What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.

  • Profile Image

    Bug: Can't submit the form due to number field strict required validation

    Asked by afreitas1209 on March 21, 2013 at 10:16 AM

    Our form that we created does not work proper.

    Since i started using one of your forms we received feedback from our users the website form was not letting them to submit. However when we tried ourselfs it seem to be working just fine, so we assumed that it was a very small number of people with very old browsers. 

    As till last week we continue to receive few number of submitions then all the sudden it all stop, so we whent and try to submit one ourslefs to our surprise when we clicked submit it did not work at all. So my question is: Is this a temporary issue? For how long this as been happening? Does your form works cross browser, including on mobile?

    One thing i am sure since we removed your form system and replaced with an basic from one the number of submittions jumped. So to resume unless the issue is fixed asap, we will not be renewing the service.

    I look foward in hearing from you in what mayve the issue.

    Kind Regards,

    Agostinho Freitas 

    Page URL:

  • Profile Image

    Answered by eusu_sport on March 21, 2013 at 10:20 AM

    I am having the exact same issue, people can fill in the answers but when they hit submit nothing happens. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by KadeJM on March 21, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    Hello Agostinho, I took a look at your form and I see that you are using a custom email domain host as your email address including in your Email Notification Setup, can you please try changing the Sender Email to the default NOREPLY@JOTFORM.COM as suggested in this guide http://www.jotform.com/help/208-How-to-setup-email-alerts-to-prevent-email-bouncing-related-issues which may also help you with email issue. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by KadeJM on March 21, 2013 at 12:36 PM


    We would like to request that you please open your problem in a New Thread to avoid confusion so that we can give each invidiual appropriate focus on the problem even if it is related or similar, thank you.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by Agostinho on March 21, 2013 at 01:01 PM

    Please read my initial problem in full. The problem is not that i do not receive the notification email but that our users are unable to submit the form to us. After filling in all the details on click submit nothing happens, no confirmation on screen, the submission details do not show online on my account nor i receive them through email.

    However, it started recently as till last week all was ok. Can you please try the form for yourself, you may just find out what im talking about.

    Just to make sure the issue was not related to what you have mention i went ahead and changed the Notification sender email to default but the issue still remains.

    Please get back to me asap...

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jeanettebmz on March 21, 2013 at 01:29 PM


    We apologize  for not being careful while reading in full the explanation of  the issue, I can see you stated that you were surprised that the form was not even submitting when pressing the submit button

    I just was able to reproduce the problem while trying to submit from your Website.

    However, the problem is not present when opening and submitting the form on its standalone version. I just sent a submission with no problem

    So, I inspected the code of your webpage.  The problem seems related to the fact  that your page is missing a very important piece of code, a DOCYTPE declaration


    So, please insert this declaraton right above the html tag

     <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

    If the problem persist, you might want to remove the current script type code and embed the iFrame version of the form


  • Profile Image

    Answered by afreitas1209 on March 21, 2013 at 01:57 PM

    The problem is present when on the form it asks “HIRE TYPE” if here you choose continual hire the form will go through ok, but if you choose anything else the form just does not submit. Anyway, I have added the code to the site and also changed to iFrame please give another try.


  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on March 21, 2013 at 03:13 PM


    Thanks for reporting. I believed this was affected to the features added on the number tool just now. Let me forward this to our dev team so they can fixed this as quickly as possible. Thanks!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by KadeJM on March 21, 2013 at 03:19 PM



    Please accept my deepest apologies, it has been brought to my attention that I completely overlooked an important part of your problem at the beginning of this thread that was actually involving the Submit button not working which led to my incorrect answer.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by jeanettebmz on March 21, 2013 at 10:03 PM

    I would suggest as  a temp workaround to replace numeric fields with texbox alphanumeric until the issue is resolved. Also, required field and hide conditional will not work . You should remove the required validation if you use conditional show/hide

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by kenneth on March 22, 2013 at 04:59 AM

    Hello, the trending bug for the number tool is fixed, please try it again, and if its still persist report back.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by on March 22, 2013 at 05:52 AM

    Problem presists. I'm sorry i dont want to be rude but shoulnt you try to the form yourself before you report as fixed. The form it's live here: http://www.go-easylimo.co.uk/quoteform.htm

    Its just this form is very important to us, it has been used for our customers to submit a price enquiry to us. Any missing details or if the form does not work proper would be a financial disaster for the company. Please have another look through the form if you have to change the structure of the form that is fine, just get back to me when 100% sure all works fine.



  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on March 22, 2013 at 07:02 AM


    We apologize for this. Yes, I was still able to reproduce the problem when I tested your form. I still cannot submit the form.

    But figured out the problem have to do with the hidden Number field (Number of Hours) due to condition in your form.

    Due to the hidden number field, the default value becomes empty, when this value is empty "Drop off Adddress" also become empty, thus preventing submission.

    What I can suggest for now is to workaround the form condition to simply always reveal the 'Number of  Hours' field so that it does not become empty.

    Please inform us if this suggestion can work for you.

    The bug ticket for this was re-opened to give way for a fix.




  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by kenneth on March 22, 2013 at 11:19 AM

    Hi, this problem should be fixed by now, please can you confirm if this works in your side as well? Also try to clean your browser cache.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by Pierre Coupet on July 27, 2013 at 04:04 PM


    "Answered by jeanettebmz on March 21, 2013 at 10:03 PM

    I would suggest as  a temp workaround to replace numeric fields with texbox alphanumeric until the issue is resolved. Also, required field and hide conditional will not work . You should remove the required validation if you use conditional show/hide"


    Conditions used to work perfectly.  Not an iota of problems. Great coding.  However, that is all in the past!

    Initially I suspected that this could be the reason why our clients are having problems submitting our forms since I have noticed that changes have been made to the code for Conditions without notifying us of these changes and the devastating impact it was going to have on us.    We had to go back and fix the conditions on some forms in order to make sure that they work.   Haven't yet had a chance to go through all the forms we have in order to see how they have been affected.   This is a Catastrophic Error on the part of management and a very callous and inconsiderate decision.  If anybody in my company had screwed up that big, I would have fired them on the spot.

    Therefore, assuming that is the case, meaning it is a central problem related to "Conditions", then that is something that Jotform's developers should fix immediately.   That would definitely explain the reason why so many Jotform clients have been affected by this "unable to submit" problem and why a form will work for some and not for others. 

    Jotform clients - as well as our form applicants - should not be left in a perpetual limbo - without receiving any kind of notification that a serious problem exists.   At the very least,  a form user  should receive some sort of Error Notice which pinpoints the problem - as is normally the case when a user fails to fill out a required field.    

    I am really disappointed at management for this kind of major screw-up and cover-up.    I don't mind the screw-up - that's life and people make mistakes.  It's the cover-up that incenses me.   Let us know what the hell is going on and FIX the problem. 
    I want to make this very clear:  I don't have a problem with Customer Support.  They have always been very responsive and top of the line; and they do their very best to keep us happy and satisfied.   
    The problem we are having goes beyond Customer Support and is a back-end  development issue.   The developers are the ones who need to step up to the plate and do what they are being paid for.  Enough is enough.  The CEO of Jotform needs to know that the buck stops here!   
    This used to be a great company and I used to love to refer everyone I could to Jotform, but now I find myself in a very uncomfortable position of having to tell my customers that the problem they are having has to do with our form provider Jotform - so that they don't blame us for being a bunch of incompetents who can't even create and test a form before they release it out to the public and their customers.   This is EMBARRASSING!   
    I would appreciate it if Customer Support would CC this comment to the CEO of the company because he/she sure needs to know how his clients really feel about this situation.  
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on July 27, 2013 at 08:01 PM

    Hi Pierre,

    Please create a separate thread for your question here http://www.jotform.com/contact

    Since you have only joined this old thread, I was not able to get the initial required details (i.e. form,browsers, username) to be able to assist you immediately.

    The issue mentioned on this thread was already resolved/fixed. The reason this thread was closed already.

    Please create your own topic and we will attend to it as soon as we can.