What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    File upload: Bigger files fail to upload

    Asked by ctphoto on July 18, 2016 at 03:22 PM

    This keeps happening for my customers and me.

    Page URL:
    https://stillrivereditions.com/send_a_file.html

    Screenshot
    FTP source code
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 18, 2016 at 04:09 PM

     

    I tried several times to upload a file to your page and it worked without any problem as you can see in this screencast below:

    Also, I uploaded the same file extension as you did on your screenshot and that worked as well:

    So I'm not sure if it is related to the Internet connection, Browser or if it was some temporary issue.

    Can you please let us know if the issue still persists? 

    Thank you! 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 18, 2016 at 04:25 PM

    Two things, the files are much larger then that my customers send me, 200-400MB. And I have it set up so the submit button shows after then enter the password. Could that be an issue too?

     

    Its happening from several customers using different browsers etc...

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 18, 2016 at 04:57 PM

    Thank you for the additional info, I just uploaded 200MB file and it went fine, you should see it in your submissions.

    Maybe it was just the temporary glitch. A Password requirement shouldn't affect the upload field.

    Could you please try again and let us know if the issue persists?

    Thank you!

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 18, 2016 at 08:46 PM

    I just tried it from my home computer, same issue happening. I tried a 200MB file, that worked, tried a 500MB file that did not work. Tried it in Safari and Firefox.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on July 18, 2016 at 11:36 PM

    It is highly possible that the issue was being caused by script conflict between your form and those in your website page.

    I noted that you were using the full source code embed of the form https://www.jotformpro.com/form/30177694951968 on your website.

    But there were also existing jquery scripts on your website page. This must conflicting with the form scripts.

     

    Can you not use instead the iframe embed code of the form? Using the iframe embed should prevent any script conflict from happening and will make sure the form will function fully.

    User guide: Getting-the-form-iFrame-code

    Please try re-embedding the form using its iframe publish code and then observe if upload script is still not working.

    Let us know if this did not resolve the issue. 

    Thanks.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 21, 2016 at 04:13 PM

    It is now iframe embed code. Still not working, failing on 573MB file attempt.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 21, 2016 at 06:29 PM

    I did one test with 500+ mb file and it failed. Allow me some time to test this more and we'll get back to you.

    It could be that this larger files break during the upload.

    I'll do some more tests.

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 21, 2016 at 06:50 PM

    Thank you Nik_C

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on July 22, 2016 at 04:13 AM

    I did some more testing with your form. And I was able to replicate this issue. At first I thought it is my internet connection, but now I tested on higher speed internet and same issue is happening.

    With that said, I forwarded this thread to our developers for more deep checking. We'll inform you through this thread as soon as we have any new information.

    Thank you for your patience.

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 31, 2016 at 09:02 AM

    It has been nine days, any solution yet? This is hampering my business.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on July 31, 2016 at 10:58 AM

    The form is FTP integrated, please try removing the integration and see if that helps:

    https://www.jotform.com/help/177-How-to-enable-FTP-on-form-submissions

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 31, 2016 at 11:28 AM

    But if I turn that off how will I get my uploads to my FTP? The failure is happening before the upload begins I believe.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on July 31, 2016 at 12:58 PM

    I see this has been already escalated to our second level. We will need to wait until we get a resolution from the developer in charge of this case. You will be updated via this thread.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on July 31, 2016 at 01:06 PM

    That was ten days ago, still nothing?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on July 31, 2016 at 01:18 PM

    Unfortunately, we haven't received any udpates yet, and there isn't an estimated time-frame for a resolution.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on August 05, 2016 at 01:38 PM

    Its been 15 days now, any updates?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on August 05, 2016 at 02:38 PM

    No, there haven't been any updates from our second level yet. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on August 09, 2016 at 03:18 PM

    I looked into some of your widgets but they all have file size limits and no way to have them uploaded directly to my FTP or you have to pay for monthly upload space from the widget developer.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on August 09, 2016 at 04:45 PM

    Our file upload widgets don't have the option to control the sizes so it is still recommended to use our regular file upload fields. Some of the widgets are developed by a third party and they have that option to apply a paid only option. 

    The priority of the ticket is high so what we can do now is to wait for our developers give us an update on this issue. 

    Thank you for your patience and understanding.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on August 18, 2016 at 10:31 AM

    Its been another 9 days, any update?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on August 18, 2016 at 12:07 PM

    We apologize, there is still no update from our developers. The issue has a very important priority so you can expect it to be fixed in the near future. As soon as our developers give us some update on the issue we will let you know. 

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on September 16, 2016 at 12:13 PM

    This is still happening, I have been very patient, but you folks really need to get this fixed. Since July 18th!!!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on September 16, 2016 at 01:32 PM

    I asked the assigned developer to give us an update here. Hopefully, he will respond today. Our apologies for taking this too long. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on October 03, 2016 at 04:25 PM

    I see no response from the developer, what gives?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on October 03, 2016 at 05:29 PM

    I'm sorry about that. I will ask assigned developer if there is any update regarding this ticket.

    Our apologies again.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on November 27, 2016 at 08:15 AM

    Still waiting, have not heard from anyone about this issue. :(

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Mike_G on November 27, 2016 at 10:25 AM

    Unfortunately, we have not heard anything from our development team regarding this matter. And we would like to apologize if we cannot provide any ETA to when this will be fixed, however, please be assured that once we have updates, we'll inform you right away. I will also send a message to the developer that is assigned to this thread.

    Thank you

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on November 27, 2016 at 11:06 AM

    It looks like you have been doing that since July, perhaps there is a way to up the priority?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BDAVID on November 27, 2016 at 12:31 PM

    No, there isn't a way to setup a priority or expedite the process. We have sent messages to our back-end team, but unfortunately, there isn't any updates yet.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by ctphoto on November 27, 2016 at 05:46 PM

    Isn't four months long enough without a solution?

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on November 27, 2016 at 05:53 PM

    We apologize for the delays. There is no update yet from our developer assigned on the bug ticket report. I will do a follow up again on your behalf.

    Thank you.