What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.

  • Profile Image

    Demonstration of Required Field Not Functioning Correctly On Iphone

    Asked by markashton on April 22, 2011 at 12:12 PM


    Please see form here:


    The form has been embeded into the body section of a html page. There is nothing else in the body section.

    Although the form seems long there are only 2 fields - name and mobile and a submit button.

    The 2 fields have been set to required.

    Don't add anything to the fields. Just gently touch the submit.

    Nine out of 10 times it works as it should. If it works (by going red - field required), please just refresh the page.

    But the 10th time, and usually with a gentle touch, the form submits itself.

    And it is this, my hard rocking amigos, that has cost me about £450 and an unhappy customer. Yes, I'm irked to say  the least. Just one of those things unfortuantely.

    Would you be kind enough to test this on an iphone 4 to see if you can make the majic submission happen.

    I have added validation rules to the name field but the other field - the telephone field does not have the option - insanity I know...

    Thanks, Hope you can help ..

    Thisn is an edit .... I've just made this happen on desktop browser Chrome 10 too

    Regards mark

  • Profile Image

    Answered by markashton on April 23, 2011 at 06:12 AM


    I've had no response on this and so have no idea as to the status on it. It may have been missed, being considered, ignored ... who knows? Not me.

    However, out of all the posts I've made over the past couple of days, including the Jotform Feedback one: http://www.jotform.com/answers/22859-Jotform-feedback-from-a-power-user-leveraging-to-mobile-phones#2

    this I believe is the most important to both parties:

    1) to me as it is critical succes factor for form deployment to a client

    2) to jotform as a bug that affects a core function of jotforms i.e. the required field

    Due to a number of things going awol with this form I stripped it back to just 2 fields and a submit button and it still doesn't work properly.

    The required field does not work consistently. Both fields have been set to Required and yet quite happily this form makes random submissions when it feels like it. I reckon 30% of the time.

    Can you advise please on whether you have reproduced this error. I'd be most grateful.

    If it is not on the radar, for a matter of days, I understand. But I need to know to make an informed decision on how to proceed.

    Many thanks

    Regards Mark

  • Profile Image

    Answered by allanftd on April 23, 2011 at 02:34 PM

    Hi Mark,

    We apologize for the delay in response and if we gave you the impression that this has been ignored or neglected. This is not true. We are working in the background to fix this issue, and we appreciate that you promptly brought this to our attention. We take information such as these very seriously, and you will hear from us again as soon as this is thorughly tested and fixed.

    In the meantime, if you haven't done it yet, what I would suggest for you is to put another layer of protection by using the Validation feature on each required field.

    Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. Thank you for using JotForm!


  • Profile Image

    Answered by markashton on April 23, 2011 at 02:37 PM


    There is alphabetic validation on the name field already - to no avail.

    The telephone field has no option to apply validation - check it

    Thanks, Mark

  • Profile Image

    Answered by allanftd on April 23, 2011 at 02:47 PM

    Hi Mark,

    I see. You can use a text box instead of the Phone Number field and apply validation to it.

    Thank you for using JotForm!


  • Profile Image

    Answered by markashton on April 23, 2011 at 02:52 PM


    But then you lose the type="tel" attribute that brings up a numeric keyboard on Iphone. It's slicker.


  • Profile Image

    Answered by allanftd on April 23, 2011 at 03:07 PM

    Hi Mark,

    Please try to manually change the input type to "tel" in the text box and let us know how it goes.

    Thank you for using JotForm!


  • Profile Image

    Answered by markashton on April 24, 2011 at 07:12 AM


    How can one manually change the input type. I'm not using full source code method and don't want to. I was advised that one cannot change input type by Neil in previous post:




    Answered by NeilVicente

    Hi there,

    It is not possible to change input type by customizing css. Css is used only for styling elements and cannot affect how a form field behaves, or how it is processed by the form itself.

    THe only solution I could think of is by getting the form's using source code, changing the input type from "text" to "tel" and then embedding it right away. Be wary though that any other changes you made in your form inside the Form Builder will not reflect with your embedded form if you use Source as embed method.

    Hope this helps.



    Thanks Mark

  • Profile Image

    Answered by allanftd on April 24, 2011 at 07:54 AM

    Hi Mark,

    Thank you for your prompt response. Indeed, Cascading Style Sheets are largely used for aesthetic purposes and not really for functionality. Unfortunately, the only way for you to change the input type manually is by modifying the full source code.

    In the meantime, I have upped the priority of the ticket assigned for the original issue. Our developers are continuously working to provide a more permanent solution for this. We appreciate your patience and cooperation on this matter.

    Thank you for using JotForm!


  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by liyam on January 15, 2013 at 12:12 PM

    Hello Mark.  I know that this thread had been standing by for quite some time already, and we apologize for not updating you on this. 

    I'm not sure if there are still issues existing regarding this topic since there had been changes years ago done by the development team after the escalation of this thread to them.  Which I believe also that one of those changes answered to this concern.

    If this matter is still at hand, please do inform us.