What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Form with Paypal Pro integration stucks on "Please Wait" and submits incomplete data

    Asked by VailClub50 on November 03, 2015 at 07:22 PM

    Hello,

    Our club has 2 forms that members use to pay for memberships and events via credit card.  For 99.9% of our members, everything works fine.  But occasionally we get a complaint that a member submits a form, which just hangs forever.  Today someone reported that after submitting the form:

    it just says "please wait".  This has been way too long!! I am about ready to just give it up!

    I know this person definitely had a problem.  Their submission is in the database and says they paid with a credit card, but the usual credit card transaction details are missing.  It usually seems that if the person tries again and chooses "pay by check", bypassing the PayPal Pro module, it works OK.

    I'm pretty sure that it's a problem with the member's computer, so I always try to get details from the member about their OS, browser, security settings etc, but it always seems like this happens to less-computer-savvy people who don't know how to answer my questions.

    I'm just curious: When this "please wait" problem happens, do you have any suggestions regarding advice to the member, like clear cookies and browser history, or disable popup or ad blockers, or change security settings, or whatever -- any thoughts on common problems that could cause the submission to hang forever?

    Thanks!

    Page URL:
    https://secure.jotformpro.com/form/52295423264960

    please wait submitting form problem style settings check
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on November 04, 2015 at 02:12 AM

    I cloned your form and made a test submission, I'm using a sandbox account, I paid via credit card and was not able to replicate the problem.

     

    It is possible, as you have mentioned, that it is also related to the end user. But, may we know if the form is embedded on a website? If it is, could you share us the link to it? You might need to re-embed your form using the iFrame embed code instead.

    We'll wait for your response.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by VailClub50 on November 04, 2015 at 09:15 AM

    Hello,

    We don't embed the form.  We just redirect to the URL:

    https://secure.jotformpro.com/form/52295423264960

    For what it's worth, the most recent user who ran into the "please wait" problem was using an iPad.

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on November 04, 2015 at 10:50 AM

    Unfortunately, I do not have an actual iPad device. But I tried it on a simulator but I was not able to replicate the problem. Here's a screencast, it's quite small:

    I'm testing it on iPad Air with iOS 8.3.

    I will forward this to our developers to have it checked, but could you please try following this guide: http://www.jotform.com/help/234-How-to-Catch-User-s-Browser-Info. Using that, we will be able to catch the user's browser info and see if there's a pattern on the problem, however, we'll need to wait for another user who will experience the problem.

    If you have an Apple device and you were able to replicate the problem, please let us know what OS and device you are using.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by NeilVicente on November 05, 2015 at 07:04 AM

    @VailClub50

    Can you please ask the most recent customer who had this problem to try to submit again? Also, ask your customer to observe if after clicking submit and the button's text changes to "Please wait..." the browser's "loading" indicator display or not.

    We haven't heard any reports of this kind so far, so I am most inclined to think that the problem is network-related.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by VailClub50 on November 05, 2015 at 07:53 AM

    Hi,

    Thanks for your continued efforts to investigate this.

    I've read the "How to Catch the User's Browser Info" guide.  I could do that (add the hidden field and update the notification email), but I'm wondering how helpful it will be.

    First, the people who have this problem get stuck at "Please wait...", so I don't think the notification email will get sent?  Second, we don't normally use notification emails, and I don't really want to start receiving them as our hundreds of members submit forms.  I guess I could create a new email address that I normally ignore, and send the notifications there?

    Unfortunately it seems that the people who have this problem happen to be less tech-savvy, which makes it really hard to trouble shoot.  When I ask for details on the user experience, I get vague comments like "it keeps spitting out my credit card" etc.  When I ask for details about OS, browser etc, the most I get is "I was using an iPad" etc.  And they're not particularly willing to help troubleshoot by "trying again".

    As best as I can tell, it seems like people click the Submit button, which changes to Please Wait, then hangs forever.  It seems to be related to the PayPal Pro module.  If they change their submission to "Pay by check", which avoids that module, the submission is OK.  And it does seem to happen most often (or perhaps only) on iOS devices.

    I know this is all vague, and don't expect you to keep trying to reproduce it.  Because I know it works fine for 99.9% of our members, including on iOS devices.  I was really just wondering if you had some general advice of what could cause the problem, like security settings or "it could happen on old versions of iOS" or whatever.

    Thanks again.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on November 05, 2015 at 09:02 AM

    Thank you for your cooperation and understanding on this. Regarding the catching of browser info, in case the customer contacts you and mentioned that they cannot pay via Paypal due to the loading problem and opt to pay via check, we can then identify what device their using. However, you are indeed correct that we cannot monitor or identify other users that do not continue to fill out the form due to this problem. Our developers also can't seem to replicate the problem in their end.

    As mentioned, it is possible that it is related to the network they are using. Here are the possible things that I can think of:

    - If they are on a office, university or a network that has a strict security or firewall, then that is possible that the submission is being blocked.

    - If the user is somehow using a ad blocking software or similar plugins/extensions on their device or browser.

    - Misconfiguration of the network settings and of the browser

     

    I hope that somehow it helps.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by VailClub50 on November 06, 2015 at 11:36 AM

    Thanks again, yes, your response does help.  I also suspect ad blocking or plugins/extensions.

     Unfortunately the folks that run into this problem seem to be less tech savvy, someone else has set up their computer for them, and the words "ad blocking" or "plugins" or "extensions" mean nothing to them.

    If I ever find a specific instance where somebody has the problem and we fix it by disabling something or tweaking settings or whatever, I'll post it here in case it's helpful to others.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on November 06, 2015 at 01:18 PM

    Thank you for understanding. Do let us know the results or findings you had.

    This ticket is still assigned to one of our developers, in case they were able to replicate the problem, we will also update you on this thread.