Uncaught type error: Embedded form showing required error even though fields are filled

  • Profile Image
    Asked on July 30, 2019 at 07:30 PM

    Having trouble with our Jotform's dropdowns, they are saying "This field is required" even when an option has been selected.

    Please see this screencap:


    Do we have something wrong in our settings?

    Thank you

  • Profile Image
    Answered on July 30, 2019 at 08:19 PM

    I tested your standalone form and the one embedded on your web site. I was able to replicate your issue on your embedded form, but not on the standalone form. Your standalone form submitted fine without any issues. So the issue is not on the form.


    Please embed your form on your website using the iFrame code and check if that resolves the issue.

    Related Guide for reference: Getting-the-Form-iFrame-Code

  • Profile Image
    Answered on July 30, 2019 at 10:49 PM

    How can the issue not be the form?

    It seems to work when using the iframe. However, we don't want to use the iframe code, we want to embed the form using the source code and style it so it looks like our site, which is a selling point you guys use, and a requirement for us.

    It was working fine a couple weeks ago. Could it have something to do with you guys going to Jotform 4.0?

    Thanks for your continued assistance.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on July 31, 2019 at 12:17 AM

    We apologize for this inconvenience caused. I could see an "Uncaught type error" in the console log. 


    On further research, this seems to be a WordPress plugin or theme conflict. Please attempt to disable all plugins, and switch to the default Twenty Nineteen theme. If the problem goes away, enable them one by one to identify the source of the problem.

    For more troubleshooting please check this link: https://wordpress.org/support/topic/uncaught-typeerror-b-not-filter-mediaelementplayer-is-not-a-func/ 

    Please try the solution suggested in this link and let us know the outcome. If the issue persists, we will escalate it to our back end team for further investigation.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on July 31, 2019 at 05:13 PM

    It works when switching to Twenty Nineteen, but that doesn't help us, as we need this to work with our current theme (Salient). Can you please escalate? The form was working fine as of a couple weeks ago with Salient.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on July 31, 2019 at 07:02 PM

    We apologize for the trouble caused. 

    Let me check with our back end team. We will keep you apprised on updates as soon as we receive them.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 06, 2019 at 08:24 PM

    Just checking back in, any update? We need to implement this JotForm.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 06, 2019 at 09:35 PM

    We apologize for the delay on this. We have received no updates so far, however, I can see your issue has been assigned to one of the teams and marked with the important category. 

    Please be informed that we cannot provide an ETA on this and our team should get back to you as soon as there is an update.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 13, 2019 at 11:46 PM

    Another week has gone by... still nothing?

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 14, 2019 at 04:52 AM

    I'm sorry, but the issue is still being worked on.

    We'll inform you as soon as the issue is resolved.

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image
    Colleen Howes
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 01:01 PM

    What is going on here? Can someone call me please?

    949 756-1001

    Colleen Howes- President

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 01:24 PM

    We're sorry for the inconvenience.

    The issue is still being worked on by our backend team. 

    We'll inform you as soon as it is resolved via this thread since we don't have phone support.

    Thank you for your patience.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 01:36 PM

    This is not OK and frankly I am NOT patient!  I have been paying for jotform for several months and still can not use the forms. I would like to ask for a refund for the monthly payments until this is resolved.  Please advise


  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 01:46 PM

    Sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. I checked the status of this thread and I saw that our developers are still working on it. The priority of your ticket is set to important. I will check with our developers if there is any update. If there is, we will inform you via this thread right away.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 01:48 PM

    Thank you and may I please get a credit for the months I have paid and haven't been able to use the forms?

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 02:09 PM

    We do apologize for the ongoing issue.

    We can refund your subscription however, your account would be downgraded to free.

    Looking forward for your response.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 03:01 PM

    I am asking for a credit for the months I have paid and haven't been able to use the forms. I don't want to downgrade. 

    What I really need is for someone on your end to fix the issues that have been going on for so long.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 23, 2019 at 03:41 PM

    Hello @sabpinc - I can totally relate to your frustrations. Your issue was escalated to our developers on Jul 31, 2019. Almost a month later, your ticket is still open with no updates. Please accept my apologies on behalf of everyone.

    We value long-term relationships with our customers and yours is no exception. So, I refunded the most recent transaction charged to your card. On top of that, I also increased the priority of this ticket to expedite the process and will coordinate with the developer assigned to your case. Thanks for being with us for all these years and I hope this setback won't cause you to lose trust in our service.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 26, 2019 at 08:34 AM

    Hello Sabpinc,

    First of all, we are sorry for our late response to this issue and inconveniences it has caused so far.

    We investigated your concern and unfortunately found out that error is not originating from our side. The theme you are currently using (Salient) overrides our validation logic for the dropdown fields by changing its structure. 

    A recent update that came to that theme might have caused this issue as you were not receiving this error before then. If there is a setting that affects the dropdown fields on your theme, changing it (or disabling it) might also help. There are a few possible workarounds for this issue, some of them are already mentioned by our colleagues.

    Firstly, our recommended workaround for this issue is, you can use the iFrame embed method of the form. As far as I understand you don't want to use the iFrame method because of the styling changes. However, you can use custom CSS codes on your form to make its styling more suitable for your website. Also, you can use one of our themes for your form. You can check the guide below for more information regarding injecting Custom CSS codes.


    The second workaround is using single choice fields instead of dropdown fields. As there is a conflict between our dropdown fields and your current website theme. You can add single choice fields to your form and use them instead of the dropdown fields. However, if you choose this workaround, you shouldn't delete your dropdown fields as it may result in a loss of submission data. You can hide them instead.

    We will be in contact with you through this thread if you require further assistance regarding this case.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 27, 2019 at 03:28 PM

    The theme changes the structure of the dropdown field. The dropdown has its own validation logic. However, it is in conflict with the theme and the two can not work together at the moment.

    I would recommend you to try to follow one of the workarounds suggested by my colleague. Please give them a try and let us know, how it goes.

    Thank you for your patience and understanding.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 28, 2019 at 05:11 AM

    Can you elaborate on this? What is it doing to the structure exactly?

    In order to apply its theme to dropdown fields, this theme alters our form by adding additional HTML code. And this additional code breaks our validation logic since its dependant on the exact structure of its original HTML code.

    To give an example, this is what the HTML code of our dropdown fields should look like.


    And this is the HTML code of the dropdown field altered by your theme.

    The area marked with red is the additional code comes from your theme which breaks our validation logic.

    The workarounds stated before are currently the only solution to this issue from our side.

    Hope this information helps.