What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Images uploaded over Image Upload Preview widget do not get sent to Google Drive

    Asked by cherylchooo on March 30, 2016 at 10:31 AM

    I

    need a form that can collect images from mobile devices, have those images show up on the PDF Editor tool to customize PDFS, be able to resize the photo and change placement to my liking on the PDF Editor, and I want a copy of the image file placed on my Google Drive per the Google Drive integration tool.  

    The only widget i can find tha

    t can collect images from mobile devices and have them show up and be editable in the PDF Editor is Image Upload Preview, but it cannot work with Google Drive integration and back up the image files.  

    The file uploader tool can take photos from mobile devices and back them up in Drive, but doesn't work well with the PDF editor.  It doesn't let you resize the photos or move them around well at all, you are stuck with very limited layout options.

    Take a photo does some of the things but doesn't work with mobile devices well.

    There are so many tools and widgets.  Does anyone know if there is one that does all these things? Thanks!

    integrate pdf editor
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by KadeJM on March 30, 2016 at 12:38 PM

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention and I do understand where things of this sort might get a bit frustrating if not able to generate the workflow you seek.

    To my understanding it seems that you mainly want to be able to collect mobile images but have them show up and be resizable within a pdf alongside exporting to google drive, correct?

    If I'm misunderstanding you do feel free to correct me and clarify if needed.

    Additionally, please allow me some time to look into this a bit further to see if there's some sort of better workflow we could maybe come up with for this and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Ben on March 30, 2016 at 03:18 PM

    I have tried to recreate the same by adding the following fields to my test form:

    1. Image Upload Preview widget

    2. Single File upload field (from Form Tools)

    3. Single File upload field with multiple files option turned on (also from Form Tools)

    After submitting, I can see that Google Drive indeed did not get the image from Image Upload Preview image - which is a bug.

    I also see that the PDF designer threats images within different fields differently, and for Image Upload Preview it seems that it will not resize the image to match the container, but rather show the image as it is, while it will change the size of the images uploaded over file upload field to match the size given by its container.

    I presume that this was done so intentionally for some reason by our developers (creating different behavior for different fields), but again the Google Drive not getting the image is a bug.

    I will raise this to our developers right away and as such they will update you here as soon as the issue is resolved - at which time you would be able to use Image Upload Preview and get the image into the Google Drive.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cherylchooo on March 30, 2016 at 04:16 PM

    There is a workaround to let the Image Upload resize on the PDF Editor.  You insert CSS code

    img {

        max-width: 25%;

        height: auto;

    }

     

    It makes the images on the PDF editor smaller than "as is" so you can manipulate them freely to whatever size in the PDF.

    But that does not solve getting the image files on the Google Drive.  I look forward to your bug fix on that.  

    I did not get the same results with File Upload.  I could not get the images to match the container, and I can't manipulate the container freely like I can with the pictures from Image Upload.  Perhaps that is a Chrome browser issue, since that is what I use.

    Thanks for escalating this for me.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Huberson on March 30, 2016 at 06:58 PM

    Thank you for sharing that with us. your issue is being taking care of and you will get update on it here as soon as it is fixed.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cherylchooo on September 08, 2016 at 02:25 PM

    I was wondering if there is an update on this issue?  Specifically  to able to use Image Upload Preview and get the image into the Google Drive?  Thanks.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by KadeJM on September 08, 2016 at 03:39 PM

    Unfortunately, as right now we don't have any update about this yet but please rest assured that the moment we do know something you'll be notified here.

    Generally, we don't really promise any sort of guaranteed timeframes other than the fact that our developers try to get to these as soon as possible since it mainly depends on their existing workload ahead of it.

    And as for your question for this about using with google drive that will depend on what our engineer to see what all he can do with it for this request of yours and thank you for letting us know about  that part of it now.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by odm111 on November 01, 2016 at 08:27 PM

    Is there any update on when files uploaded via the Image Upload Preview widget will be transferred to Google Drive? This would be a huge timesaver! Thanks so much.
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by olivia on November 02, 2016 at 04:26 AM

    Hi odm111,

    I have opened a new thread for your issue. You can follow your issue from this thread: https://www.jotform.com/answers/978875

    Thank you.