What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Conditions don't work if form field is changed?

    Asked by cheekyface on May 24, 2013 at 02:25 AM

    Hi.

    I'm sure I'm not making this up but it appears to me that if after I have set a condition (or in this case conditions that affect more than one question in the form) that it will stop working if I change the title of the field.   So for example I set up a few show/hide conditions based on various quetion options and it worked fine.  I then later made a few changes to the questions for some of the fields that were in the conditions.  Liek a simple re-wording to make it sound clearer.  Later when I tested the form the conditions no longer worked.

    I tried another browser and clearing the cache but still nothing so I just deleted the conditions and set them again and it worked fine.

    I then noticed another change I had to make and hesitantly re-worded a couple of fields and again the conditions stopped working.  I'm just about to delete and re-create thos same conditions now for the 3rd time.

    I wanted to alert you to this as a possible bug.  I guess you can try it for yourselves but if it doesn't replicate the same result for you then maybe try it with more conditions.  I've suspected this before but then wasn't sure if it was just me or the fact that some conditions may have been in conflict (even though they worked to begin with). 

    lately it seems to me that it's more likely something to do with altering the fields after a condition is set.

    Page URL:
    conditionsnotworking,logic

    form field cache create stopped working
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on May 24, 2013 at 04:04 AM

    Hi,

    Thanks for contacting us. If I remember, we have this issue before but everything has been sorted by our developers. I've clone your form https://www.jotform.com/31251046818854, made the changes to the fields with all the present majority conditions but I am not able to replicate the same.

    Cloned form: http://www.jotformpro.com/form/31431722055949

    It is probably just because of Form Caching our end. We have just added a function on user's end so they can clear their forms cache, have you tried that? You can access this in My Account - Settings Section: http://jotform.co/myaccount/settings

    After you have made the changes, please try to clear your "Forms Cache". See if this will resolved such issues or delays with the changes to your form.

     

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 24, 2013 at 04:55 AM

    Thanks for that.

    Not sure if you were lookin gat the right page btu i just tested the cloned form you sent me and it's not acting as it should.  I think it's page 12

    these are the options that are supposed to trigger show fields ...each option has a different field show and only the last one works.

    Select the most suitable option below 

     -Enter more Date/s and Hours for the original location -Enter more Locations - the Date/s and Hours are the same as prviously entered (you can add notes if you need) -Enter more locations with at least one Date or Hours that differ from original requirement -I have more than 5 dates / prefer to enter a detailed paragraph of the requirements?
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on May 24, 2013 at 10:28 AM

    Hi,

    I did a quick test on a simple form if changing the field name can affect the already setup conditions.

    The 2 image below shows the changed in field name and the outlook of setup conditions.

    As seen on the 2nd image(after changing the "Your Name" field), the existing conditions was also able to change accordingly.

    Before the fixed done by our developers, you will have to manually change the field name accordingly in the conditions wizard if you made amendment on the field label name.

    What I am trying to say is, the failing condition logic is probably not caused by the changes on the labels of field names. More probable cause could be a faulty condition logic.

    We will be more than glad to assist you come up with the working condition.

    But yours is a very large and complex form..., it would help us expedite with a solution if you can also help us pinpoint which among the numbered condition is failing (since you are more familiar with your form).

    Tell us which condition it is, and we will dedicate more time to it.

    We will wait for your updated response.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 25, 2013 at 02:15 AM

    Thank you for that.  I'm very sorry to have wasted your time.  I changed the set up so that the showing fields would appear on the next page but I forgot I did that and expected them to show on the same page.  It works fine.  Thank you for your time. 

    Sorry again, I'm just pressured to finish this ASAP and it's taking me forever so not thinking clearly.

    Danny.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 26, 2013 at 06:55 AM

    Would you mind please checking the following logic settings at your end to see if they work as per the settings.

    Here at my end it doesn't show according to what I've set up.  

    The conditions are from 46-56 on the form:
    http://form.jotform.co/form/31251046818854

     

    There are conditions that are supposed to show multiple fields (all the same field type with different names.  For example if someone wants to provide 4 more locations with 4 different times then they should be presented with 4 address fields and 4 time fields.  It doesn't actually seem to be displaying as per my settings though.  Instead when I select to show 4 of a particular field then it only shows field number 4) and if I select the option for 3 more addresses then it'll display number 3 of each.  

    Looking at the conditions for what seems to be an obvious error on my part is not helping me as it seems on closer inspection that I have actually set the conditions correctly and identified each field that should show.  So for example when 4 address fields need to show then I have input 4 differently named fields but all still address fields.  They were however all duplicates of one then I renamed them so possibly this has somethign to do with it.

    I just hope I'm not overlooking something completely obvious and I guess I need your help or eyes to check that I haven't done that.

    Another thing I also just noticed is condition 57 was not the last condition I created yet it's the last in the list and the highest numbered condition.  I can't even remember when I created that one so it would have been long before any of the last 10 conditions.

    Hope you can help.

    Cheers,
    Danny.

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by jonathan on May 26, 2013 at 11:31 AM

    Hi Danny,

    I could see the fault in the condition 50 onwards.. those that needs to show more than 1 opiton

     

    My suggestion -- please try using the technique from this guide 

    How-to-Hide-or-Show-Multiple-Fields-at-Once-Based-On-a-Single-Conditional-Entry

    Use the collapse field to group relevant fields. So that, when you are in the condition wizard, you do not have to repeat calling each fields. You can just call the 1 collapse field were the other fields are sticky to it.

     

    Another thing I also just noticed is condition 57 was not the last condition I created yet it's the last in the list and the highest numbered condition.  I can't even remember when I created that one so it would have been long before any of the last 10 conditions.

    You can re-arrange the conditions order.. just drag and drop them according to the number you like.

    Please inform us if you need further assistance.

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 27, 2013 at 02:12 AM

    Thanks Jonathan.  I'll give it a go although I'm not really sure I understand what you mean but I do have a some idea ...I think.  

    Are the collapse fields working properly?  I know there were unresolved issues with the collapse fields depending on which browser is used, that I read about a few months ago (maybe last year some time).  I had a problem with the collapse fields NOT showing any pages that folloed the collapse field (something like that) so I had to put all of mine right at the end of one form where I used them.

    I'll check it all out and will let you know if I have any problems either way.

    Thanks for your help.

    Cheers,
    Danny.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on May 27, 2013 at 06:10 AM

    Hi Danny,

    On behalf of my colleague, you're welcome.

    Regarding on the collapse field, they should work. There were many fixes on the collapse field few months ago, they now even works with page break element, FYI.

    Let us know if you come across any issues, we'd be happy to assist you here.

    Best Regards!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 29, 2013 at 02:27 AM

    I'm still working on this to try to figure out how to use the form collapse to make it work.  I need to be able to show as follows:

    there are:

    4 x address fields
    4 x time fields
    4 x Date fields

    depending on which number is required (2 additional dates &/or addresses or 3 or 4) then that is how many of the above items need to be displayed.  I don't see how I can do that with collapsing forms unless I create a section with 1 of each field and then another with 2 of each field and then 3 and so on.
    As I plan to integrate with zoho this might make it more complex so trying to avoid the uneccessary. Also there are three options that trigger the showing fields and one of them requires only the address fields to show and then again depending on how many.

    Can this be acheived with the collapsing fields without creating duplicates of the same fields to show in sections according to the number selected?

    Hope that makes sense.

     

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Welvin on May 29, 2013 at 03:15 AM

    Hi,

    Can this be achieved with the collapsing fields without creating duplicates of the same fields to show in sections according to the number selected?

    -Sorry, but you still need to add the fields into the form because we still don't have a function to dynamically add fields into the live form.

    I've made a sample form. Check it here: http://form.jotformpro.com/form/31481645889973?. Is this what you are trying to achieved?

    If so, I suggest you to modify the form and use "Spinner" field (Under Survey Tools) to trigger these fields to show.

    Use this conditional logic settings after that:

    ---------------

    The fields should be in this format in the form builder: https://shots.jotform.com/welvin/screen/e5o4ucbrf4.png

     

    Thanks

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 29, 2013 at 08:34 AM

     OK - thank you.  That looks good but still I guess with some added conditions I should be able to hide specific fields in each of those groups if they are not required based on the selection made.  Is that correct?  

     

    For instance the address field is the only one required for one of the options so if 4 address fields are needed then only 4 address fields should show.

    I'll try it in the next day or two but thought I'd ask ahead of time to save some time.

    Thank you!!

    Danny.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Founder

    Answered by aytekin on May 29, 2013 at 11:03 AM

    Yes, you can show/hide fields based on the answers on previous questions.

    If I am missing something please create a simple form on your account that only has few questions and describe the problem on it. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by cheekyface on May 30, 2013 at 10:08 AM

    Thank you guys! 
    I got it doing exactly what I want with your help above.  
    this is the shortened form version: http://form.jotform.co/form/31487673382867?

    I'm just about to alter the original form to include the same set up for that section.  I'm guessing the existing the rules and logic will not interfere with this whn I add it ...or vice-versa.  
    I'll let you know if I have any trouble but otherwsie thanks a heap!!  You saved me so much time.