What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    simple whois widget works in preview box but not on its own tab?

    Asked by robinbruce on October 22, 2015 at 10:21 AM

    Hello - on my form (third page) I have used the simple whois widget and while it works fine inside the preview built into the form editor, when I break it out onto its own tab or window it stops working - the textbox just disapears!?! 

    Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

    Also, if it can be made to work - can i use the result of the domain lookup (available vs unavailable) in a condition to determine if the request can proceed or not?

     

    Cheers

    Page URL:
    https://form.jotformeu.com/52943564428362?

    preview whois widget
  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sammy on October 22, 2015 at 01:14 PM

    I tested the widget on my end using a cloned copy of your form and it appears to work fine.

    Kindly remove the existing widgets and re-add them again to your form then test it again.

    At the moment it is not possible to use the look up result in the conditions.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by robinbruce on October 23, 2015 at 05:35 AM

    Hi - I tried that but it doesnt seem to have worked.

     

    I noticed that on my chrome browser, the wizard doesnt run when I add the widget to the form. I tried in safari also but again nothing. As a last resort I tried firefox and the wizard did run and I could again see the widget inside the preview in the form editor but when I moved out into another tab, i got the following error (in firefox only, in other browsers its just blank - nothing except the label showing)

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Sammy on October 23, 2015 at 07:12 AM

    I did further testing and was able to replicate the situation you are facing. It appears the widget is being blocked because it is being load via a HTTP page withing and HTTPS environment. by default all browser will block such content from loading.

    This explains the blank page you are receiving as well as the permanently moved message in Firefox.

    I have forwarded this issue to our development team for review and resolution, you will receive updates regarding this via this thread.

    Thank you for letting us know.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by robinbruce on November 02, 2015 at 10:52 AM

    Hello - any updates on this one?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on November 02, 2015 at 02:10 PM

    I'm sorry, but we still do not have an update to this report. The ticket is already assigned to our developer. If there are updates, we will make sure to let you know here.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by robinbruce on March 11, 2016 at 11:35 AM

    Hello... still waiting...

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on March 11, 2016 at 12:29 PM

    Unfortunately this issue is still not resolved. I will check with our developer to see if there is any update. If there is, we will inform you via this thread. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by robinbruce on June 10, 2016 at 08:18 AM

    **BUMP**

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on June 10, 2016 at 09:58 AM

    Unfortunately, the ticket is still opened and unresolved. We still haven't heard anything from our developers. We'll notify them again about this issue. Apologies.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by TitusN on July 26, 2016 at 01:13 AM

    Its now fixed. The simple domain whois checker will work as expected.

    Sorry for the long wait.