What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Need to preview users answer before submitting the form

    Asked by swiftonline on May 20, 2016 at 09:14 AM
    I'm not sure I understand this - I want to do the exact same thing, ie. have a preview before submit where I can show all the answered fields (will use the hide feature in the widget) and format using the HTML source editor - so do I simply add a text area to my form and that will automatically update with the answers that are shown on the form when the preview button is used??  Not following - sorry!
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on May 20, 2016 at 09:24 AM

    If you want your users to get a preview of their answer before submitting the form, use this widget.

    http://widgets.jotform.com/widget/preview_before_submit

    Just add it to your form and you're good to go. You can also configure it to exclude specific fields or empty fields.

    If you need further assistance, let us know.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by swiftonline on June 06, 2016 at 05:54 AM

    Thanks for your answer, but what I need to do is format the preview with HTML too.  The answers that the user gives need to be formatted to look like a letter, so therefore just like the email auto responder, but only include those fields that have been completed.  Therefore when they see the preview before submitting, it will show them the formatted letter, not just the field names and answers.

    eg.

    Q1. How much is your energy bill?

    A1. 365

    Q2. How many people live in the property?

    A2. 4

    Q3. Are any people over the age of 65?

    A3.

    PREVIEW

    Dear Energy Provider,

    Please could you assess my energy usage.  There are 4 people living in the property and my annual bills are £365.00.  This seems to be rather high.

    Kind regards,

     

    ARE YOU HAPPY FOR US TO SEND THIS LETTER TO YOUR ENERGY PROVIDER?  IF YES, CLICK SUBMIT BELOW, IF NO, CLICK BACK TO EDIT YOUR ANSWERS.

     

    I hope that makes sense?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on June 06, 2016 at 08:35 AM

    I'm working on a possible solution for you. Please allow me some time and I'll get back to you.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on June 06, 2016 at 09:18 AM

    This is what crossed my mind regarding your question.

    I'm thinking about two forms. The first form, where your questions will be, let's call it Question form, and the second form with a letter, call it Letter form. Now, we can pass data from Question form to Letter form and create a letter that your customers can submit by using a Custom Thank you page.

    1. Question form:

    Here is the link that you can check: https://form.jotform.com/61573887669982, I put those three questions that you gave as an example. On that form I created a Custom Thank you page that is actually second form(Letter form) with some fields to be prepopulated.

    2. Letter form:

    By inputting data and clicking Submit on that form you will be directed to Letter form: https://form.jotform.com/61573649277973 which has the text you provided with some fields in it:

    You can notice that I put there three hidden fields, those fields we are using just to pass data to them from Question form, but we are not showing them on the form. And in text of the letter we are using the names of those fields so we show the values passed.

    Here is an example of using both forms:

    Hope it helps, please let me know if that solution can work for you.

    Feel free to clone my forms and edit them by yourself.

    Thank you!

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by swiftonline on June 06, 2016 at 12:09 PM

    Hi Nic,

     

    Thanks for that. 

    It almost solves the problem, but the text will depend on the answers given.  So for example if somebody doesn't answer Q1, the text "and my annual bills are . This seems rather high" would not appear.

     

    Does that make sense?

  • Profile Image

    Answered by swiftonline on June 06, 2016 at 12:13 PM

    Also Nik, if you can see my form "npo" you will see there are dozens of questions and therefore dozens of variables!  This "npo" form is me playing  - it is effectively what we use in a call centre environment, but I need to create it to use as a self service form in a web environment.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by ashwin_d on June 06, 2016 at 02:26 PM

    Hello swiftonline,

    In that case you need to add one text field for every question you have in your "1. Question form:". You need to also add condition in your "2. Letter form:" to check if the value of any question is "Empty", then the associated text field should be hidden.

    Please take a look at the following cloned form and see if this fits into your requirement:  https://form.jotform.com/61575172098967 

    If you do not input any value in "Are any people over the age of 65?", second form will hide the corresponding text field. Please check the second form here:  https://form.jotform.com/61575194984975 

    Feel free to clone this form for a closer look. The following guide should help you in form cloning:  https://www.jotform.com/help/42-How-to-clone-an-existing-form-from-a-URL 

    Hope this helps.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions.

    Thank you!