Required fields are not working correctly

  • Profile Image
    pepjf
    Asked on October 03, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    Hello,

     

    It seems as if people are able to bypass some required field settings.  I have a form created:

    http://form.jotform.co/form/32535151535853

     

    I have made a lot of questions fields "required" but it looks like people are still able to submit the form without filling them out.  For example, there is a question on the first page of the form: 

    "If the answer to the above is greater than zero, how do you provide for them?"

     

    See attached sample form- the respondent inputed "4" in the question above this question and was still able to move to the next page and submit the form without inputting any response to the question I pasted for you above.

     

    Please let me know what I am doing incorrectly and how to fix.

     

    For other fields, I wanted people to explain themselves rather than just providing 2 word answers, how can I make a minimum word requirement?

     

    Thanks a lot.

  • Profile Image
    EliezerN
    Answered on October 03, 2013 at 01:59 PM

    Thanks for contacting us.

    I have tested you form, the required fiels and the conditions you have created works fine. I tried to skip to next page without answering the question "If the answer to the above is greater than zero, how do you provide for them?" but I wasn't able to pass to the next page:

    Do you have the form embeded to a webpage? If so, it could be that there's some script conflict between your form and your webpage. If that is the case the best solution is that you reembed your form, but now using the iFrame code of your form. Please refer this guide to know how to get the iFrame code: Getting the form iFrame code.

    Inregards to the "minimum word requirement" question, we would appreciate if you open a new thread as it is a bit different from the first one.

    If you need further assistance, don't hesitate to contact us.

    Thanks

  • Profile Image
    pepjf
    Answered on October 03, 2013 at 02:12 PM

    Thanks for your response.

     

    I didn't embed the form.  I just used a short url: www.tinyurl.com/JFFormPEP and this take us straight to the jot form website.  

     

    It's just not one person that has been able to bypass this, a couple of users have been.  I am not sure how to show you the forms that were submitted so maybe you can see what's behind it.

     

    Okay, I'll repost the other question.

  • Profile Image
    EliezerN
    Answered on October 03, 2013 at 02:58 PM

    I double checked your form and also cloned it but I wasn't able to reproduce the issue, see my video:

    https://shots.jotform.com/eliezer/Screen%20Captures/required_fields_not_working.swf

    I would suggest you to delete the current fields that are giving you troubles and and replace them with new ones, that might help.

    I also cleared your forms cache in order to resolved this issue, that could make some difference. Another solutiion could be to clone your form, refer this guide to know how to do it: 

    https://www.jotform.com/help/27-Form-Cloning

    Please follow my suggestions to remove the fields and re-add them, but if the issue still persist, don't hesitate to contact us.

    Thanks