What is JotForm?
JotForm is a free online form builder which helps you create online forms without writing a single line of code. No sign-up required.

At JotForm, we want to make sure that you’re getting the online form builder help that you need. Our friendly customer support team is available 24/7.

We believe that if one user has a question, there could be more users who may have the same question. This is why many of our support forum threads are public and available to be searched and viewed. If you’d like help immediately, feel free to search for a similar question, or submit your question or concern.

  • Profile Image

    Difficulty uploading a file on our form under our upload field

    Asked by collectthemoney on July 25, 2016 at 08:13 AM

    Our form has an option for uploading documents. Recently a few clients say that are unable to upload. However when we receive the completed from, the uploads were successfully loaded. The clients are saying that the website shows that the upload was not accepted. Other clients are not experiencing this problem.

    One client sent us a copy of the error:  under our "upload any necessary electronic files here" it said "0713125.pd 2.4MB Failed".  Other clients are saying that the upload says "failed" also.

    Any ideas on what is happening. Thanks for your reply.



    Page URL:

  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kevin_G on July 25, 2016 at 09:55 AM

    I have just checked your form, I have downloaded some of the submitted files that you received with the name "0713125" on it. 

    Here is a screenshot about my submission: 

    I can see that you provided this file name "0713125.pd", but I'm not sure if there is a missing "f" at the end, if the file name is correct then I think you should add this ".pd" extension in your form: 

    If the issue still persists, could you please provide us the details of those submissions? 

    We will wait for your response. 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by collectthemoney on July 25, 2016 at 02:06 PM

    Hi Kevin,

    Thank you for your reply.  That was a typo on my part. The file extension that they tried to upload was a pdf.

    So you did not have any trouble. But some of our clients are getting the previously stated error message. But on our end when we receive the completed form, we did received the uploaded documents. Sometimes the client tries 2 or 3 times and still is told it failed. Then on our end we end up receiving 2 or 3 submissions of the same documents.

    Its confusing.  Any thoughts?

    Thanks for your help:)


  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kiran on July 25, 2016 at 03:36 PM

    I have tried uploading two files to your JotForm using direct URL and it looks like the files are uploaded normally.

    Is the form embedded on any of your web pages and experiencing the issue? Could you also check with your clients which browser they are using so that we'll try to replicate the issue at our end and provide you with necessary assistance.

    Thank you! 

  • Profile Image

    Answered by collectthemoney on July 25, 2016 at 07:15 PM

    Hi Kiran,

    Thank you for your thoughts. I noticed that you tested files in KB. The file that I referenced above was 2.4 MB. Could size be a factor?

    I will definitely check the browser issue. Our form is embedded on our web page, that is the only one that our client's use.

    Thanks for your time:)


  • Profile Image
    JotForm Support

    Answered by Kevin_G on July 25, 2016 at 08:46 PM

    I have just tested with some files with a size up to 2 MB: 

    As you can see they were uploaded without any problem, they were submitted without any problem as well. 

    Please do let us know if you were able to replicate the issue on another computer and provide us the details about the web browser used, so we can further test and try to replicate the issue.