What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Customize PDF Tool: Fields are shifting to the right and and not displaying the correct layout in the downloaded PDF submission

    Asked by mreade on March 02, 2016 at 04:30 AM

    https://form.jotformeu.com/60353612863353

    I tried to chnage the PDF layout so that certain fields appear at the top and are larger.  However, for some reason all the question fields have been shifed to the right.  This has occured before and I had to reset and start again but now have the same problem.  Is there something wrong?

     

    Thanks,  Michael

    layout problem jotformeu customize PDF PDF Designer
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on March 02, 2016 at 09:10 AM

    Apologies for the inconvenience.

    It seems like there's a problem with the "Customize PDF"/"PDF Designer" feature. Here's how it looks like in my test cloned form:

     

    I have forwarded this to our developers to have it checked and fixed. Apologies for the inconvenience. We will update you on this thread as soon as this has been resolved. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on March 08, 2016 at 08:45 AM
    Hello, is there any news on the below. Thanks
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on March 08, 2016 at 10:32 AM

    I checked the status of the ticket but it is still unresolved. Apologies for the inconvenience. However, I see that one of our developers is already assigned on it and it is marked as "Important" in our priority list. Rest assure that they are already aware of this and are currently working on a solution. We should hear from them directly if the problem has been fixed.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on March 08, 2016 at 12:45 PM
    Charlie, thanks for the update.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on March 24, 2016 at 05:45 AM
    Is there any news about this? Thanks
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on March 24, 2016 at 07:21 AM

    Our development team is still investigating the issue. Let me follow up this to them. We will inform you on this thread once there is an update on the issue.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on April 18, 2016 at 08:43 AM
    Hello
    Over the past couple of weeks I have made a number of requests for help via the support page. However, I'm not getting any response. Is something not working?
    One problem I have is with the Report function.
    https://form.jotformeu.com/50824081567356
    In the report function how do I the "edit submission url" to appear in an excel report. I've selected this field but I can only get it to appear in the HTML table report.
    Thanks

    Michael Reade
    Coordinator - UCL Grand Challenges (Human Wellbeing) Office of the Vice-Provost (Research) | University College London | 2 Taviton Street | London | WC1H 0BT

    Tel: ++ 44 (0)20 7679 8713 (internal 28713)
    Email: m.reade@ucl.ac.uk
    www.ucl.ac.uk/grand-challenges
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by victor on April 18, 2016 at 09:43 AM

    sorry for the inconvenience. To assist you better I have created a new thread so we do not get confused with this one. This will be answered shortly by one of my colleagues.

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/820923

    If you have any other problems or issue, we suggest you create a new thread for each. This way we can give you the best possible answer.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on April 18, 2016 at 10:43 AM
    Thanks but I have a made a number of requests for help via the support page for different problems but I have not been receiving any replies from Jotform.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by victor on April 18, 2016 at 12:03 PM

    I have reviewed all the threads that you have created. I found 21 threads, including this one. I noticed all have been answered by my colleagues.

    The first thread that you created was about 2 months ago

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/775902

    This was answered by Christian

    the last one was regarding the excel report, this was answered by Kiran.

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/820923

    If you have any question or the answered given have not been helpful, please let us know. We will be glad to review it and see how we may best assist you.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on April 19, 2016 at 04:43 AM
    Dear Victor
    There is some misunderstanding here.
    I have made a number of requests for help via the support page in the last 2-3 weeks for help with different problems (not just the two that you mention below) and received no reply.
    Requests that I make via the support page are simply not getting through to anyone at Jotform.
    I have only received responses yesterday when I replied to one of the email addresses that people from Jotform support had used to answer my requests for help from months ago.
    Jotform really needs to have a number that people can call in these circumstances - email is an extremely limited form of communication
    Best
    Michael
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on April 19, 2016 at 04:43 AM
    Hi Victor – thank you.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Boris on April 19, 2016 at 06:10 AM

    Michael, I have checked all the support threads you've opened in our system, and it looks like all of them were answered promptly by my colleagues. You can see all your support threads by clicking on the My Questions button at the top, or by simply opening this link while you are logged in:

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/asked.php

    As a side note, we are required to answer all support tickets that are opened in our system, and our system is designed as such to ensure that no support ticket can go unanswered/unassigned. If there is a support ticket you've recently opened that has not received a response by any chance, please let us know a link to any such support ticket, and our managers will gladly look into why or how a support thread could have remained unanswered. Based on support tickets I see associated with your account, they all seem to have been answered.

    I have also checked emails sent to our email address, support@jotform.com, and I can see that your emails sent there have also been answered by my colleague. If you have not received any of our replies through email, please take a look at your support threads by using the above link, and you can make a followup directly on any of those support threads from there if needed.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on April 19, 2016 at 06:44 AM
    Dear Boris
    Thanks for looking into this but I can assure you that I submitted a number of requests for help via the support page and I got no reply. As I was not getting any response I then submitted a couple of requests over the last 2 weeks asking for someone to contact me directly – no one did.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on April 19, 2016 at 07:43 AM
    Boris
    In the past I have always found Jotform support very responsive so it came as a surprise that I suddenly stopped getting replies to my requests for help.
    Over the last two weeks I sent at least 3 separate requests for help, via the support page, about this problem detailed below, for which I received no response.
    Please can you help me with this request now:
    Notification emails for https://form.jotformeu.com/50824081567356
    In the past, the notification email used to contain a copy of the submission which was really useful as in the example below (please scroll down).
    However, for some reason, my responder emails started arriving without the submission, so I had to put in the most important fields. Is there anyway that I can get the responder emails to contain the whole submission again as well as the {edit_link} and {pdf-link} ?
    Thanks
    Michael

    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ben on April 19, 2016 at 08:15 AM

    I am not sure what happened at that point Michael, but I can assure you that we answer to all threads.

    It might have happened that the email replies did not land into your inbox and that you might not have been logged in when contacting us, which could explain something like this.

    Now, in regards to the issue with the emails, we will of course be happy to assist with the same, I have however moved it to a new thread here: https://www.jotform.com/answers/821806 where we will be assisting you shortly.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 12, 2016 at 12:44 PM
    Hello
    I am still having problems with the customised PDF layout which are being produced for this form:
    https://form.jotformeu.com/60353612863353
    I have attached an example. You will be able to see the problem more easily if you print the attachment.
    The entered text for 5 fields is not lining up in the correct place.
    For instance, the entered text for "summarise your activities using 3-4 keywords" is appearing above the relevant box.
    Also the entered text for "Please outline how your initiative will contribute to strengthening UCL in terms of the objectives for one or more of the principal themes of UCL 2034" appears after a big gap.
    I would also like to increase the font size (to point 12) for all of the submitted text but leaving the top fields larger as they are the moment. Is there an easy way to do this rather than have to change the font size for each individual field using the A+ button?

    Thanks
    Michael Reade
    Strategic Coordinator, UCL Collaborative Social Science Domain
    & Coordinator - UCL Grand Challenges (Human Wellbeing)
    Office of the Vice-Provost (Research) | University College London | 2 Taviton Street | London | WC1H 0BT

    Tel: ++ 44 (0)20 7679 8713 (internal 28713)
    Email: m.reade@ucl.ac.uk
    www.ucl.ac.uk/grand-challenges
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ben on May 12, 2016 at 01:27 PM

    Unfortunately Michael we can not see any images that you send over email.

    The only way to show us your images is by going to this thread directly and posting the image to the same. This is the link to the thread: https://www.jotform.com/answers/785415

    Now, I am not sure if this is still connected to the same issue, but if not, please do open a new thread by going here: https://www.jotform.com/contact/

    In regards to the question about font sizes, since that is not the same subject as the original of this thread, I have moved it to a new thread here: https://www.jotform.com/answers/837828 where we will be assisting you shortly.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 12, 2016 at 05:06 PM

    Ben

    I am still having problems with the customised PDF layout which is being produced for this form:

    https://form.jotformeu.com/60353612863353


    If you create a PDF for the newest submission (Submission Date 12-05-2016 13:37:34) you will see that the entered text for 5 fields is not lining up in the correct place. For instance, for the 3rd field down entered text for "summarise your activities using 3-4 keywords" is appearing above the relevant box. 

    Also the entered text for about the 28th field down appears after a big gap. "Please outline how your initiative will contribute to strengthening UCL in terms of the objectives for one or more of the principal themes of UCL 2034" 

    Thanks 

    Michael

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by victor on May 12, 2016 at 05:29 PM

    I have downloaded the PDF report and did notice what you are indicating

    1) Values above the question

    2) Text start in the next page

    Can you try resetting the PDF report.

    1) Press the PDF->Customize PDF

    2) to reset to default settings press the RESET button

    Please let us know if this helps.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 13, 2016 at 05:44 AM
    Hello
    I have tried re-setting a number of time now but I still end up with the same problem. Grateful for your assistance.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on May 13, 2016 at 07:42 AM

    I tried to download the PDF of the latest submission in your form and but I can't replicate the issue. The downloaded pdf seems to be displayed fine.

     

    I have cleared your form cache, can you try again to download the PDF and see if it is ok now? If the issue still persist can you also try to clear you browser cache and the try to download the PDF again.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 13, 2016 at 09:44 AM
    Hi
    This is printing out as it should now – all the text is lining up with the fields
    How do I clear my browser cache?
    Thanks for your help.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on May 13, 2016 at 10:39 AM

    You can clear your browser's cache by following this article: http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser's-Cache 

    You can also clear your form's cache by checking this one: https://www.jotform.com/help/229-How-to-Clear-Your-Form-Cache 

    I hope that helps.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 13, 2016 at 10:44 AM
    Hello
    I would like to make the text in the PDF larger and adjust the size of the grey shaded boxes for the field question. However, when I try and do this in the customise PDF feature, the text merges as below. Thanks for your help. Michael
    [cid:image003.jpg@01D1AD29.975DB420]
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 13, 2016 at 10:44 AM
    Also the preview does not do the whole document – just the first part
    [cid:image004.jpg@01D1AD2B.A8468D50]
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by victor on May 13, 2016 at 11:00 AM

    Modifying the text display is pretty simply. 

    To adjust the size of any field, just hover to the bottom right of the field until the mouse icon changes. Once it changes, just click and drag the field to where you would like the size to be.

    To modify the the size of the text, click the edit icon in the right of the field. It will display a small toolbar where you can adjust the size of the text. You may also change the color of the text.

    Let us know if this helps.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 13, 2016 at 11:44 AM
    That is what I have been doing but I end up with this:
    [cid:image001.jpg@01D1AD31.454BBFD0]
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Charlie on May 13, 2016 at 12:00 PM

    If you are replying on this thread using your email client and attaching images, it won't go through, we won't be able to view it in our end. 

    You can upload screenshots here in the forum by directly viewing this thread link https://www.jotform.com/answers/785415. Then use the upload button in the reply are:

     

    We'll wait for your response.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 23, 2016 at 05:44 AM
    Hello
    I am still having problems ensuring that the submitted text aligns properly with the field headings. If I change one part of the template it throws out the formatting.
    Please see the PDF that is being produced for this application: submission date: 18-05-2016 19:18:12 for form:
    https://form.jotformeu.com/60353612863353
    If you scroll down the PDF you will see that there is a large gap after:
    “I confirm that I have secured the agreement of my external collaborator(s) to work with me”
    The text for “Why is a cross-disciplinary approach particularly valuable in pursuing the proposed activities?” is appearing underneath the relevant box.
    As is the text for
    “Describe your role and that of the Second Applicant in the proposed activities”
    Grateful for your help.
    Thanks
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on May 23, 2016 at 07:24 AM

    Hi,

    I am currently checking your form. Please give me some time as I troubleshoot the problem. I will be back asap.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Chriistian on May 23, 2016 at 08:04 AM

    Hi,

    I can remove the gap between below I confirm that I have secured the agreement of my external collaborator(s) to work with me and Describe your role and that of the Second Applicant in the proposed activities fields. Please see below.

    However, in the case of the Why is a cross-disciplinary approach particularly valuable in pursuing the proposed activities? field, the answer automatically moves down because there is a very long hyperlink that overflows through the width of the PDF. Please see below.

    By the way, there is an attached ticket for this thread that is escalated to our developers so I will add this details of issue for our developers to check. We will inform you as soon as the problem is fixed.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 26, 2016 at 11:44 AM
    Thanks but now the answer for “Outline the expected outcomes of your proposed activity (minimum 100words; maximum 250 words) is appearing above the question box. Please can you resolve?
    Ideally I would like to increase the font size (point 12) but when I try to do it, the submitted test and the field box become misaligned.
    Grateful for your help.
    Thanks
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on May 26, 2016 at 12:34 PM

    The PDF design is faulty for that form, I believe if we adjust that, another field will get affected. I have cloned your form to try to make it work, I will let you know if could manage to resolve it. Meanwhile, we will need to wait until one of our developers fix this issue, which has been already reported.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on May 27, 2016 at 04:45 AM
    Thanks for your help. I need to print the submissions in a week’s time so hope there will be a fix for this by then.
    Michael
    ...
  • Profile Image

    Answered by mreade on June 01, 2016 at 03:50 PM

    I urgently need to print out the submissions for this form:
    https://form.jotformeu.com/60353612863353

    I've been told there is a problem with the PDF template.  I've tried to reset the template but the reset button is not responding.

    Please can you reset the template so I can at least print in a basic format with the text appearing in the correct places?

    Thanks

     

    Michael  

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on June 01, 2016 at 04:46 PM

    I have tried to reset PDF Designer on your account, but Reset button is not working. I will mention this to our developer as well. 

    As possible workaround until this issue is resolved, you can print the form with the users data. Inside of this guide you can find how to do it:

    https://www.jotform.com/help/335-How-to-Print-the-Form-with-the-Users-Data 

    If there is any update from our developer we will inform you via this thread.