What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.


  • Profile Image

    Form collapse not working on dreamweaver preview

    Asked by bdoodle on February 11, 2015 at 11:48 AM

    I'm developing a form with several collapsible sections.  It seems to be working fine in Firefox, but not in Chrome.  I didn't try it in IE yet.  The sections show up as collapsed to start, but do not "uncollapse" when the arrow is clicked. Before I go further, can you please tell me if I'm doing something wrong? It is not yet on a website, but the form is: http://www.jotform.com//?formID=50414897840158

    Thanks.

    collapse not working
  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on February 11, 2015 at 12:38 PM

    Hi,

    Chrome is my default browser but I never encounter any problem related with form collapse.

    I checked your form and only the following does not collapse obviously because it does not have elements under it. The rest are working just fine.

    Screencast: https://shots.jotform.com/elton/Screencast_01-35_12-02-2015.mp4 

    I would suggest to clear your Chrome browser's cache and try it again. That might help.

    Thank you!

  • Profile Image

    Answered by bdoodle on February 11, 2015 at 01:55 PM

    Hi,

       I cleared my cache, not including passwords and download history, and I closed and reopened Chrome.  It's still not working for me.  Could it be a Chrome setting?  Other ideas?

    Thanks.

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on February 11, 2015 at 02:07 PM

    Try to reset your chrome to its default settings first, this might help. Also, check if javascript is enabled on your browser.

    Another reason could be due to browser extensions. There may be browser extensions that conflicts with the collapse although this isn't most likely the case but mind checking your chrome browser extensions? If possible, try removing them and see if that makes any difference.

    If the problem still persist after performing the above steps, please check your browser console and provide to us any errors you see on the box so we can analyze the problem.

    Thanks for your cooperation.

  • Profile Image

    Answered by bdoodle on February 11, 2015 at 02:43 PM

    NOTE: Since I first asked for help with this form, I have deleted the Form heading element.  

    The collapsing sections work in IE, but not Firefox or Chrome.  (At an earlier point, they seemed to be working in Firefox, but no longer. )

    In Chrome, I have cleared my cache, checked my extensions (just Kaspersky and Google Drive), verified that Javascript is enabled, and looked at my console (empty.) I did not reset all my settings to the default because I'm going to want to restore my current settings and the form should work with them the way they are or I don't want to use it. 

    I have embedded the form script into my test website page in Dreamweaver and used its Preview in Browser menu options to view the form with the results reported above.  

    Thoughts?

  • Profile Image

    Answered by bdoodle on February 11, 2015 at 03:17 PM

    If I just put the direct link for the form into my Chrome browser, it works.  

  • Profile Image

    Answered by bdoodle on February 11, 2015 at 03:26 PM

    I just installed the code onto the website and it works in Chrome.  

     I don't understand the problem, but I work with things the way they are.

    Thanks for trying to help. 

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by EltonCris on February 11, 2015 at 03:28 PM

    Thanks for your reply. So you are embedding the form, thought you are accessing the direct link. :)

    Anyway, glad to hear it's working now. That's most probably due to the fact that Dreamweaver does not execute some of the scripts on its preview mode. Publishing the page should be of help.

    Cheers! :)