Zapier Integration: Jotform just randomly refired all of my zaps

  • Profile Image
    Asked on August 18, 2020 at 09:02 AM

    We just had jotform refire all of our completed forms that were connected to zaps (over 100+).


  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 10:17 AM


    I am not sure if I understand what happened. Where all your Zapier integrations triggered somehow?

    We have not had any reports or issues to my knowledge that may have caused that.

    Looking forward to your reply.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 10:20 AM

    Hey Basil! Thanks for coming back. Here you go:

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 11:21 AM


    thank you for the screen capture it is very helpful. Just to confirm:

    I have checked the forms "Post Event Data" ( and "One-time/Event Project Form" (, I believe these were the two you have talked about.

    Currently, I do not see the Zapier Integration under the Integrations tab.

    Can you please confirm if this got removed, or were you connecting the form using the Zapier Application in the first place?

    Thank you in advance.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 11:22 AM

    Hi Anita - I logged in directly via Zapier.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 12:45 PM

    Hello @WRKMarketing,

    Thank you for the clarification.

    So, my understanding is that two of your old forms had all of their connected Zaps triggered simultaneously without a submission occurring, correct?

    I have checked your forms and it seems that the latest submissions for either do not match the time of the triggered zaps that you are seeing. However, it does seem that the form Post Event Data has had 3 submissions within the last 24 hours, so perhaps the zaps for this form were delayed.

    Unfortunately, we do not have access to your Zapier account, so, we are not able to see your task log or inspect it. You may want to bring this inquiry to Zapier Support and ask why these triggers happened.

    If they require any information from us, you can let us know and we will be happy to provide it.

    Also, if these forms are old and you no longer require the connected zaps, you may want to disconnect the integration to prevent something like this from happening again.

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 12:59 PM


    otform did the same thing in all mine; it randomly triggered thousands of zaps from form submissions. @Jotform, that's unacceptable. 
  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 02:27 PM

    Hi @medschoolcoach,

    I have moved your question to a new thread over here.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 05:25 PM

     I got this reply from Zapier (now I only wonder who will fix the chaos this created):


    Hey there,

    Thanks for reaching out! Happy to lend a hand there.

    Unfortunately, this happened because Jotform made an unexpected update to their app where this New Submissions trigger will now be able to "see" older results. Since this trigger previously only could "see" the last 10 submissions, this update was meant to be a fix, so that the trigger would not miss submissions.

    However, the way the update was made caused Zaps to trigger on old results, as you've seen here. This won't happen again, since it was a one-time update. I'm very sorry about the inconvenience there, we've reached out to Jotform to make sure we can collaborate with them to make sure this can't happen again with future updates!

    To help with this, I've added additional Tasks to your account for this month, so that this unexpected triggering can't affect your Task count. Please let me know if you have any further questions, I'd be happy to help if so!

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 05:26 PM

    Yeah we requested an increase as well. Looks like a jotform error (they built the zap).
  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 06:33 PM

    Hi @dctax, 

    I've moved your reply to another thread, and will reply there

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 18, 2020 at 06:37 PM

    Hi @WRKMarketing, 

    Thank you! I moved your reply to another thread accidentally, but we'll continue to reply here. 

    I have escalated it to our backend team too so they can make any required changes, and also so they are aware of Zapier's offer. 

    I apologize for the inconvenience caused. 

    If you have any other questions please do let us know. 

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 21, 2020 at 07:30 PM

    We apologize for the inconvenience. The issue has been fixed. It occurred due to an update in the amount of submissions that get pulled by Zapier in a time-interval.

    Deduplication checks have been implemented to ensure that this will not happen again.