:  Thanks for letting me know about the dead link! Fixed it.  Are there any unnecessary widgets in my form that can be deleted and still allow clients to fill it out easily on a phone/tablet/computer?

    I added the code for the link and now the "Terms and Conditions" is a dark blue and doesn't contrast well and is hard to see. I tried inserting a span color code"ffffff" in code provided above, but it didn't work. Any add'l assistance is appreciated.  J

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on October 14, 2015 at 02:00 AM

    Hello,

    I did check your form and did not find any unnecessary widgets added.  Do test your form and get back to us if you or you client still have any trouble.

    I have injected the following custom css code in your form to change the color of "terms and Conditions":

    #label_input_437_0 a {

        color: #FFF;

    }

    Please check your form and see if the terms and condition text appears correctly.

    Thank you!