Should we confirm "This action will permanently erase your design. Are you sure?" when reseting PDF layout?

  • Profile Image
    wakecountydanda
    Asked on January 22, 2016 at 05:01 PM

    I see that when you hit reset, you receive a prompt indicating "This action will permanently erase your design. Are you sure?"

    Given this prompt, I am afraid to hit "Reset." Is that still what you advise.

    Thanks,

    Matt

  • Profile Image
    Ben
    Answered on January 22, 2016 at 05:08 PM

    First, let me explain what this Reset button does.

    When you click on Reset button

    What actually happens is that all the modifications that you have made within the PDF Designer will be removed and the default layout of the PDF that you get from Get PDF button in Submissions Panel is what will be used.

    Sometimes people could end up clicking on that button after making a lot of changes within the PDF Designer and then loose everything permanently. This confirmation makes sure that the reset is wanted action.

    So as mentioned above, the only thing that is removed is the design that you have made when you changed the field positions and similar within the PDF Designer, nothing else.

    As such, it is a very safe action to be made and do feel free to use it if you wish to go back to the default layout.

    A note that I want to make is that when using reset, you need to use it as follows:

    1. Click Reset

    2. wait for reset to be finalized

    3. close the tab with PDF Designer

    * If you click on Save afterwards, you will save the current layout, so it would again be modified and not reset, which is why the steps above are to be done only (reset -> close)

    Hope this helps, but do of course let us know if you have any questions and we would be happy to assist with the same. :)