pop up form preview not showing edits

  • Profile Image
    rsleavengood
    Asked on March 07, 2012 at 12:55 PM

    I have made edits to my form.  When I preview it in a pop-up format, the edits have not been made.  When I view it in other formats the edits have been made.  Can you please asssit me?

  • Profile Image
    SeanDavis
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 01:39 PM

    Hi,

    Just to the left of the 'Preview' button is the 'Save' button.. JotForm automatically saves your form when you hit preview, however please try saving the form first and then hit preview..

    Also, please try clearing your browser cache, cookies and history.. I think this should resolve the issue..

    Let us know how you go..

    Cheers,

    Sean

  • Profile Image
    rsleavengood
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 02:31 PM


    Hi Sean,

    I cleared my cache and it didn't help.  I save it and it doesn't help. I log out and back in, and it doesn't matter.

    It is so odd that under most of the previews the form shows the edits, but some it does not.

    lightbox - shows changes
    iframe  - doesn't show changes
    test source code - shows changes
    embed- shows changes
    pop up - doesn't show changes

    Another weird thing - when i preview it shows changes, but when i open in new tab, the changes are not there.

    here is my form http://form.jotform.com/form/20241537935

    Any other ideas...

    Thank you,
    Sabrina

  • Profile Image
    ItalyTech
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 04:03 PM

    Hi Sabrina,

    Can you try to made changes with another browser ?

    I think it's a cache problem.

    However try with a different browser and let us know. Thanks.

     

    Alessandro

  • Profile Image
    rsleavengood
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 04:39 PM

    Hi Alessandro,

    I've been using Firefox so I switched to Safari and the same problems are occuring. I've cleared my cache, deleted history, cookies, etc.  I am not sure what else to do?  Is there anyway you can view my form and then try to view it in a new tab to so you can see what I'm talking about?

    Thank you,

    Sabrina

  • Profile Image
    ItalyTech
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 04:54 PM

    Sabrina I've edited your form and I've clicked directly on Preview button.

     

    this is the result:

     

    How can you see I can view form edited in Preview window.

     

    Try to clear cache please.

     

    Alessandro

  • Profile Image
    Stefanni
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 04:54 PM

    I'm thinking it may be a problem at the Jotform end....I also have problems with my form not showing updates, I've tried different browsers and also different PC's....cleaning cache & cookies is not the solution.

  • Profile Image
    ItalyTech
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 05:00 PM

    @ stefanni, As I said in your thread your is a cache or cookies problem because it work fine for me.

     

    Alessandro

  • Profile Image
    rsleavengood
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 05:17 PM

    Hi Alessandro,

    I see your edit too in standard preview.  But if I preview in a new tab, your edit does not show up.  Can you try to view your edit in a new tab and see if you can see your edit?  I'm choosing the jotform option of "open in new tab" and it does not show your edit.

    I promise you, I've cleared my cache....Firefox, preferences, advnaced, network, and then i clicked the clear cache now button. 

    Thank you,

    Sabrina

  • Profile Image
    Stefanni
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 05:21 PM

    Sabrina, I had to delete the form on my website, and then paste in another code from the jotform page to get the edits to be visible. You may want to try that too, it will save you a lot of time.

    It's funny I had to explain that I tried multiple browsers as well as another PC...so it was NOT a cookie and cache problem. I think the tech may have to clear everything from their cookies and cache and see that that does not solve the problem....LOL

  • Profile Image
    Mike_T
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 06:19 PM

    We are sorry for the inconveniences.

    It seems that we have a slight problem with the cached forms on our CDN (content distribution network). This problem has been already forwarded to our Development Team.

    The workaround is to use non-CDN form URLs. Let me please explain this, when you open the http://form.jotform.com/form/form_ID URL, it is loading from our CDN, while http://www.jotform.com/form/form_ID URL is not using CDN.

    In other words try to open http://www.jotform.com/form/20241537935 instead of http://form.jotform.com/form/20241537935

    Please give it a try and let us know if you need any further assistance.

  • Profile Image
    Stefanni
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 06:36 PM

    So Mike, does that mean that what I did to rectify the problem works fine or does not work? I had a hunch the problem was on the jotform end. I never got a reply on my thread.

    Thanks

    Stefanni

  • Profile Image
    fxr
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 06:39 PM

    Yes, there appears to be a replication issue on the JotForm end. 

    You can either use Mikes solution or your own Stefanni while the problem gets rectfied. 

     

    Thanks. 

  • Profile Image
    Stefanni
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 06:45 PM

    Thanks for the reply fxr, I appreciate it.

    I also do PC repairs and tried to explain to Alessandro that it was NOT a browser, cookies, cache issue on our end, but he kept insisting it was...LOL...glad the issue is being rectified.

    Thanks again

    Stefanni

  • Profile Image
    rsleavengood
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 06:47 PM

    Hi Mike,

    Thank you for taking the time to figure out my issue.  The workaround solution is working on my end.  When the issue is fixed will the workaround link continue to work OR will I need to change my link back?  The reason I ask is because the form is an order form and I don't want to miss any orders if the workaround link stops functioning.

    Thank you,

    Sabrina

  • Profile Image
    Mike_T
    Answered on March 07, 2012 at 06:54 PM

    @Stefanni, Thank you for your understanding and cooperation in this matter.

    @Sabrina, I would like to inform you that www form URLs are permanent, and you can use them as much time as you want.

    If you need any further assistance, please let us know. We will be happy to help.

  • Profile Image
    rsleavengood
    Answered on March 09, 2012 at 05:34 AM

    Hi Sean,
    I cleared my cache and it didn't help. I save it and it doesn't help. I log out and back in, and it doesn't matter.
    It is so odd that under most of the previews the form shows the edits, but some it does not.
    lightbox - shows changes
    iframe - doesn't show changes
    test source code - shows changes
    embed- shows changes
    pop up - doesn't show changes
    Another weird thing - when i preview it shows changes, but when i open in new tab, the changes are not there.
    here is my form http://form.jotform.com/form/20241537935
    Any other ideas...
    Thank you,
    Sabrina
    Date: Wed, 7 Mar 2012 13:39:07 -0500
    To: sabrinadianne@hotmail.com
    Subject: Re: pop up form preview not showing edits
  • Profile Image
    mliz
    Answered on March 09, 2012 at 07:42 AM

    Hi Sabrina,

    Please try the suggestion offered by Mike_T to use www.jotform.com in the url instead of form.jotform.com. There is an issue on cached forms in our content distribution network,  our developers are already aware of this and are doing an investigation on what the cause is.

    The www.jotform.com is permanent so you do not have to worry on changing it once the issue is fixed.

    Thanks!

  • Profile Image
    sklayman
    Answered on March 19, 2012 at 05:34 PM

    Same issue over here. The WWW solution works fine for me.

    Thanks!

    Shai.