What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Previewing answers before submission

    Asked by SunbridgeInstitute on November 08, 2016 at 02:39 PM

    Hi there. We would like for our users to preview one or two of their answers just as a way to highlight certain important fields before submission. 

    Til now I have been using the Preview Before Submit Widget, but this is not effective because the forms are too long and users skim or skip all of it during preview.

    I see that you are allowing users to hide some of the fields if they are typed in precisely, but would it be possible to have the opposite be true--that I can show only certain fields as typed in? It is time-prohibitive for me to type in over 100 fields that I want to hide.

    Thank you so much for considering it.

     

    before submission preview vice versa hidden fields
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on November 08, 2016 at 07:38 PM

    Hi,

    I see that you are allowing users to hide some of the fields if they are typed in precisely, but would it be possible to have the opposite be true--that I can show only certain fields as typed in? 

    Can you please reiterate your question... I apologize for I was not able to fully understand what exactly it was you require. 

    Actually you can also hide or not show fields you want in the Preview before submit when using the widget.

    Example:

     

    Are you not able to use this option in the Preview widget?

    We will wait for your updated response.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by SunbridgeInstitute on November 09, 2016 at 08:38 AM

    Yes, I am using the Preview widget. I was just hoping that I could have a preview widget that did not show ALL of my 100+ fields to the user. There are really only 2-3 fields that I wanted them to check before submitting.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by John_Benson on November 09, 2016 at 09:26 AM

    Unfortunately, there's no way to do it vice versa. The only way is to type all Labels that you don't want to show in your preview form.

    If you like, we can forward a feature request to our developers about this. However, we cannot provide any exact dates when will this be implemented. Let us know if that is okay with you.

    Hope that helps. Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by SunbridgeInstitute on November 09, 2016 at 10:25 AM

    I had a new idea; maybe there is a creative solution for this...

    Could I create a new screen (as in, instead of "submit" it says "move ahead to next screen" or something like that)...

    then maybe I can create a field there that pre-fills the answer with the same answer that was given on the previous screen?

    Then maybe this is a way that the user can review what was input, and change it right there if it was wrong?

    Something like that would work. And if this is possible, I sure would love to have some specific instructions as I'm unaware how I could pull this off on my own.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by John_Benson on November 09, 2016 at 11:53 AM

    I created a workaround based on your idea. Please check my demo form: https://form.jotform.com/62764819043966

    I added a page break to the form and rename the next button to "Preview". I also created a conditions that will copy the input field of "Important Label #1" and "Important Label #2" that will be shown into the fields of the next page. You can also clone my form to view it on your Form Builder. If this is what you want, I can make a steps by steps guide.

    Hope that helps. Thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by SunbridgeInstitute on November 09, 2016 at 12:03 PM

    That's terrific! I love it! Thank you so much!

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by John_Benson on November 09, 2016 at 01:30 PM

    My pleasure. :)

    If you want further help, contact us again.