What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    File upload: Bigger files fail to upload

    Asked by ctphoto on July 18, 2016 at 03:22 PM

    This keeps happening for my customers and me.

    Page URL:
    https://stillrivereditions.com/send_a_file.html

    Screenshot
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 18, 2016 at 04:09 PM

     

    I tried several times to upload a file to your page and it worked without any problem as you can see in this screencast below:

    Also, I uploaded the same file extension as you did on your screenshot and that worked as well:

    So I'm not sure if it is related to the Internet connection, Browser or if it was some temporary issue.

    Can you please let us know if the issue still persists? 

    Thank you! 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 18, 2016 at 04:25 PM

    Two things, the files are much larger then that my customers send me, 200-400MB. And I have it set up so the submit button shows after then enter the password. Could that be an issue too?

     

    Its happening from several customers using different browsers etc...

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 18, 2016 at 04:57 PM

    Thank you for the additional info, I just uploaded 200MB file and it went fine, you should see it in your submissions.

    Maybe it was just the temporary glitch. A Password requirement shouldn't affect the upload field.

    Could you please try again and let us know if the issue persists?

    Thank you!

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 18, 2016 at 08:46 PM

    I just tried it from my home computer, same issue happening. I tried a 200MB file, that worked, tried a 500MB file that did not work. Tried it in Safari and Firefox.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on July 18, 2016 at 11:36 PM

    It is highly possible that the issue was being caused by script conflict between your form and those in your website page.

    I noted that you were using the full source code embed of the form https://www.jotformpro.com/form/30177694951968 on your website.

    But there were also existing jquery scripts on your website page. This must conflicting with the form scripts.

     

    Can you not use instead the iframe embed code of the form? Using the iframe embed should prevent any script conflict from happening and will make sure the form will function fully.

    User guide: Getting-the-form-iFrame-code

    Please try re-embedding the form using its iframe publish code and then observe if upload script is still not working.

    Let us know if this did not resolve the issue. 

    Thanks.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 21, 2016 at 04:13 PM

    It is now iframe embed code. Still not working, failing on 573MB file attempt.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 21, 2016 at 06:29 PM

    I did one test with 500+ mb file and it failed. Allow me some time to test this more and we'll get back to you.

    It could be that this larger files break during the upload.

    I'll do some more tests.

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 21, 2016 at 06:50 PM

    Thank you Nik_C

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 22, 2016 at 04:13 AM

    I did some more testing with your form. And I was able to replicate this issue. At first I thought it is my internet connection, but now I tested on higher speed internet and same issue is happening.

    With that said, I forwarded this thread to our developers for more deep checking. We'll inform you through this thread as soon as we have any new information.

    Thank you for your patience.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 31, 2016 at 09:02 AM

    It has been nine days, any solution yet? This is hampering my business.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on July 31, 2016 at 10:58 AM

    The form is FTP integrated, please try removing the integration and see if that helps:

    https://www.jotform.com/help/177-How-to-enable-FTP-on-form-submissions

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 31, 2016 at 11:28 AM

    But if I turn that off how will I get my uploads to my FTP? The failure is happening before the upload begins I believe.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on July 31, 2016 at 12:58 PM

    I see this has been already escalated to our second level. We will need to wait until we get a resolution from the developer in charge of this case. You will be updated via this thread.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 31, 2016 at 01:06 PM

    That was ten days ago, still nothing?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on July 31, 2016 at 01:18 PM

    Unfortunately, we haven't received any udpates yet, and there isn't an estimated time-frame for a resolution.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on August 05, 2016 at 01:38 PM

    Its been 15 days now, any updates?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on August 05, 2016 at 02:38 PM

    No, there haven't been any updates from our second level yet. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on August 09, 2016 at 03:18 PM

    I looked into some of your widgets but they all have file size limits and no way to have them uploaded directly to my FTP or you have to pay for monthly upload space from the widget developer.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on August 09, 2016 at 04:45 PM

    Our file upload widgets don't have the option to control the sizes so it is still recommended to use our regular file upload fields. Some of the widgets are developed by a third party and they have that option to apply a paid only option. 

    The priority of the ticket is high so what we can do now is to wait for our developers give us an update on this issue. 

    Thank you for your patience and understanding.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on August 18, 2016 at 10:31 AM

    Its been another 9 days, any update?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on August 18, 2016 at 12:07 PM

    We apologize, there is still no update from our developers. The issue has a very important priority so you can expect it to be fixed in the near future. As soon as our developers give us some update on the issue we will let you know. 

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on September 16, 2016 at 12:13 PM

    This is still happening, I have been very patient, but you folks really need to get this fixed. Since July 18th!!!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on September 16, 2016 at 01:32 PM

    I asked the assigned developer to give us an update here. Hopefully, he will respond today. Our apologies for taking this too long. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on October 03, 2016 at 04:25 PM

    I see no response from the developer, what gives?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on October 03, 2016 at 05:29 PM

    I'm sorry about that. I will ask assigned developer if there is any update regarding this ticket.

    Our apologies again.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on November 27, 2016 at 08:15 AM

    Still waiting, have not heard from anyone about this issue. :(

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_G on November 27, 2016 at 10:25 AM

    Unfortunately, we have not heard anything from our development team regarding this matter. And we would like to apologize if we cannot provide any ETA to when this will be fixed, however, please be assured that once we have updates, we'll inform you right away. I will also send a message to the developer that is assigned to this thread.

    Thank you

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on November 27, 2016 at 11:06 AM

    It looks like you have been doing that since July, perhaps there is a way to up the priority?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on November 27, 2016 at 12:31 PM

    No, there isn't a way to setup a priority or expedite the process. We have sent messages to our back-end team, but unfortunately, there isn't any updates yet.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on November 27, 2016 at 05:46 PM

    Isn't four months long enough without a solution?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on November 27, 2016 at 05:53 PM

    We apologize for the delays. There is no update yet from our developer assigned on the bug ticket report. I will do a follow up again on your behalf.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on January 30, 2017 at 09:19 AM

    OK, it has been months again and no resolve. this was attempt to upload a 600MB file.

    So that I can continue to use it, what is the current max file size that can be uploaded? And is that per file size or total if multiple files are picked?

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on January 30, 2017 at 10:39 AM

    Please accept our sincere apologies for this delay.  

    The upload limit is 1GB per file, meaning you should be able to attach up to 1GB of file per upload which means if you want 5GB of files, you can achieve that with multiple uploads field where 5 files will be 1GB each. You can read more here: https://www.jotform.com/help/33-Changing-the-File-Upload-Size-Limit

    The tests I did before on your form worked for files under 400mb. But I'm not sure if that was isolated case.

    I'm not sure what is causing the break of upload for 600mb files. I'll follow up with developer assigned for a possible update.

    Again, we're very sorry for this inconvenience.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on January 30, 2017 at 10:59 AM

    I just tried a 160MB file, uploads fine, I just did a 573MB file, it fails.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on January 30, 2017 at 04:32 PM

    Sorry for the delay, I tested with several files:

    100Mb - ok

    300Mb - ok

    400Mb - failed

    600Mb - failed

    I will run some more tests until we receive an update from our backend team.

    Will get back to you.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on January 30, 2017 at 04:38 PM

    OK, thank you.

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on January 31, 2017 at 02:26 PM

    I just wanted to follow up. I tested files between 300mb and 400mb, and files below 400mb worked for me. But I had difficulties uploading files above 400mb.

    Hope this will help until we receive an update from our backend team. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on January 31, 2017 at 02:47 PM

    You do realize I have been hearing that since July 2016?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_G on January 31, 2017 at 04:07 PM

    We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this is causing you. My colleague has already alerted the developer assigned to your concern. We can just wait until we get a resolution from the developer in charge of the issue. Please be assured that we will be notifying you as soon as possible if there are any updates.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on February 16, 2017 at 08:02 AM

    Its been another two weeks, any updates? This certainly has been an issue for way too long. Started July 18, 2016!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on February 16, 2017 at 11:40 AM

    Unfortunately this issue is still not resolved. I will check with our developer to see if there is any update and if there is we will inform you via this thread. 

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on April 07, 2017 at 10:40 AM

    So its that time of year where I check on the status of this issue. Please don't just tell me you are waiting to hear back from the developer, that is what I have been hearing since July of 2016.

    STATUS ?????????

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on April 07, 2017 at 11:55 AM

    Status of this ticket is set to opened and priority is set very important. I will check again with our developers to see if there is any update.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on April 10, 2017 at 02:00 PM

    Anything yet?

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on April 14, 2017 at 04:34 PM

    Anything yet?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on April 14, 2017 at 07:40 PM

    Sorry, there is still no update on this.

    I'm not sure if someone has already mentioned this but the multiple file upload tool is not designed for larger files. The most consistent file size that would probably go through is under 300MB but the recommended file size is below 100MB for multiple file uploads.

    The way that the multiple file upload works by utilizing the Javascript to send the files. This is great for small files, but it can fail if too many resources on your computer and browser are being used. Once it is not able to continue, it will not be able to resume and it will most likely fail. 

    The single file upload is however more stable and should be able to work even with larger files.

    Anyway, this thread is still on our devs list. Once they found a solution to the multiple file upload tool, they will reply directly on this thread.

    Thank you for your continued patience!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on April 15, 2017 at 09:23 AM

    It was designed for files up to 1 GB and use to work just fine. As you can see from the testing by Nik C above he confirms this, but also show it fails on files larger then 300MB currently. So not sure who is talking to whom, JotForm to the developer or the developer to JotForm, there does not seem to be an answer. This has been going on since July 2016 and I keep getting a runaround. I pay for your service so I really expect some respect.

    See: https://www.jotform.com/help/33-Changing-the-File-Upload-Size-Limit

    I have tried the single upload feature, it has the same issue. Now what?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_G on April 15, 2017 at 11:10 AM

    First of all, we would like to sincerely apologize for any troubles. We understand the situation and we understand that this could be very frustrating on your part. We also understand that the issue has been happening since July and we are sorry if it is taking so long to be resolved.

    One of my colleagues has recently checked the status/progress of the ticket created for your concern with our developers and I'm afraid we can only wait for their response. Again, as soon as there is an update from them, we will let you know right away in this thread.

    Thank you for your patience on this matter.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on May 10, 2017 at 02:17 PM

    I think it might be time to fire those developers.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_G on May 10, 2017 at 04:12 PM

    Again, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this is causing you. We understand that this is something that should be fixed so I will be forwarding this to our manager for further consideration.

    Thank you.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support Manager

    Answered by Jeanette on May 10, 2017 at 05:01 PM

    I have sent an email to the team in charge of the uploads feature asking for an update.

    I can truly understand the frustration, hopefully my email will stir this ticket up.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on May 11, 2017 at 09:27 AM

    Sorry, my confidence is pretty low.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Rose on May 24, 2017 at 03:51 AM

    We are really sorry for this delay and inconvenience. 

    We tested it several times with even 600MB file and we could not reproduce the issue in no way. In addition, it was also tested as connected to the same location to see if there is anything we missed, but still no chance to replicate it.

    Could you please try it again and let us know the outcomes you find out? 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on May 24, 2017 at 10:00 AM

    So they fixed it! Yah! Just tried it with 560MB file, worked. Thank you JotForm!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on May 24, 2017 at 11:09 AM

    I'm very glad it worked for you!

    I would like to thank you for your patience during this resolution. We appreciate that very much.

    Do not hesitate to contact us anytime!