What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.

  • Profile Image

    Separating long Text elements into smaller ones

    Asked by jjland on November 17, 2015 at 01:06 PM
    Hello. I think im going to separate the document into it's many parts and custom the CSS to make the gaps smaller. Can you give me instructions on how to custom them please.  thank you
  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ben on November 17, 2015 at 01:13 PM

    I would just like to ask you what is the form that you will be doing this on and how we can assist you?

    I presume that this is the form: http://www.jotform.us/form/53194942419159

    Also are the following fields the ones that you wish to combine together as one:

    JJ Land Company Residential Lease Agreement
    3. NOTICES:
    3. NOTICES:

     * I noticed that you have 2 of these same fields one right under the other - both at the top of your form - not sure if it is intentional or not.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 18, 2016 at 11:33 AM

    i have over 40 different fields and would like to make the gaps smaller. dont worry about the fields themselves ill dgo through and edit them myself just how to i make the gaps as small as possible

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike on February 18, 2016 at 02:41 PM

    If fillable PDF is no required, you may consider getting a normal PDF in alternative way. For example, you can open the form in Google Chrome and print it into a PDF file.

    How to Save a Web Page as a PDF in Google Chrome

    If this is not going to work, please provide us with a bit more information on your inquiry. Would you like to reduce paddings of the Text fields?

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 18, 2016 at 05:26 PM

    no it needs to be fillable. the submission with the signatures has to be embedded in the me pdf. so now my pdf somes in over 30 pages, the fonts and spacing is all messed up and i cant revert it to where it should be. can you please look at how my pdfs are being sent and come up with a useful solution before i abandon jotform all together. i have has so many issues and no real answers to any of them for months. Nothing is my pdf accurately shows what my form looks like one bit 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 18, 2016 at 05:34 PM

    also it would be really nice to have a phone numner or live caht i could sue so i can actually sort this out in one quick  instead of these forums that will take me months to get anything resolved

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on February 18, 2016 at 11:21 PM

    I would like to inform you that we do not provide support over the phone. The best way to reach us is through this Support forum where will be giving you support, you can also contact us at support@jotform.com, but we recommend to contact us via this forum.

    As for your concern, have you tried using our revision history feature to revert the form to its previous state? Simply follow this guide: How to View Form Revision History

    To separate long text into smaller ones, simply add new Text fields to your form and copy and paste the parts of the longer text to the new text field.

    To make the gaps smaller, please add this code that my colleague suggested in another thread here.

    [data-type="control_text"] {

        padding: 0;


    Simply follow this guide to inject the css: How To Inject Custom CSS

    Do let us know if you need further assistance.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 19, 2016 at 11:23 AM

    yes i tried to revive an old format and now all the text is very large and some remained samaller. all the text is supposed to be the same as i went through a double checked they all were the same but on the pdf they are all different sizes

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on February 19, 2016 at 12:46 PM

    Have you corrected the problem with text blocks? The font sizes seem like uniform now on this form: http://www.jotform.us/form/53194942419159

    For the PDF file, I have it for you. Get it here: https://shots.jotform.com/welvin/userfile/Lease%20Room%20Defualt.pdf. The generated file consists of 20 pages and I used Adobe Acrobat Pro to get it. Just to give you the same design and less spacing/pages.

    To know more about the fillable PDF creator, I would suggest checking the following guide:


  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 19, 2016 at 12:52 PM

    yes on that page they are uniform but not of the pdf version that gets emailed that's what ive been trying to say all this time.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 19, 2016 at 03:39 PM

    Ok thank you for getting the text size back to the normal size it is supposed to be. unfortunately now it deleted the formatting of the indented bullet points ill attach a file.
    Also my condions that used to work are no longer working.  thank you




  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 19, 2016 at 04:59 PM

    you just sent me an email that bullet points are not supported on your pdfs but until you went into my account and started messing around to fix the text size issues they were working and so was my conditional formatting! please put someone else on this case because you obviously have no idea what you are doing!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jjland on February 19, 2016 at 05:25 PM

    Yes you went into my account to fix these issues and messed up other stuff even more. i cannot work with a company like you especially to get anything done i have to go into the stupid forums. your staff doesnt know what they are doing and i have wasted enough time on you (over 5 months for a small issue and stil no progess), i will take my business elsewhee. your company is a dime a dozen. thanks for the headaches.

    please delete my account as the last thing ill ever as from you
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Jan on February 20, 2016 at 07:18 AM

    Sorry for the inconvenience. We can definitely assist you in fixing or resolving these issues that you have through this forum.

    However, since you decided to have your account deleted, as per your request, I will do so on this thread: http://www.jotform.com/answers/776949

    Thank you.