What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Preview before submit: Not applying to all submit buttons in the form

    Asked by madjakstudiosinc on January 28, 2017 at 09:58 AM

    Hey everyone, 

    I have a form here that has two different paths a customer can take to subscribe. I'm using the preview widget. 

    But for some reason that I can't figure out I don't get a preview for the second submit.  I tried: 

    - deleting the widget, putting it back in

    - deleting the submit buttons and putting them back 

    - putting the widget in different places on the form. 

    Nothing makes a difference.

    And it's weird because in the beginning that worked just fine.. 

    If anyone has an idea I'd be really thankful. 

     

    Chris 

    Page URL:
    http://dave-s-cool-site-b93e0c.webflow.io/agreement

    Screenshot
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on January 28, 2017 at 10:32 AM

    I checked your form, but I'm not sure I completely understood the problem. I see that on submit button Preview is there, but I'm not sure why you have two submit buttons. Submit button will always submit the same information, I mean you can not have two different submit buttons that will submit differently. 

    With that said, you can have one submit button with preview before submit widget.

    If I misunderstood your problem, please let us know so we can have a closer look.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on January 28, 2017 at 10:50 AM

    Hey, Nik, 

    Thanks a lot for taking a look. 

    Let me try to clarify. 

    I have two different submit buttons, because customers can take two different paths. I would want the preview widget to work on both of them. Right now it only works on the first. 

    On the bottom of the second page,  the customers can chose either yes or no. No is preselected.

    But choosing yes, means you get directed to a different submission page, where you don't have to fill out more information. There is of course a submit button there, and I would like there to also to be a preview before submit.

    Am I making sense ? 

    Chris 

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on January 28, 2017 at 10:55 AM

    Or on a second look, are you saying I that the preview before submit widget will only ever work for one of my submit buttons? 

    Because I understood from other forum posts here, that it would always work on all the submit buttons in the form.. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on January 28, 2017 at 11:09 AM

    Or did was the functionality of the widget changed? Does it not allow multiple previews anymore? 

     

    Because in this post, where Jonathan explains how to do what I want, he links to an example form with multiple previews, and it also has only one preview button now. 

    Here is the post I'm referring to: 

    https://www.jotform.com/answers/524258-How-to-have-Preview-before-submit-on-multiple-page-form

    here is the link to Jonathan's example form: 

    http://www.jotform.me/form/50577402929461

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by liyam on January 28, 2017 at 12:35 PM

    Hello Chris,

    On Jonathan's example, what he did there is just provide an instant method for a person to make a submission. 

    All submit buttons, when used on a form, only work as one and the same. Meaning, they do not go to different directions or different paths. All points to an action URL of the form.

    What happens in Jonathan's example is that it shows a preview of the information entered on to the form. This simply reflects the information what the user entered. It just gives the impression that it's going on to a different path but what is happening is that the user is presented the information based on the information he entered. You will notice on the form that if you have provided an input on every page, all those information will appear on preview.

    So what you can do is place a condition on your page breaks depending on which a person should land to after a match in the conditions is met. You can check this guide for more information: https://www.jotform.com/help/350-How-to-Skip-Pages-Using-Conditional-Logic

     

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on January 28, 2017 at 01:28 PM

    Hey Ilyam, 

     

    thanks a lot for getting back to me. 

    I get it. Different paths, conditional logic, only one submit button, that can appear in multiple instances across the form. 

    I also understand that the preview widget shows all the information entered over the form. That's exactly what I want. And what I had like a week or two ago. 

     

    When I have multiple instances of the submit button on my form, I should have a preview button, for each of those instances. Before I can submit the form. I shouldn't be able to submit the form with out previewing my information. 

    But that does not work anymore.  Not even in Jonathan's form.  Have a quick look at it: 

    You only get a preview on the first page/section. On all the following pages you get the submit button directly.

    http://www.jotform.me/form/50577402929461

    I'm fairly sure that wasn't case before. And that Jonathan wanted that people were able to review submission on each and every of the form pages a person could submit their information. That was point of the whole exercise. 

    Here is how preview button should behave ( answer from David from another thread): 

    Answered by david on August 05, 2016 at 01:23 PM

    The preview before submit button replaces the submit button.  Anywhere there is a submit button in your form, there will be a preview button in the form.  Place the submit button on the last page of the form and remove and other submit buttons if you would only like a single preview button in the form.

     

    So I'm wondering, why does this not work anymore? Is this something we can fix? 

    Appreciate your input!

    Chris 

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Nik_C on January 28, 2017 at 02:59 PM

    I did some tests and apparently, that widget will pick up the first submit button in the form and apply the preview feature, so the second one will be regular submit button.

    I'm not sure if this worked differently before, or if something is changed so it is not working like that anymore. Anyhow, I will forward this thread to our backend team for additional investigation. 

    We'll get back to you as soon as possible with an update regarding this problem.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on January 28, 2017 at 04:09 PM

    Hey Nik, 

    Great to hear.

    Your tests echo my own experience. Thanks for looking into this. Really appreciate it. 

    Looking forward to hearing what your backend team has to say. 

    Best 

    Chris 

     

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on February 03, 2017 at 02:36 PM

    Hey Nik, 

    any updates from your devs on the matter? 

    Best 

    Chris 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by BJoanna on February 03, 2017 at 03:37 PM

    Unfortunately we do not have any updates. One of our developers is assigned to this ticket and priority is set of very important. When this issue is resolved we will update you via this thread. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by madjakstudiosinc on February 03, 2017 at 05:31 PM

    Great to hear. 

    thanks Joanna

     

    Chris

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by widgets on February 15, 2017 at 06:47 AM

    Hi, this should be okay now. Please try it again and let us know if the problem persist.

    Regards,
    Widget Team